We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thought we needed a change, but this was a no go”

Dave's Gone Fishing
Ranked #37 of 105 Restaurants in Montauk
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Thought we needed a change, but this was a no go”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Just thought we'd try a new place on Montauk, so we tried Dave's Grill. We ordered chicken, corn on the cob. It was friendly enough, but the food was really, really lacking. We were with someone who couldn't eat fish and we found out that the corn on the cob was boiled in the fish water, which gave it a fishy taste. The chicken was like rubber. Over cooked or pre-cooked. I would not suggest eating at Dave's Grill. The restaurant has been there a long time and I just think they have become very lax in their food prep.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    19
    26
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Frozen FISH poorly prepared”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Sorry, wanted to like Dave's grill but had just bad food.
Lobster roll was not local lobster....most likely south african......it was not fresh
Sole/flounder in breadcrumbs was virtually inedible....the breading was thick and just a hair short of being black...fish in side was dried and chewy....not sure it was fresh more likely frozen....this fish was served to a number of tables around us...all were "almost blackened.

Way way wa over rated....especially at $300 for 4.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LazyPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed October 9, 2011

The food and the atmosphere here are both great. We loved sitting outside looking at all the fishing boats and the food matched the great scenery.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Saratoga55traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Superb restaurant each and every time!!! Never ever anything but the greatest possible food and service!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

If I had to choose my favorite restaurant in all of the Hamptons, it would easily be Dave's Grill in Montauk. They accept only same day reservations, so it is often hard to get a table, but it is simply the greatest!!! The food and the service is just fantastic. It almost doesn't matter what you order, it is cooked to perfection! The drinks are always made with premium alcohol and always exceedingly generous - something that seems scarce these days at other resort restaurants. Our waiter was wonderful - polite, prompt, and always available to check on our needs and to make recommendations. Don't miss the Chocolate Bag for dessert - a true specialty!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food but Overpriced”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Dave's Grill is excellent, no doubt. The have a limited menu, and while the food is good, they are somewhat overpriced. I don't think they should charge what they do, but people do like it. One thing they should change is the calling at 4:15 p.m. on the same day for reservations. I believe they take specific calls from people they know first, then open the phones to the general public. It is ver stressful calling for 25 minutes and getting a busy signal. It is actually uncalled for. It is better to visit Harvest on the Pond, the food is excellent, it is served family style and the pricing is not exhorbitant like Dave's. The reservations are accepted seven days in advance, and you are not left calling over and over.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bd721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Gone Fishing also viewed

 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to Dave's Gone Fishing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing