We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hither House Cottages
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Driftwood on the Ocean(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$169
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surf Club Resort(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$154
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hero Beach Club(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$203
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montauk Blue Hotel(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Surf Resort(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$189
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kenny's Tipperary Inn(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Plum Resort(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$940
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montauk Manor(Montauk)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveler rating
33
21
2
9
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
21
2
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscreened in porchnorth cottageliving roompleasant stayshort drivegreat place to stayhome away from homelounge chairsfeliciabeachweekendtowngrillsummer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 77 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and almost left mid-stay because the conditions and service were so poor. The suites smell musty and disgusting, and the overall conditions are dilapidated, old and gross. The buildings are rickety and the walls are extremely thin, so you can hear your neighbor's every move. We were woken up in the middle of the night by our neighbors, and the front desk did nothing to remedy the situation. In fact, the innkeeper was extremely rude and hostile. Not what you'd expect in the hospitality industry. A terrible experience overall and not worth a penny. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveler1234555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitherhouse C, General Manager at Hither House Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Traveler1234555,
You stayed at Hither House on Memorial Day Weekend. During your stay, you stayed in the One Room Efficiency. When we booked your reservation you chose this accommodation for its low cost and we notified that you will be sharing this with accommodations with neighboring guests above you, which you did not have a problem with. However, during your stay you began to harass and threaten the guests above you. In fact, when approached you became rude and hostile. When we asked you to remove yourself, you knew you were wrong and pleaded to stay. The reason we let you stay was because you apologized. Yet on the last day of your stay you decided to threaten them again. And now you're writing bad comments? You have been advised by our office. You are not to return to our establishment.

Sincerely,
Hither House Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here on a couple of occasions during the offseason. The cottages are located within easy reach of the city center if you have a car and within walking distance of the beach. You have a variety of room options, from the cheaper studio to larger individual cottages with decks. They are also pet friendly (at least in the winter), and the staff is always incredibly helpful. The area is incredibly quiet and peaceful.

Like most Montauk stays, the reservation process is a bit clunky, but that's the only flaw I can find. It must be said, if you are taking a train to Montauk, this place is located out of town, so be prepared to call a cab.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Atom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wen...the owner is charming and friendly. The accomodatons are spotless. The location is sooooo convient to the beach. The best part is Hither House is pup friendly. Our four legged family member loves her daily beach outings as do we. Comfortable, clean, convienent.......what more do you need?

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rhea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Studio Cottage with our two teenage children and German Shepherd. It was clean, quaint, a short scenic walk to the beach. The managment was friendly and solicitous. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back next year, in a bigger cottage. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elisaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Hither House with my boyfriend this past weekend. We had been looking for hotels to stay at in Montauk and were disappointed when we found out that almost all of them had a 3 night required stay. We discovered the Hither House (no 3 night stay required) and were shocked at how low the prices were. The recent reviews were all good so we decided to book it. Later we looked at the older reviews and saw that some of them were very poor, so we weren't really sure what to expect. We were blown away when we got there. Not only was the owner incredibly nice and accommodating, but the cottage was spacious and very clean. I did not understand how anyone could leave a negative review about this place! If you are looking for a five star hotel..this is not it. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and affordable homey place that is close to the beach and a 2 minute drive from the town..this is it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mreenog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews