We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pretty good place for a nice dinner in Montauk”
Review of The Coast - CLOSED

The Coast
Price range: $18 - $28
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: American, contemporary, freestyle cuisine & Sushi Bar. Locally Harvested Seafood,with always a few Hearty Meat Dishes, Vegan & Vegetarian Menu Options as well.
London/Philadelphia/Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A pretty good place for a nice dinner in Montauk”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a nice dinner at The Coast, which serves a different menu every night, based on what is freshly caught and available. I had a super-fantastic slab of melt-in-your-mouth seared tuna served on top of a heap of meh black couscous and some kind of winter vegetable puree. My friend had the roasted-beet-and-blue-cheese salad, and was in heaven. It's not cheap, but nothing in the Hamptons is, and The Coast offered better value than many other places. The decor is a bright and cheerful nautical theme.

The only problem we had was finding the place. We called for directions, which turned out to be useless. The directions on the Web site are useless. Here's how you get there - drive into "the circle," that area where White's Department Store is located, and when you get to the Irish pub - look to your left. See that seven-story "tower" building? There is a street in front of it. Turn down that street. The Coast is on the next block.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElmoTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    29
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I couldn't stop eating all the food because it all tasted fantastic! The sushi was so fresh and the drinks were so good especially a drink called the Cabin Cooler; I felt like I was having a day at the spa. All the food was excellent and I walked out full and satisfied. I haven't been to a well put together restaurant like this in a while!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathleencz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food in Montauk...Hands down!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I have been to Montauk only a handful of times but when I do I look forward to the food. Last night my girlfriend and I decided to check this place out. Right from the start the staff was kind and attentive. The food was absolutely amazing! No other restaurant in the surrounding areas even compare. You must check this restaurant out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I tried this restaurant after the railings and we weren't disappointed! Great food and nice portions! We had the fish n chips, fresh little neck clam pizza and California and the coast sushi rolls All delicious! A bit pricy but this is montauk and the food was good enough to make us feel the prices were h
Justified! Would go back again

Helpful?
Thank cupcake777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love the Coast!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stopped in here on our first night upon a recommendation from our inkeeper and we were thrilled we did. Its a great, laid-back restaurant in town. We started with the toasty roasty salad which was delicious. We split a couple of sushi rolls but the standout was definitely the Manhattan roll. And we loved our dessert- a streudel type. Overall it was a great ambiance- you could sit in the lounge or in the dining room. there were some people watching football on the TV at the bar so it had something for everyone.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Prlgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Coast also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing