We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location, family atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Deck Motel Family Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
East Deck Motel Family Resort
Save
You added East Deck Motel Family Resort to your Saves list
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good location, family atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Just wrapped up a 5 day stay at the East Deck and we loved it. Our room was comfortable and clean, and the location was perfect for beach going. When we weren't at the beach, we spent a lot of time lounging on the deck in front of our room. Our daughter also made good use of the playground equipment out back.

Some of the reviews hint at "throwback" decor which is accurate in some ways, but don't expect some mid-century gem. The vintage stuff is mostly the wood paneling, and tables/chairs in the rooms with kitchenettes. Most other furnishings seemed newer.

I'd return to the East Deck without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Can't say enough good stuff about this place or the people who run it! LOVELY! Simple, clean rooms, all overlooking the amazing surf at Ditch Plains! We stayed in a room with a kitchenette, which came w/dishes/plates/coffeepot/stove/pots, etc. Decor was a bit dated (kitchy) but we LOVED THAT about it!! Bed was very comfortable and being lulled to sleep by the waves made our stay there all the more enjoyable! The room was SPOTLESS!!!! We will return again and again......we LOVED this place!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasha57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

East Deck is not for luxury but if you're looking for a great spot that's on the beach, it's perfect.
People were very nice.
The rooms were clean but they are very basic. It feels like a throwback.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassil74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, LI, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Been going there for 33 years. Very rustic, but the best Surf around with the Beach really close. Outside of town, so very quiet ! Weekends the Beach can get crowded during the Summer, but its worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The rooms are clean, the beach is less than 50 feet away, and there's a food truck in front. What more do you need? We cooked for breakfast, bbq-ed for dinner, took a swim in the pool, bon-fired on the beach, and participated in the morning yoga classes. I love this place and I hope it never changes. I will going here for years to come.

Room Tip: We had the 1 bedroom room with efficiency. It was great to be able to cook some of our meals! it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mishmonger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

A throwback to the 60's, this modest motel complex is genuinely funky. Clean room. Reasonable price. Fine bed. Our room was in the portion perpendicular to the beach, so our picture window faced west, with views over the long deck, beach roses, and nature preserve to the dunes and beach. Great spot for long walks on the beach. Wonderful breakfast burritos and all kinds of coffees, etc. from the food truck parked at the beach end of the small parking lot that has been catering to surfers, etc. for 15+ years.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodyWoo1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

I've stayed here a few times when over in New York and the place is awesome. A real throw back to another era. No frills but comfortable and the owners make you feel right at home. If you surf it doesn't get much better than this. There's a couple of the East Coasts best surf spots right out front of the deck. Easy to sit right on I and pick your tine to head out. There's also the Ditch Witch food van on the car park to get coffee and snacks - the breakfast burritto recommended! One of most favorite places in the world. Can't wait to get back there Sometime. Cheers Bondi Boy.

Room Tip: Ask for A11 or A12 - right on the ocean around corner from car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BondiBoy_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Breakers Motel
The Breakers Motel
#27 of 42 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#4 of 42 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Atlantic Terrace Motel
Atlantic Terrace Motel
#18 of 42 in Montauk
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#7 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
2.1 mi away
Oceanside Beach Resort
Oceanside Beach Resort
#19 of 42 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to East Deck Motel Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about East Deck Motel Family Resort

Property: East Deck Motel Family Resort
Address: 40 Deforest Road, PO Box 5003, Montauk, NY 11954
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 42 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
East Deck Motel Family Hotel Montauk
East Deck Hotel Family

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing