We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views”
Review of Gosman's Topside

Gosman's Topside
Ranked #53 of 105 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
922 reviews
624 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 937 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a large restaurant. At dinner on the weekends in the summer months there is usually a long wait. If you get a table by the water you will enjoy the view. The seafood is usually good, but not inexpensive. We waited for our food for a while, not surprising for the amount of people. Another way is to go to the self service downstairs.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    33
    16
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

When the other restaurants in the area were closed @ 4 in the afternoon, (which I don't understand since it is a seasonal tourist town destination??), we tried this place & were pleasantly surprised by the good sushi and courteous wait staff service. Will definitely return!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best view of the inlet while enjoying local fare.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyable lunch with fresh local fare all whilst watching the fishing boats pulling in and out of the inlet. You can sit right outside and take in Montauk. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goodfood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island ny
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst customer service ever”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was browsing Montauk resturants as I return every October for an extended weekend. When I saw Gosman's reviews I was reminded of the terrible experience we had last year. We were a party of 6 for dinner. We had read the menu of specials outside the resturant and deicided to give them a try. To our dismay we waited for ever for our waiter (resturant not crowded) and then were told that the specials listed were not for that day and they would not honor their own sign. We then watched as several emploees went outside and removed the sign. We placed our order with the waiter who had by this time became very rude and after waiting an eternity for our drinks we all got up and left. As we were leaving one employee commented to another who iwe assume was the manager that she couldn't believe they were going to let a party of 6 leave unhappy and then told us we were completely justified in leaving. I have told everyone I know going to Montauk this experience and will continue to as I would never recommend this resturant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alis082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good views, Good service, Good food, Good money”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Title says it all. I sat on the upstairs deck. What a great view of the water and yachts passing by. i ordered a few seafood dishes, all were good, though the lobster roll did not have much lobster in it. It is expensive, but considering the location it is understandable..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gosman's Topside also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to Gosman's Topside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing