We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Surf Resort
Nearby Hotels
Haven Montauk(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $339/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gurney's Montauk Yacht Club(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$574
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hero Beach Club(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakers MTK(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Daunt's Albatross Motel(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$422
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montauk Blue Hotel(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $349/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Surf Club Resort(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$661
$620
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenny's Tipperary Inn(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$489
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ocean Resort Inn(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montauk Manor(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveler rating
277
70
20
6
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
277
70
20
6
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshis wifeshort walkclean roomspool deckperfect locationmanager ownernice poolplace to staytwo blockspicnic tablesbeach vacationevery summermany yearsclose to townmemorial day weekendcan't wait to come backsecond floor
Filter
Updating list...
325 - 330 of 387 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We just came back from 3 days in Montauk and this was the first time staying at the Ocean Surf Resort and I highly recommend it. I am used to staying at very expensive resorts with all the glitz but this was a last minute vacation and the Ocean Surf Resort had availability. I was extremely happy with our stay. Nutan & her husband were outstanding hosts, the hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly and always accommodating. The rooms were small but how much time do you actually stay in your room when you are at the beach. The ocean is only steps away and the pool is an added bonus. Location is perfect; 2 blocks from town in walking distance to plenty of stores & restaurants. This hotel has everything you need for a perfect vacation, quiet, cleanliness, and excellent service. I will be making this MY destination for any future vacations to Montauk.

Room Tip: Go for the 1st floor rooms, step outside to the pool deck and then steps away from the ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were very disappointed in our stay at this resort. The rooms are small (even though I reserved a "gold room"). The worse aspect was the poor cleanliness of the room. There were crumbs on the floor in front of the kitchen area, ants on the cooktop surface and hairs on the toilet. I called to complain and the management was very nice but the cleanliness did not improve. Even after being cleaned, there was still sand on our bathroom floor.
The two BBQs on the deck were convenient however two extended families monopolized both BBQs and the only two picnic tables for the entire length of our stay.
Very convenient for beach access. Nice ocean view.
Unfortunately we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank l0veparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vinodsaggi, Manager at Ocean Surf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

We take our cleanliness very seriously and our entire staff works very hard to maintain our standards, as soon as we were informed of the issue we immediately sent the staff to get it cleaned and upto the guest's expectation. I wish the guest had informed again about the sand issues we would have send the housekeeping staff again to resolve all of these issues.

As for barbecue we do have 2 but sometimes they are busy and if this was a problem we wish the guests would have come to the office and we could work something out with other guests so all of them could use the barbecue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My Husband and I have been coming to Ocean Surf for over 16 years this place just gets better with time. The owners are amazing and always go above and beyond to make EVERYONE’S stay great. Our children age 7 & 5 look forward to coming to Montauk each year to enjoy the pool and the beach which are just steps away from your room. (-:

Montauk has become an annually tradition and we as well as our friends enjoy our stay each year. The rooms come with an efficiency kitchen (stovetop, refrigerator, toaster and coffee pot) of course you bring your own groceries or you can walk to the IGA Supermarket or into town. There is a complimentary ice machine to fill your coolers and an ice cream machine for the kids by the motel office. There is a BBQ on the deck by the pool overlooking the ocean for your convenience which we used everyday. This year we were a group of forty one within the half hour of our arrival the owner went right out and bought an additional BBQ to accommodate us (their guests) talk about service.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The place is kept clean at all times. The owners are accommodating and we will NEVER switch from this hotel. It has it all - pool, beach, views, central location and an owner who takes the time to learn your name. We highly recommend this resort hotel to families, couples or any age to have fun or just relax and enjoy the view.

We can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep with the sound of the ocean choose an ocean view room upstairs so you can leave the sliding door open. If you have kids down stairs ocean view is perfect and convenient.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marga-ita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

If location is EVERYTHING then this is the "motel", NOT resort, for you. The Ocean Surf is right on the ocean, with a heated swimming pool between your sliding glass doors and the beach. The center of town is a very short walk away, so park the car and enjoy. The rooms leave a lot to be desired. They aren't very clean with small bathrooms, mattresses 3 years removed from being firm, and computer monitor posing as flat screen tvs!!! You get $500 a night location with $50 a night rooms for $250 a night, so you decide.

PS. The pool closes at 6pm sharp, useful information I didn't have prior to going, seemed early so i asked owner why, he stated that he leaves at 6pm and cant leave pool open without him there????

PSS. Goto Montauk Bake Shoppe and get the jelly croissants, excellent!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JWDC72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

This hotel is a no-frills, but perfectly serviceable and the owner is very pleasant. We are 2 Brits living in NYC and he stored our board and bags for the day, arranged our taxis, and made us feel very welcome. Let's face it, how much time are you going to spend inside when you're at a location as sublime as this? You'll bring sand into the room etc...so it doesn't warrant expensive furnishings. The room attendant left us loads of clean towels and there was ample hot water. Just don't come expecting the Ritz, be prepared to quickly get into the chilled-out beach vibe, and if the sun shines, trust me, you won't want to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyRaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews