We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great fare ... just wish the service wasn't going downhill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvest on Fort Pond

Harvest on Fort Pond
Ranked #1 of 106 Restaurants in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NYC, USA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great fare ... just wish the service wasn't going downhill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Gorgeous setting with excellent fare. Dined numerous times over the past 2 years and while their food has remained a solid "best in the area", their service has fallen off considerably. Be prepared to ask for fresh silverware between courses and have runners "toss" family sized platters of food on your table regardless if your appetizers remain or not. In our case, if it weren't for some swift moves by my wife juggling 3 plates of mostly consumed appetizers to accommodate the runners insistence to drop steaming hot serving plates of entrees on the table ... well it would not have been a pretty scene. The wait staff appears to be interested, but there's no longer any coordination of service which has slowly deteriorated from somewhat fine dining to a dockside self serve. Too bad really, considering just how well the food is prepared. I'm hoping the owners get a grip before the new "fast food service" becomes a permanent feature.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscriminatingNY'er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    185
    50
    32
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
freeport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Supurb Asian Fusion and Sunset!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Wonderful service, meal and great conversation with diners at the next table- all capped off by a magnificent sunset on the pond

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank FreeportLisa_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice last night in Montauk”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were eating late and got seated right before 9:30 when they stop seating. But once we sat down the waitress pressured us to order. Really? you sat us so doesn't that mean we get to enjoy the meal without being rushed? I am not a big fan of the family style ordering for 2 people. We don't really like the same things but were forced to share (and compromise). The atomosphere was warm and the bread with parm and oil were really delicious.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mainehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen Phillips
Level Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wow this was good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had dinner here last week and it was just terrific. It's Family style and there were just 2 of us, but we persevered. The service was excellent and everybody in that place seemed like they were in a good mood- so it made for good eating. We shared the portobello mushroom salad with goat cheese- which honestly is mostly green salad. The waitress told us so before we ordered so we were not surprised when it arrived. It was delicious and there actually was plenty of the shroom to go around. Then we shared the sea bass and that was just amazing. I never think I am going to fill up on fish but it was that family style portion and I could not finish it. We were too stuffed for desserts but we saw plenty of people wolfing them down. They all looked delicious and again- substantial. Really good dining experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tojopop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Risotto?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I read amazing reviews about Harvest on Fort Pond and decided to make a reservation. My boyfriend and I started with the lamb ribs. They were really tough so we sent them back, which I never do. For our main course we ordered the local fish served with what they called risotto. I am a lover of risotto, it has always been creamy, homey, and buttery! What we received was not creamy at all. It was actually molded into a perfect circle, something risotto should not be able to hold its shape as.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvest on Fort Pond also viewed

 

Been to Harvest on Fort Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing