We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gosman's is a long time fixture.”

Gosman's Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 105 Restaurants in Montauk
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Thank you for an amazing season together. We will be re-opening on May 1st 2016 ------ Gosman's Restaurant, located on the edge of the Montauk Harbor, has the best seafood this side of the Mississippi with incredible views to match. We are Montauk's favorite seafood restaurant serving up the freshest seafood around. We have our very own fish market, so we're able to serve our seafood straight from boat to kitchen. Make sure to try one of our lobster dishes, they are pretty spectacular and we make them every which way possible. Soak up the good vibes and enjoy the beauty of the Montauk Harbor as you relax on our outdoor patio sipping an ice cold beer. We have breathtaking views that will help ease your stress away. Gosman's Dock Restaurant is a great place to celebrate any occasion. We offer a variety of options and different packages to accommodate the different parties and gatherings here in Montauk. We take pride in serving the best seafood this side of the Mississippi and can't wait for you to join us for lunch, dinner, drinks and a scenic view to remember.
freeport NY
Level Contributor
264 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Gosman's is a long time fixture.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Gosman's for decades. There was a time when we liked the big sprawing restaurt but frankly, we grew out of its old time ways. We do like the Gosman's restaurn, another in this tied together area up on a deck the Place, the Upperdeck, is owned and operated by the Gosman people. There';as also a take out with rows of picnic tables but I don't like competeing wth the seaguls outside.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank popsrocks99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    134
    81
    36
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not up to it's past performance”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This has always been worth a special trip to the tip of Long Island, but not this year. While the lobster shrimp bisque had some nice chunks of meat in it, but the consistency and flavor of the broth was substandard. Their specialty fluke was served with a new sauce. Since it is usually fresh and delicious without added flavors, I asked for it without the sauce. It was dry and overcooked. The pan seared sea scallops were delicious and the striped bass with roasted vegetables was good. The burger was (How can you mess that up?) forgettable. The chocolate cake was rich and smooth and the apple pie ala mode was also good, with the apples well cooked and not overwhelmed by other flavorings. This year's menu seems to be geared to a more upscale, trendy restaurant with prices to match.
The service was good and sitting on the deck with a view of the Montauk harbor channel was the best part of the dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
161 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view and decent food”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I were in Montauk for the day looking for a scenic spot for a lobster roll for lunch and found just the spot at Gosman's. We dined outside watching the boats come in with lovely views of the ocean on a perfect sunny September day. Lobster roll sandwiches and wedge salad (we shared the salad) were quite tasty. Afterwards we went to the cute little shops and ice cream stand in the neighboring square. It was just what we were looking for. We rounded out the day with a stop at the Montauk Brewing Company to sample some microbrrews - very fun stop in town on Erie Street near the main part of town For $8 you get to sample 4 beer (good size pours) and keep the glass as a souvenir. All the beers were quite good too. A great day in Montauk!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CLNYC85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberville, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great view of boats coming in and out”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We drove here after visiting Montauk Lighthouse. We had dockside seating outside and loved watching the boats coming in and out of the docks. The food was excellent, a little pricey, about $20 each for lunch. We went into the store just to look at the fresh fish and when we asked about the lobster the guy told us 80% of it is local. Surprising. The 2LB lobsters come from Canada. I figured it was all local. We didnt' have much time to look around the docks and shops, but that would have been very enjoyable and picturesque.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“TASTELESS FOOD AND WET BREAD”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We tried this restaurant again after many years. I had the Thursday special,which consists of Flounder and some crab meat on top with a Vegetable. The presentation reminder me of High School cafeteria. COMPLETE TASTELESS, THE SPECIAL WAS $28.00, NOT WORTH IT. THE LOBSTER AND SHRIMP SOUP WAS JUST LIKE EATING TOMATOES.... THE COLD BREAD AND BREAD STICKS ON THE BASKET WAS WET; ETC. Just avoid this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WATCHFULEYESTODAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gosman's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Gosman's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing