We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST place to stay in Montauk!!!”
Review of Ocean Surf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Surf Resort
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This review is so overdue. First, some background: I've been staying in Montauk almost every summer, anywhere from a long weekend to a week and a half, for almost 40 years. My parents, my brother and I stayed at Ocean Surf when it was owned by someone else. We stayed at many Montauk hotels and resorts over the years. As an adult, after trying a few others, my husband and I came back to Ocean Surf (now owned by Vinnie and his family). We've stayed in the "platinum" rooms each time, and it just doesn't get any better for views and beach access (we've stayed on the ground floor -- you can feel the salt spray at night when you sit out on your deck). Yes, it has a "motel" feel and is not loaded with amenities (but it has a really nice, clean pool). Yes, it is expensive -- but relative to accommodations in Montauk, it's not -- it is right in line. But if you accept that you will pay to stay right on the beach, an stone's throw from the waves, and that part of Montauk's charm is a retro, basic vibe, then this is the place for you. Vinnie will really go out of his way for you, and is genuinely glad to see you return. If you have an issue or a special request, just ask -- in our experience, he always does his best to meet your needs. Also, the hotel is located on a stretch of beach that is not crowded. If you take a walk to Ditch Plains, you'll see that many of the larger hotels are clustered together and the beach in front feels much more like Jones Beach on a summer holiday than spacious Montauk. The rooms are basic but very clean, the beds are comfortable, you've got a little kitchenette, and you can walk into town. Sip a glass of wine on your deck as the sun goes down, it is absolutely heaven!!! We've moved to San Francisco, and will miss Ocean Surf!!!

Room Tip: Splurge for the "platinum" rooms -- ground floor gives you the best access to the beach, u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amanda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 376 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We love this place. The views are great, the rooms are VERY clean, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. We always recommend this place to our friends and family.Town is just a short walk..... Enjoy!! Stacey and Greg

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjdgps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After having stayed in most of the oceanfront resorts in Montauk, I have found Oceanside the best in it's price range. The rooms are always comfortable and clean, it is not as noisy as the other oceanfront party hotspots, and the management has always been courteous and does its best to make your stay enjoyable. The swimming pool is clean, and within easy walking distance of town. But all this pales when compared with the view on a full moon night from the second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel recently (beginning of August 2012) and having stayed in hotels in Montauk for the past 5 years, we all know there arent very many glamourous places to choose from. However, for the amount of money they charge per night, you would at least expect the accommodations to be somewhat modern and updated. The staff is very nice and the cleaning people (husband and wife team) were so friendly. But the decor of the rooms is very lacking. Sheets, towels, curtains, rugs.........all in desperate need of an update. The bathrooms also need some modernizing (at least change the shower curtains?). On the positive side, the hotel has a nice pool, and a nice deck right on teh beachfront with a lovely view of the ocean which is literally steps away. Its a great location, right in the heart of town so you can walk to lots of places. The view alone almost makes you forget what your room looks like........almost. As I said, for the amount they charge for the rooms per night in the high season, they could at least do some updates to the rooms. If you do book this hotel, I suggest you get an ocean view room with terrace/balcony, they seemed much nicer (and of course, more money!) I would not likely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Our rooms are renovated on annual basis all our beds and linens are continously changed. I am suprise the guests never bought any of these issues to the offices's attention during their stay as we would have taken care of these issues during their stay. As for our rates they are competitive to the other hotels in the town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

3 summers in a row, and Ocean Surf does not disappoint! SO lives in nearby Sag Harbor, I'm in NJ. He's been coming to OS for several years, this was my 3rd visit. Stayed week of 7/13/12. Booked ocean front platinum, 2nd floor. Room faces ocean directly. We ate several times on balcony, cannot find a better view. Some rooms face pool and ocean. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Housekeeping & maintenance staff attentively on grounds throughout day. Owner "Vinnie" and his family are very accomodating, and pleasant. Location to Town is a block away but you'd never know it on the beach ~ quiet and peaceful.Walk to restaurants (rooms have kitchens too), Montauk Green, historical Montauk Musuem, kayaking, hobie cats, mini golf, etc. Ocean Surf is the place to stay in Montauk -- best view, clean rooms, lowkey, great for families and couples alike. Coming to OS is annual highlight!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nyebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just came back from 3 days in Montauk and this was the first time staying at the Ocean Surf Resort and I highly recommend it. I am used to staying at very expensive resorts with all the glitz but this was a last minute vacation and the Ocean Surf Resort had availability. I was extremely happy with our stay. Nutan & her husband were outstanding hosts, the hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and always accommodating. The rooms were small but how much time do you actually stay in your room when you are at the beach. The ocean is only steps away and the pool is an added bonus. Location is perfect; 2 blocks from town in walking distance to plenty of stores & restaurants. This hotel has everything you need for a perfect vacation, quiet, cleanliness, and excellent service. I will be making this MY destination for any future vacations to Montauk.

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor rooms, step outside to the pool deck and then steps away from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were very disappointed in our stay at this resort. The rooms are small (even though I reserved a "gold room"). The worse aspect was the poor cleanliness of the room. There were crumbs on the floor in front of the kitchen area, ants on the cooktop surface and hairs on the toilet. I called to complain and the management was very nice but the cleanliness did not improve. Even after being cleaned, there was still sand on our bathroom floor.
The two BBQs on the deck were convenient however two extended families monopolized both BBQs and the only two picnic tables for the entire length of our stay.
Very convenient for beach access. Nice ocean view.
Unfortunately we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank l0veparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We take our cleanliness very seriously and our entire staff works very hard to maintain our standards, as soon as we were informed of the issue we immediately sent the staff to get it cleaned and upto the guest's expectation. I wish the guest had informed again about the sand issues we would have send the housekeeping staff again to resolve all of these issues.

As for barbecue we do have 2 but sometimes they are busy and if this was a problem we wish the guests would have come to the office and we could work something out with other guests so all of them could use the barbecue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
564 reviews
1.2 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
4.8 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Resort

Address: 84 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montauk
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $200 - $746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Surf Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Surf Resort is the ultimate relaxation destination for family and beach goers who are looking for peace and tranquility in Montauk. We are a beach front property located right on the sun swept sands and are conveniently situated near all of Montauk's premier restaurants and boutiques. We offer many wonderful amenities including an outdoor heated pool, barbecue grills, complimentary Wi-Fi, sun bathing, efficiency rooms as well as many other fun activities for all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Ocean Surf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Surf Hotel Montauk
Ocean Surf Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing