We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Resort Inn
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Islip, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed April 30, 2007

The Ocean Resort Inn was one of the nicest places I've stayed in Montauk. Not only did Ginny, the inn keeper, make our stay as pleasurable as possible but the cleanliness of the room and renovated bathroom did too. The courtyard was full of lounge chairs, hammocks and bar-b-ques which only added to its excellence. It was also a quick walk to town which was very convenient. I highly recommend this jewel to anybody traveling out to Montauk.

  • Liked — The cleanliness.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TeaganW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    559
    121
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
105
398
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Like others, I saw the great reviews and booked this hotel - and was a little disappointed. Not vacation-ruining disappointed, just not jumping up and down, thrilled with the accommodations.

The good: The room was definitely spotless, bathroom had all new fixtures, so no problems there. It was very small, however, but not all the rooms are that small - we booked at the last minute, and Ginny admitted that the only room she had left was very small. So that was OK.

The not so good: My biggest problem with it was that the a/c, while it kept the place cool, didn't quite keep it from feeling really humid. In fact, all of Montauk felt really humid that week, no matter where we went, but I wished the room had been a little more comfortable.

The truth: Also, the hotel, or motel, is a nice, clean seaside motel and nothing more. This is not the Marriot or the Hilton on the beach, neither of which you can find in Montauk anyway. It's nothing special looking, not ugly, not beautiful, just well-kept and freshly painted, which is more than you can say for most of the hotels in Montauk. In fact, I think the best feature of this motel is that I couldn't find a single place in Montauk that looked better - most were much much worse, looking shabby and run-down and like they'd been built in the 70's and never updated.

There is no ocean view, by the way, at this motel. Maybe if you go out on the porch and stand on tip-toe, MAYBE you can see a little blue, but that's it. Not that it matters, and it really doesn't in Montauk.

So basically I cannot in fact say that this is not the best place in Montauk, just that it's more functional than luxurious, sort of like a Hampton Inn, so don't think that the rave reviews mean you'll be staying in some extravagant hotel. It's a great value, not necessarily a great hotel.

  • Liked — Clean and updated
  • Disliked — Room felt humid, although a/c worked.
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank ymb5v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

We went for a US east coast trip in July 2006 and for the last days we just wanted to head for Long Island and have a few days on the beach. We did not know any hotels or towns other than the famous Hamptons. We called around for east and west hampton and everything was booked or overpriced/too expensive. Our budget implied that we were looking for something in the area of (max) 200 dollars per night and we found this place on the internet which offered a double room for 150 dollars per night. Perfect.

The host was the most generous person and very welcoming. We arrived late at night, but we had arranged with her that she would leave an envelope on the reception door and she did. No problem, and she even gave us the best room with terrace (shared with other guests) to overlook the road in front of the resort and to have an ocean view. I think it was rom no. 9. It was very clean, had a nice double bed, tv, closet, a fridge, a small coffee maker, some chairs, and a nice bathroom. Everything considered and compared to other accommodations at Long Island (which were very pricy) this was a perfect (clean) room, average bathroom, great location, no noice from the street, even it's right in front of the resort and 1-2 minutes to a perfect beach. The resort lends out beach chairs and towels and it's really great for some relaxed days. The bird on the roof cafe 2 minutes away serves the best breakfast in town. Small (a little quaint) shops are all over the very laid back and down to earth beach town of Montauk and one of the nicest places to stay has to be this resort. Don't expect luxury, but expect a nice, cosy stay and good and personal service at the reception desk.

  • Liked — Great value for money and nice host
  • Disliked — Noisy aircondition
  • Tips/Secrets — Room no 9 is great
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank DK_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

The place was fantastic!!!! Super Clean, super-friendly and located a stone's throw from the beach!!!!

The courtyard area has hammocks and porch swings and is surrounded by lovely flowers that give the place a real home feel. The rooms are surprisingly updated in all areas and if you stay on the first floor, you hear NOTHING above you (unlike most places where if someone walks on the second floor, the first floor guest can hear them)

Ginnie, the owner/operator is as sweet as they come and her staff does an excellent job as well.

Our family has vacationed in Montauk the past four years and we will continue to choose the Ocean Resort Inn. You will not find a better place than this that is this close to the ocean!!

  • Liked — the room, the location to the beach, the value!!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank montauklover73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2006

The hotel was steps from the beach literally steps. If you are on the second floor of the motel you can see a view of the ocean but only the ocean you can not see the beach. The motel is also very close to town, you can walk to town from the Ocean Resort Inn. But there is much more to see around Montauk so if you want to wonder around you should definitely have a car. The motel was nice. It was definitely clean and I am very very picky about that kind of thing so I was much relieved to see how clean it was. The room its self is nice but I didn’t like how the carpet is such a dark color it does make you wonder if it’s hiding something and the shower is also very small and cramped. If you like water pressure during your shower you won’t find it here. That’s the only problem I had with this place there is no water pressure and every two seconds the temperature changes from very hot to very cold. We also had problems with the toilet plumbing but it was easily fixed. The jacuzzi was a nice size; two people can relax in it with not too much trouble. Overall we had a good stay at the Ocean Resort Inn I do believe it is the best place to stay if you’re going to be staying in Montauk.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jumpingstar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ocean Resort Inn last year for a friend's wedding. In fact, the entire hotel was occupied with wedding guests and we all had a blast. This year, to celebrate my parent's 50th wedding anniversay, I knew we couldn't go wrong staying here again. We reserved 4 rooms for the weekend for the whole family and everybody was very happy with their respective rooms. I don't think you'll find a cleaner hotel or a nicer owner in Montauk. The hotel will even provide you with beach chairs, towels and umbrellas for the beach (right across the street) or you can barbeque and picnic in the courtyard. Unfortunately, we didn't have the best weather but we all still had a good time. Thanks Ginny!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtolaf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 24, 2006

After all the great reviews, we were expecting someplace really special. Ginny, the innkeeper, was exceptionally nice on the phone, especially when she found out we had a well-known address in Manhattan. However, when we came to the Inn, and it became clear to her that we were a same-sex couple (we are two women), she was overtly rude to both of us before we had spoken a word. During the weekend we had other interactions with her which were also negative (she would only give us directions to us grudgingly and the directions were incorrect). We have never been treated like this anywhere we have ever travelled, and will never go back. Our room was also dingy, smelled like Glade covering smoke, and had dark green wall-to-wall carpets. Aside from the rudeness, we thought the Ocean Resort Inn was horribly overpriced -- the suite was small and the furnishings cheap. The only redeeming quality was the jacuzzi. We can't believe this was the highest-rated lodging in Montauk.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, General Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Greetings,

I would like to first apologize for the terrible experience you had at the Ocean Resort Inn back in 2006, it is completely unacceptable. Since 2012 the Inn has been under new management/owners and would greatly appreciate if you removed your review and gave us another chance on your next trip to Montauk. I look forward to hosting you and if there is ever anything we can do for you please let us know.

Sincerely,
Sebastian Laguna
General Manager
Ocean Resort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Resort Inn

Property: The Ocean Resort Inn
Address: 95 S. Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#1 Family Hotel in Montauk
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Resort Inn is located 65 footsteps from the beach and captivating coastlines of the breathtaking Atlantic Ocean in Montauk. Our inn offers clean and Cozy rooms, in-room Jacuzzi tubs and provides a peaceful retreat after a day of having fun in the sun on one of the many beautiful ocean beaches Montauk has to offer. We provide bikes for guests to ride, beach passes for local beaches and free Wi-Fi.We pride ourselves on providing the cleanest, most luxurious suites in Montauk. Every aspect of your stay is designed to be comforting and memorable, inside and outside of the inn. Our central courtyard provides guests with the additional luxury of relaxing in a hammock or Adirondack porch swing, barbecuing or picnicking.This ideal location reflects the relaxing and soothing atmosphere that you will experience. We look forward to seeing you at The Ocean Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your The Ocean Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Montauk
Ocean Motel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing