We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little restaurant”
Review of John's Drive-In

John's Drive-In
Ranked #2 of 6 Dessert in Montauk
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Serving great burgers and homemade ice cream in Montauk since 1967.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice little restaurant”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice place with some delicious home made ice creams and milkshakes. Not everything in the menu was available but what we had was good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Deepak V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    49
    32
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best milkshake ever!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Glad we had a chance to stop in here. Right in the middle of montauk, worth stopping in no matter how full you are. Great selection and prices

Helpful?
1 Thank cupcake777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream and reasonably priced food!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Got to go to John's! I love this place! The homemade ice cream is really good and cheaper than Ben and Jerry's (by Gossman's.) If you are looking for a quick bite to eat, John's is your place too. Only place 2 people can eat dinner for under $15 in Montauk!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Homemade Ice Cream worth the wait!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The line may be out the door but the ice cream is definitely worth the wait. The staff is comprised of hustlers who keep the line moving. They also serve burgers and chicken fingers those families that have picky eaters.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NPT1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commack, New York
Level Contributor
239 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“RUDE!!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I were there Sunday Sept. 9th for some ice cream. In past few days it seems Montauk was hit by the credit card machine bandit since many were broken and we had used much of our cash up already. Before I ordered I told the girl we were short on cash and did ask what the total price would be for the two items we wanted. I was told $9 and something cents plus tip! yes thats right PLUS TIP! I have never in my life have been told that before! I did have enough money for the two items so we got them and they were nothing special at all. Ice cream is so-so at best.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank opjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to John's Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing