We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Montauk Notable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surfside Inn

The Surfside Inn
Ranked #8 of 106 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Montauk Notable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Had not eaten here for years (no real reason why we stopped going) but a few friends started to recently recommend so we revisited. Good food friendly staff kind of a homey vibe. Would be good for lunch as well killing an afternoon on the outdoor deck. It's not directly on the ocean (across the Old Highway) but high enough so you can see the surf. We were fortunate to stop in when there was a six foot September swell and a handfull of surfers out front with the waves to themselves (rare in Montauk these days now that scene-sters and hip-sters have descended in masse on the town. Note - all seem to have purchased longboards and bumbled into the water during the summer months)

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TXZ22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    37
    11
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
485 reviews
302 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Solid standby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Pleasant ocean side restaurant with dependent if not overly creative food. Service is always excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTripster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithtown, ny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised to find this great quality restaurant right next door to where we were staying. mmMy husband's striped bass & my fluke were impeccably prepared - the best we've ever had - nd we fancy ourselves experts in seafood. Portions were good, though all in all the check $$$ kept if from being 5 stars for the entire experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Food with Ocean Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had the best tasting, freshest sea bass,at the Surfside Inn. They served this dish, with an interesting mango salsa. Their New England clam chowder was also very delicious. Our server was fun, he was from the islands, making this restaurant very relaxed, with a beach feel.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya_and_Brad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidWest
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, very good food but better exists.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Went here on my first night in Montauk, it was really good. I shared strawberry field salad and lamb pasta with a friend -- both were very, very good. It is a very mellow, laid back place (like you are eating on a porch overlooking the ocean). The quantities were very good. Prices were expensive. That said, I thought the restaurants I went to the next two nights (Swallow East and Harvest on Fort Pond) were better.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ICanBeCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Surfside Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Surfside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing