We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit of Bavaria in the Hamptons....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Schneider Montauk

Zum Schneider Montauk
Ranked #36 of 106 Restaurants in Montauk
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Closed for the season until April 21, 2016. German/Bavarian restaurant and beer garden. Live music on the weekends.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
198 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Bit of Bavaria in the Hamptons....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Went there with my wife as we drove by and made a quick decision to try it out late in the evening around 9pm when other places were shutting down. The setup inside is like a Bavarian beer hall. Tall ceiling, long wooden tables and benches and communal seating. We had a great conversation with another couple sitting with us. We started off with some Oktoberfest beers. I had the Taunsteiner festbier and she had the Paulaner Oktoberfest beer. We each shared a bratwurst platter with 6 various types of sausages serves with red cabbage sauerkraut and with a size of spatzle with brown gravy. The meal was quite filling and we topped it off with a Kaiserschmarn an Austrian/German desert pancake served with fruit sauce. If the urge for German food is calling to you, don't hesitate to make a stop here!

PS - Found out later this is the second location. The original is in the East Village in NYC.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KidLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    40
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Starting on a purely selfish note, I was very happy to find Schlenkerla Rauchbier being sold here.
One of the best beers in the world (in my opinion).... but very smokey. Takes a bottle to get used to it if you've never had it before.
Very good range of other beers here too and it was nice to have confidence that the lady serving us knew just what she was taking about.
The food was excellent too. Needing something to soak up the beer, we went for the Wurstplatte. Didn't look much for the money, but very, very filling. Almost left no room for beer!!
Very friendly place, really good atmosphere and good food. You've got to try it. Prost!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UK_Miggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great happy hour spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stopped in recently after arriving in Montauk for a couple of days. For an off season Sunday night the place was full of locals and others like us. We sampled a couple of the German beers on tap. The selection was abundant considering the location. The food coming out of the back looked hearty and delicious. Happy Hour specials are a great. Even though it is a German beer garden, Zum is a can't miss in MTK.

Helpful?
Thank cmactravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ganz Gut! Danke Schein!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Home cooked German food the way my mother used to make!! Sauerbraten with Bread Dumplings like no other place. Potato Pancakes were perfect for the kids. Many German Beers to choose from. The restaurant was set up like a beer hall. Family run and very comfortable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NPT1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

If u like beer this is the place to go. Also breakfast beats any other place. Including Johns and Anthonys

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank larry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zum Schneider Montauk also viewed

Montauk, Hamptons
 
Montauk, Hamptons
Montauk, Hamptons
 

Been to Zum Schneider Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing