We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dilapidated, odd-smelling, noisy & bad service”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hither House Cottages by the Ocean
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dilapidated, odd-smelling, noisy & bad service”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend and almost left mid-stay because the conditions and service were so poor. The suites smell musty and disgusting, and the overall conditions are dilapidated, old and gross. The buildings are rickety and the walls are extremely thin, so you can hear your neighbor's every move. We were woken up in the middle of the night by our neighbors, and the front desk did nothing to remedy the situation. In fact, the innkeeper was extremely rude and hostile. Not what you'd expect in the hospitality industry. A terrible experience overall and not worth a penny. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Traveler1234555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitherhouse C, General Manager at Hither House Cottages by the Ocean, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Traveler1234555,
You stayed at Hither House on Memorial Day Weekend. During your stay, you stayed in the One Room Efficiency. When we booked your reservation you chose this accommodation for its low cost and we notified that you will be sharing this with accommodations with neighboring guests above you, which you did not have a problem with. However, during your stay you began to harass and threaten the guests above you. In fact, when approached you became rude and hostile. When we asked you to remove yourself, you knew you were wrong and pleaded to stay. The reason we let you stay was because you apologized. Yet on the last day of your stay you decided to threaten them again. And now you're writing bad comments? You have been advised by our office. You are not to return to our establishment.

Sincerely,
Hither House Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    20
    2
    7
    12
See reviews for
19
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I have stayed here on a couple of occasions during the offseason. The cottages are located within easy reach of the city center if you have a car and within walking distance of the beach. You have a variety of room options, from the cheaper studio to larger individual cottages with decks. They are also pet friendly (at least in the winter), and the staff is always incredibly helpful. The area is incredibly quiet and peaceful.

Like most Montauk stays, the reservation process is a bit clunky, but that's the only flaw I can find. It must be said, if you are taking a train to Montauk, this place is located out of town, so be prepared to call a cab.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Atom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wingdale, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Wen...the owner is charming and friendly. The accomodatons are spotless. The location is sooooo convient to the beach. The best part is Hither House is pup friendly. Our four legged family member loves her daily beach outings as do we. Comfortable, clean, convienent.......what more do you need?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rhea d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Studio Cottage with our two teenage children and German Shepherd. It was clean, quaint, a short scenic walk to the beach. The managment was friendly and solicitous. The grounds are beautifully landscaped. We thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back next year, in a bigger cottage. Well worth it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank elisaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Hither House with my boyfriend this past weekend. We had been looking for hotels to stay at in Montauk and were disappointed when we found out that almost all of them had a 3 night required stay. We discovered the Hither House (no 3 night stay required) and were shocked at how low the prices were. The recent reviews were all good so we decided to book it. Later we looked at the older reviews and saw that some of them were very poor, so we weren't really sure what to expect. We were blown away when we got there. Not only was the owner incredibly nice and accommodating, but the cottage was spacious and very clean. I did not understand how anyone could leave a negative review about this place! If you are looking for a five star hotel..this is not it. If you are looking for a quiet, comfortable and affordable homey place that is close to the beach and a 2 minute drive from the town..this is it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mreenog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I go out to Montauk quite a bit - about once every 2 months or so. I've rented the studio when traveling solo with my pup and we have rented the East/West cottage when traveling together with our boy. It's perfect. Not pretentious, the owners are wonderful, they offer dog-sitting which is awesome... The cottages are not overpriced and just a quick minute walk to the beach!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jupiter4jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I went to Hither Hills cottages in June 2011, it was the worse vacation I ever had. The furniture in the cottage was old and smelled. The owner of the property lives there and constantly fought with her children. When I would sit outside all you could hear was yelling. Different dogs that stayed there would come over on the area you were renting and go to the bathroom and you were responsible to clean it up. They claim they have housekeeping, I saw the made once. The sheets on the bed were like sand paper and the quilt was old and smelled. The refrigerator had a horrible ordor as well. I wanted to leave but I was told I wouldn't get a refund.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank disapp0inted62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
1.3 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
310 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.5 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
157 reviews
1.9 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#8 of 39 in Montauk
487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hither House Cottages by the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hither House Cottages by the Ocean

Property: Hither House Cottages by the Ocean
Address: 10 Lincoln Rd, Montauk, NY 11954-5007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint, tranquil, 2 acre-property tucked away into the residential area of Montauk.There are 8 country/modern style units of all sizes to choose from. With just a short 2 minute drive to main street Montauk/downtown and a quick 5 minute walk from the beach, Hither House Cottages is the perfect place to escape the noise and crowds of Montauk while still being in close distance to all of the activities available. Bring your pets and your family for a quiet get-a-way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hither House Cottages By The Ocean Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing