We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
A TripAdvisor Member
Portwashington, NY 11050
15
Reviewed August 31, 2004

My family and I recently stayed at the Royal Atlantic for a week 7/15-7/22 and I have to say, we enjoyed it very much. Our room was very nice clean and overlooked the ocean.
We found the staff at the front desk very helpful, barbara told us of the hot spots for dinner, activities for the kids, and even where the fish were running, we cought a 38lb. bass right on the beach in front of the hotel - the kids had a blast.

Robin Patterson

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 317 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Eastchester, NY
15
Reviewed August 10, 2004

I have been going to the Royal Atlantic for years now. The hotel is very run down and there is no service to speak of. You can wait all day for your room to be cleaned up. My pillow smelled like perfume and cigarette smoke. The prices are high for this "lack of hotel".

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Flushing, New York
11
Reviewed April 29, 2004

My husband and I would take our children to The Royal Atlantic when they were young and were always very pleased with the rooms and service. So when my daughter wanted to get married in Montauk, we did not hesitate calling the Royal Atlantic to arrange to have 50 of our guest stay there. It came as no surprise that there was not one complaint. They said the rooms were clean, the views were wonderful and the staff courteous and helpful.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2004

I stayed at the Royal Atlantic for one night this past weekend. One good (really incredibly good) thing about this hotel is its location. Right on the beach and very close to town. Also, it had nice, big sliding glass doors, making the entire front of the room facing the ocean all windows. Wonderful. So what was so shameful about it? First, let's talk about the noise. We could hear people walking up and down the stairs and all around they're hotel room (above us) into the late night hours. The sound of their sliding glass door opening awakened me at 6 am. Something needs to be done. The place is very run down. The furniture is old (c. 1970?) and beat up. The bathroom was OK, but why on earth would they have us use disposable paper shower mats?? Especially in this day and age of recycling?? Everything needs to be updated, badly. The carpet on the balcony was very ratty. The steps leading from our balcony to the beach had what looked like dog feces on it, and they don't even allow pets. The beach (they have and fence-enclosed beach area right out front with chais lounges) was littered with debris. The hotel restaurant was still closed for the season, which was really no issue, but the garbage that was left all around the entrance to it was. How could they just let this formerly nice place get in this condition and just leave it that way? Enough money is paid by their customers (some of whom are life long and loyal) for improvements.

16  Thank baybay2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 26, 2004

My Whole Family had been going to Montauk ever since i was born and every year we stayed here. it is right on the beach a short walk from town.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
226
Reviewed January 24, 2004

I have travelled extensively throughout the U.S., Caribbean, Hawaii, and some Europe. Mostly we stay in 4 or 5 star properties.There is a tremendous disparity in the reviews posted here about the Royal Atlantic. Here's the reality:The Royal Atlantic is in a fantastic location for Montauk: on a wonderful ocean beach (not a bay or lake), right in town so you can walk to everything, and unobstructed views and sounds and smells of the ocean. In the summer, sleep with the sliding doors opened, and you can hear the waves crash all night, and smell the wonderful ocean air.If you are expecting 4 star amenities - forget it - This is Montauk. So, forget about plush towels, a robe, expensive furniture, marble tiled bathrooms. You won't find it here. We love St. John island and stay at the Westin - this isn't like that.But, to be 2 hours from home, in a terrific beach location, where you can walk out onto the sand, where you find a clean, comfortable room in a well run facility (the Kalimnios family have been managing this place since they built the first units themselves 40 years ago) there is not a better place in Montauk.If you think Montauk should have Westins, Ritz Carltons, Hyatts, and the like, just imagine what Montauk would (and could) become. I've been to Key West 20 years ago, and it was beautiful, inviting, and small. The big chains moved in and ruined it.If you are going to Montauk, forget the Montauk Manor (its not walking distance to the ocean), the places on Lake Montauk (it's not the ocean), and book at the Royal Atlantic.

16  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Long Island, NY
113
Reviewed October 22, 2003

We made reservations at the Royal Atlantic Beach Resort for one week with our family. It was diappointing because the ocean view room was FILTHY, DUSTY, SMELLY, BROKEN FURNITURE, DIRTY WINDOWS of what should have been a fantastic view, and a pungent smelling heater. If you make reservations, make sure you specifically tell them to clean the room, clean the linens, open the windows before the guests arrive, and also make sure you have an itemized bill. I reserved the room for one week, and was told I only paid for six. I ended paying for the last day! Beware, beware.

13  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.1 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
531 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
564 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
376 reviews
5 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts

Address: 126 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5428
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $104 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlantic Beach Hotel Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing