We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun in the sun.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
long island, ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Family fun in the sun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2005

I did not fall in love immediately with the Royal Atlantic, but it grew on me. It is very rustic and not in the charming sense. I didn't expect anything fancy, but the room was a little on the depressing side. One of the two chairs on the terrace was broken and it took several calls to the front desk to get a new one. The room was very clean however. It took me a little while to adjust to the close quarters. My room faced the court yard with the pool which led to the ocean. It seemed very crowded to me at first. There were tons of families with children. I must say that if you closed the sliding glass doors, you could not hear a thing. Even though there were people up on the patio all night, it was not an annoyance to us.

We ended up having a very nice time. The location is wonderful. You are literally steps to the beach. You could go back to your room without any effort, to go to the bathroom or do a diaper change. The town is in walking distance. We walked to restaurants every night. Most of them were very casual and kid friendly. If you are looking for something a little more upscale, we found a very good italian restaurant called "Aqua" only a block from the hotel. The harbor side of Montauk seems to be a little more upscale and you could always take a taxi to that side for a nice dinner as well.

The room comes with breakfast at the restaurant at the Royal Atlantic which we enjoyed each morning. Although the restaurant and bar is open all day, they allow you to bring your own food and booze and eat it on the table near the pool.

For the wonderful location and the convenience, I would definetly recommend the Royal Atlantic. We went with our children and we are thinking about returning next year. If you are looking for a romantic get away I think I would stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abc31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    72
    57
    30
    63
See reviews for
116
80
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2005

We had a great time and a very comfortable stay the rates are not inexpensive but you certainly get what you are paying for the scenery and view are unsurpassed other than going to the caribbean.do not be disueded by the the horriffic reviews as they are obviously submitted by other motel owners in competition remember it is a seaside Motel not a five star Hotel and in an age where dollars have become quarters $185.00 per night is a bargain just price out ocean front real estate for yourself most people spend that on cell phone service alone.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2005

Yes you can spend 500 a night at gurneys, but this place has it all. We go every year in august and are always pleased. The rates are reasonable, beach beautiful. You are litteraly steps from the beach so you can always go back to your room for a bathroom break. Breakfast is included, in the rest. or in room and its good. Not continental breakfast like most hotels. I'm talking eggs, pancakes. Its 3 short blocks to a great town you can shop til you drop in. Make sure you get coffee and donuts at the bakery..delicious. Good restaurants all in a short walk. You can dig a hole in the sand and have your own bon-fire with marshmellows at night. Its awesome.
Pool is nice, but crowded. Rooms have small kitchens and views, views, views. All this and a great rate. I would stay no where else!!!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Piper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2005

Tried the place last summer on a recommendation from some friends that go every summer - and it was even better than they said it would be.
We just booked 10 days in an ocean front xl 1st floor, you can walk right out the slide doors ON TO THE SAND! any closer youd have to rent a boat.
They have 2 pools a restraunt and an oceanfront bar and grill for lunch and cocktails. The place is on the ocean - in town - just park your car and you never have to drive again till you go home. Walk to everything!!
see yeh on the beach...
Lori S.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2005

This hotel is by far the best location in Montauk. We go every year and always try to book room #61. This room is an oceanview, so it's much cheaper than an oceanfront. However you have an excellent view of BOTH the ocean and the pool. It's especially nice if you have kids because you can keep your eye on them where ever they are. This room has a private deck with steps to the pool patio. we also liked it because it was in the corner which has a concrete firewall so it was much quiter than some of the other rooms we stayed in there. We also park our car right next to our room and never get back into it untill we leave. The hotel is litereraly on the beach and right in town. You can walk to all the restaurants, bars, shops etc.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2004

The Royal Atlantic Beach Resort was great. We were there last summer and we will go back this summer. Shops were right in town, the food was terrific.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Setauket,ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2004

Just came back and couldnt wait to leave this place. I am fairly easy going but this place was not clean. The beach in fornt of the hotel was party zone at night and noone picked up the trash the next days. I am shocked at the prices here for a hotel that basically is unkept and in need of major updating. If not for the ocean, this place has nothing going for it. Even with the ocean, I wont be returning here. C'mon owners-spend some money and clean this place up!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Bulldogs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daunt's Albatross Motel
Daunt's Albatross Motel
#4 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#17 of 39 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts

Property: Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Address: 126 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5428
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlantic Beach Hotel Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing