We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bring your binoculars (and your ear plugs)”
Review of Viking Fleet

Viking Fleet
Ranked #7 of 38 Tours in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in Montauk Harbor, we offer a variety of services on the water. Seasonal Fast Ferry Service between Montauk & Block Island, Block Island & Montauk and New London, CT, and one special trip between Montauk and Martha's Vineyard. Whale Watching tours during July and August. Party boats for half day, full day, night and long range fishing trips. Fun Cruises - Cruise & Swim,Eco & Lighthouse Tours, Happy Hour Cruise, Sunset Cocktail Cruises Private charter boats for all occasions.
Reviewed April 26, 2018

To be fair, it was cold, and that was not their fault. We didn't get that close to the islands where the seals were, so you must bring binoculars. And the trip went an hour over, which could be great, unless you have plans afterwards.
Since we were stuck inside for much of the cruise, the dominant feature was a very loud and preachy Louise Harrison from Save the Sound who bombarded us with her cause. It was a good cause, and we filled out the postcards and petitions, but she just went on and on for so long, we couldn't even carry on a conversation.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Kamander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingFleet M, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2018

We are very sorry about Ms. Harrison's overly long dialogue! We had no idea this was going to take place. In the future we will ask those involved to keep it brief. Unfortunately we are only able to get so close to the islands the seals are on due to the size of the vessel. The goal of this trip is to get out there and give people the opportunity to experience wildlife and views that are not that accessible to most.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"block island"
in 107 reviews
"whale watching"
in 19 reviews
"great trip"
in 42 reviews
"fish"
in 102 reviews
"fast ferry"
in 6 reviews
"ferry ride"
in 7 reviews
"smooth ride"
in 9 reviews
"crew members"
in 6 reviews
"helpful crew"
in 6 reviews
"sea bass"
in 22 reviews
"day trip"
in 19 reviews
"tuna"
in 9 reviews
"great boat"
in 6 reviews
"snack bar"
in 7 reviews
"next year"
in 10 reviews
"filet"
in 6 reviews
"montauk point"
in 6 reviews
Filter

246 - 250 of 505 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2018

I have been fishing on the Viking Star since 1972. They always put in a 100% effort. An amazing, attentive crew and Captains.

Date of experience: April 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank AnthonyMonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingFleet M, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

Thank you Tony! It is always a pleasure to have you on the boat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

Went on 2 trips in January already did great went home with 25 pounds of fillets each time. Capt knows how to get on the fish. The fisherman on the other boats out there wished they where on the Viking. The mates work hard but when the whole boat is hooked up at the same time for 2 hours its nuts. The cook Mavrous is the best!!

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank Sightseer752086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingFleet M, Guest Relations Manager at Viking Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

We are happy you had a great experience! Thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2017

The Viking Fleet is one of the top Fishing Fleets in the North East!!! Whether it’s a trip on one of their head boats or a trip on their Beautiful open charter boat the viking 5 star and with their professional Captains and crew they will always work their hardest to ensure you have a great trip!!! I highly recommend this fleet for all of your offshore fishing excursions!!

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Cwagz35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingFleet M, Front Office Manager at Viking Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you aboard very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2017

I rented a rod from you guys and I had trouble trying to get my rod replace from the person why rented it from he gave me a tremendous attitude about it.

Date of experience: December 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Ariel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VikingFleet M, Front Office Manager at Viking Fleet, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2017

Thank you for your review. We do apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience, but we do hope that you come back and go fishing with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viking Fleet also viewed

 

Been to Viking Fleet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing