We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location- terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Ideal location right on the beach and near town. However, the "ocean view" room we booked was only ocean view if you stood on the balcony and craned your neck out to try and see the ocean. The carpet was perpetually damp in the room so you could put nothing on the floor. The towels were the size of a wash cloth and looked more like they were for cleaning a car- and they SMELLED- musty and disgusting. There was also no shampoo or any ammenities. Would not book there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 315 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I know its montauk, but.... I would never stay here again, we go to montauk every summer and sometimes even a quick fall trip. We are always trying to find a decent place to stay. This is not it.
We had an upper pool view room but still could see a bit of the ocean. That was the only nice part.
Looking over the balcony we could see the Rats running in and out beneath the first floor hotel rooms. Quite disgusting, needless to say, they can keep the free breakfast. We did not eat there, I could barely sleep, was afraid of what was going to be running around our room. We didnt want to disappoint the kids so we stayed, also we prepaid, never again. Besides that, as another reviewer mentioned, a large group of families took over the whole place. Loud music till 2am , obnoxious kids and even more obnoxious parents. Hotel staff couldn't care less. This hotel really needs to get their act together, call an exterminator, clean up the place and have some common courtesy for all the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beautiful place right on the ocean,free breakfast.

Great pool and food bar right by pool.
Great family vacation. Located right in town. Near great restaurants. Short drive to Gosmans dock. Many small shops their

Room Tip: We always ocean view or ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btrumpy117566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Royal Atlantic over Labor Day wkend. We stayed in a one bedroom suite, one block off the beach. This was a trip with my grandchildren n daughter. The suite was decent enuf, clean but with a moldy odor near the window. Bed was comfortable, but for the price u pay all u r getting is the location of being able to walk to the ocean. There is a galley kitchen which has a fridge, micro and stove, sink. Plenty of storage in cabinets and closet. The living room area has a small deck off the back. There's a couch that opens, a table and 4 chairs, dresser, 2 night tables, lamps. It's minimal-bring everything u need including towels, beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, blow drier, all necessary amenities, including paper towels, paper goods, condiments etc. The cleaning crew comes in every day, changes towels, vacuums the place, empties garbage. They seemed to be good workers, eager to please, for probably minimum wage-so don't take it out on them. Whenever I asked for a cot, more towels, etc, it was forthcoming. You have to pay up front 1/2 when u book and the balance upon arrival. There r no refunds, especially on holiday wkends. There is a small game room where the kids could play ping pong and games. U can have a bonfire on the beach in the evening (just have to buy wood ($8.00 and durflame logs, cheaper at 7/11) from the stores in town. It was very crowded over the holiday wkend, great for young singles. There's a band on the beach playing music, a small bar near the large pool where u can get drinks or food. There's another smaller pool by the condos which was hardly ever crowded. Bring food, drinks, coolers. Breakfast is free and is surprisingly good, but of course, u have to tip the help. Some drinks are 2.00 extra, but it's a good deal with a lot of choices. And u can order and have it delivered to ur room for an extra $1. So if u bring luncheon foods, u will then just have to pay for dinner out, which is what we did. There are plenty of choices for eating, either inexpensively or not. The Montauk Lighthouse is there to be discovered for the youngsters, nice parks, horseback riding, shopping. It's very casual dress-mostly bathing suits, coverups, even in town, then the usual summer outfits for evening is u so desire. We had a good time overall but the bottom line is they know that if u don't take the room, someone else will so that's the basis for the attitudes. And it's true-it's a good place to be when u have 4 full days of non-stop sun! Just don't expect much and u won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedirtydozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First let me say, I have been going to Montauk for years and years. We have stayed at quite a few places but heard through the grape vine that the Royal Atlantic is 'the' place to stay for young families. WRONG!

1. I could load up my car with beach chairs, coolers and sand toys from home and drive to the beach. If I'm staying at a hotel on the beach, it's for the convenience of NOT lugging that paraphernelia! Except the Royal Atlantic does not provide beach chair or even beach towels! It's all bring your own... and bring your own for each person, each day b/c there's certainly nowhere to rinse off the dirty ones.

2. The appeal of the tiki bar poolside seemed great but it's just a tiny sliver of an area. You can't even get 2 people deep without blocking the walkway.

3. The rooms are disgusting. Most Montauk hotels are on the older side so don't have luxurious expectations anywhere you stay out there but these were definitely sub-par. Definitely ZERO ammenities. No tiny shampoo bottles, no iron (not even at the front desk for a loaner), no hairdryer, no sitting area, no dvd player... and again, the towels are sparse!

4. The staff could completely care less and their attitude reflected it on every level.

5. The restaurant - they say breakfast included but it's $2 extra for ham in your omelet, $3 extra for chocolate milk for your kids, $2.50 extra for fruit instead of toast ... and the list goes on. PS - this restaurant is eat-in only. There is no room service - breakfast, lunch or dinner at the Royal Atlantic.

6. Having said all that, the place is NOT even cheap! Stay somewhere else and get your money's worth because Montauk itself is an amazing destination!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Since I was just accused of being affliated with the Royal Atlantic because I questioned a reviewers comments, I figured it was time to place my own review.

The title of my review says it all. We go to Montauk for the location and closeness to where we live. It takes us about two hours to get there which in our busy lives makes it perfect for a quick getaway.

The Royal Atlantic is not perfect but I will say this. The rooms (two, because we were moved, not a fun experience but necessary because we wanted to stay on a Sat night) were very clean and the beds were in great shape, sheets and pillows very comfy. There was no noise at night and the bar next door (Sloppy Tuna) stopped playing music before it was annoying.

The grounds need to be kept cleaner. No this isn't a Disney resort but the litter around especially in the morning is gross. Also, they need to install a water sprayer, or something for when you leave the beach. Sand is tracked everywhere because people can't wash things off. There is one by the pool but it is out of the way.

My only true complaint is the Resturant and the so-called free breakfast. It is not free if you have to pay a 15% tip! The Royal Atlantic should cover that cost, not the guests.

Room Tip: Stairs only so if you can't or don't like to climb, get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This was our second year staying at the Royal Atlantic. Last yr, we stayed at their condo's which was a much better experience. Cleaner and updated. The condo's sold out this year when we decided to reserve something so we opted to stayed at an ocean front room. I have no idea what management's idea of "updated". Yes, there was granite counter tops in the small kitchen but that's about all. The bedding was old and worn out. The towels were as thin as paper and probably at one time they were white, now tan. Designer curtains?? Really?? I don't think so. I can go on and on about the negatives because they are tons. But the one positive about this hotel is the location. It is right on the beach and in the center of town next to shops and restaurants. if you decide to stay at this hotel, do not expect anything. Simply stay here for the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessica f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.1 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#11 of 39 in Montauk
521 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Daunt's Albatross Motel
Daunt's Albatross Motel
#4 of 39 in Montauk
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Club Resort
Surf Club Resort
#13 of 39 in Montauk
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts

Address: 126 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5428
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Atlantic Beach Hotel Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Montauk
Royal Atlantic Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing