We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very solid spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Montauk Beach House
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very solid spot”
Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great design and ideal central location that is basically in town and one block from the beach. Service was good, but not exceptional. Vibe is cool and trendy, but not overly upscale. no closets or dressers in room is a little bit different, but the cool decor more than makes up for lack of storage. bar area and lobby are great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Thanks for the great review on the design and location of the hotel. We have recently taken steps to improve the storage situation in rooms. Luggage racks have been added to all rooms and we have re-positioned all the clothes racks in rooms so that you can hang more clothes in an easier manner. We’ve also added shelves and storage baskets to a number of rooms. Hope to see you in 2015 and give us a chance to demonstrate “exceptional” service instead of just good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    51
    17
    15
    17
See reviews for
44
77
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Great location, venue and polite and friendly staff! The rooms were comfortable and the pool was amazing! The staff were friendly and easy going! i had a fun weekend! My only concern was not getting a late checkout!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jayden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Thanks so much for your review and we agree that it is beautiful hotel that we have poured our hearts and souls into for our guests. I think you will find 2015 to be an even better experience as all of us here @TheMBH will again be striving for an exceptional guest experience with an array of changes and enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I spent 3 nights at the Montauk Beach House. The property was lovely and the staff friendly. I made a point to not drive the car while taking a few days off in Montauk and the Beach House's location made that happen. You are a two minute walk to the Beach as well as a few dozen restaurants and shops. The Beach House has a nice pool area and at certain points a DJ playing. It could get a bit crowded and a party atmosphere on the weekend but, hey it's summer on Long Island. The food by the pool was fairly good as were the drinks. Try dinner at South Edison restaurant. If you travel to the Hamptons or the Northfork expect to pay Manhattan prices in many places, that is the way it is. I look forward to spending time at the Montauk Beach House again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mezzomille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Glad you enjoyed your 3 days with us and we agree that the hotel is in a great location and that you were able to enjoy some of Montauk’s best venues which are within walking distance of the property. Look forward to seeing you again @TheMBH so that we can show all the really cool things we’ve done to enhance the experience. Again, thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The MBH is stylish and cool, quite possibly one of the best places to stay in Montauk. Great location, clean, very nice Restoration Hardware décor (although, not sure how it’s going to hold up in a hotel) and a nice pool with weekend DJ. Alex, the manager, was nice but, unfortunately, we had an issue with one of the bartender/managers (did not know his name) who was cocky and rude. Overall, the vibe is a bit snooty and not overly welcoming. In addition, the food is extremely overpriced: $18 for a burger with not even fries or chips on the side? Come on.
Lastly, not so kid friendly, especially during the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KG_Travel_Bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Glad you think TheMBH is stylish and cool but we are surprised that you didn't experience a welcoming atmosphere as that is truly not our reputation. With regard to the food pricing I think we are in line with similar resorts in Montauk. Because Montauk is so far from distribution points both food and gasoline tend to be a bit more expensive. That’s something those of us who live and work out here regard as the price of living in a beach paradise.

That being said we probably should do a better job explaining that and you should have gotten chips with that burger. If you come again please tell them the owner says you get 2 chips with your burger to make it up to you. Again, thanks. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Had a really good weekend with my friends here, the owners have done a great job renovating the place, is done really well, great atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and good fun, would definitely go back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennewyorklondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Very glad you "loved it" and we hope you come back in 2015 because we are adding some enhancements to make you love it even more @TheMBH. Again, thanks. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great place - clean - still quite new. Very little space for any personal belongings including clothing. Crazy cool A/C unit. Pool area was great, but quiet midweek. The bar closes very early at night. :-(

Room Tip: stay upstairs to avoid hearing people overhead all night. Wifi definitely not great inside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank whenisthenexttrip4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Thanks for the great review and I want address some of your other comments. We have recently taken steps to improve the storage situation in rooms. Luggage racks have been added to all rooms and we have re-positioned all the clothes racks in rooms so that you can hang more clothes in an easier manner. We've also added shelves and storage baskets to a number of rooms.

We've also enhanced the WiFi in the public spaces of the hotel but a few of the rooms continue to present a challenge but we are seeking some better solutions. Look forward to having you stay with us again @TheMBH. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We travel frequently for business as well as for relaxation. When choosing a hotel, I look for interesting design, cleanliness, pleasant staff - an original, but defined atmosphere. Montauk Beach House hit all the markers. Plus THE most comfortable bed and linens, ample A/C, a nice balcony overlooking the quiet street and barefoot beach-goers, a few steps in each direction to all the good restaurants and two beach entrances. We biked out to Navy Beach for drinks and then back to Surf Lodge for sunset, to Hither Hills Beach (beautiful) and to the lighthouse - all very easy rides. Now the new Hampton Hopper stops at MBH, so getting around carless and cabless is easy. It was a very relaxed 5 days and Alex, the manager, went out of his way to help out in every way.

Room Tip: We loved Whitewater Loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NancyGordonE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMBHManagement, Owner at The Montauk Beach House, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Very happy to hear your 5 days with us went so well and that you were able to enjoy so many of the great activities that are nearby. Alex is indeed a very special personality and he inspires the rest of the staff to exceed guests’ expectations.

Hope to have you stay with us again so you can experience all the new enhancements we’ve made for 2015 @TheMBH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.2 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
327 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#20 of 39 in Montauk
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
326 reviews
2.5 mi away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montauk Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montauk Beach House

Property: The Montauk Beach House
Address: 55 S Elmwood Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Montauk Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montauk Beach House is situated in the heart of downtown Montauk, and is a block from the Atlantic Ocean surf beaches and a short stroll to Montauk's most exciting shops, restaurants, bars and cafés.We are a 33-room boutique hotel with an active environment that encompasses a lively outdoor bar scene and entertainment within its grounds. Our summer season is booked with special events including DJs, live music, fashion shows, and other social gatherings with one common goal: a bit of serious fun.So if you understand what we are about, be prepared to have a rather splendid time!The Hotel lobby has a bustling atmosphere, with an open-air feel - afforded by the giant wall of glass doors that open to the street. Soaring ceilings, beautiful art, and décor set the scene. The Hotel's quirky and fun furniture intrigues you as you move through the lobby past the Café - an espresso bar serving Left Hand artisan coffee: freshly baked croissants, and other light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Montauk Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing