We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at Ocean Resort Inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Resort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean Resort Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
“Another great stay at Ocean Resort Inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

This year was our fourth staying at Ocean Resort Inn. Each year has been perfection! I can't say enough great things about the hotel, the location and Ginny, the proprieter. We have recommended this hotel to family and friends, and everyone has 100% thrilled with their time at Ocean Resort Inn. I cannot wait to return for next summer's vacation at ORI!

  • Liked — location; cleanliness; pleasant atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emgoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    120
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
104
395
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I have never been treated more rudely then from Ginny the hotel owner/manager. What a nightmare!!!!!!!! Stay away from this property if you are use to being treated like a human being and not something on the bottom of someones show!! All this and they dont take credit cards. Its no wonder they demand FULL payment up front...... because people run screaming otherwise upon meeting nightmarish Ginny.

  • Liked — when i got to leave
  • Disliked — everything especially that they were paid and full in advance
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NYstateofmind2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2008

After spending a week each summer for the past decade at the Panoramic View, which is now being converted into condos, I was not looking forward to finding a new place to stay in Montauk. While its rooms were dated, its location and views are truly breathtaking. It didn't take long to begin to unwind and relax.

In years past, we have also booked short last-minute stays at Gurney's Inn, the Montauk Yacht Club, the Surf Club, the Royal Atlantic condos, Lenhart's and two surprisingly filthy but not inexpensive motels right on the beach in town. For various reasons already described in detail on this site, I wasn't eager to return to any of these places. So last week when I decided to spend a few days unwinding by myself in Montauk, I turned to TripAdvisor, read glowing reviews about the site's #1-rated place--the Ocean Resort Inn--and booked three nights. The reviews very accurately describe Ginny, the motel's owner--she's a gem! Dealing with her was a pleasure--she and her staff will provide you with whatever you need--whether it's a recommendation for a restaurant, a massage or a request for a beach chair, umbrella or towels. They clearly care about making each guest's stay a pleasant one.

Ginny has somehow created the feel of a quaint inn on a strip of otherwise undistinguished beach motels. This is truly the cleanest place I've ever stayed at in Montauk--and that counts for a lot. Its rooms are renovated and very comfortable--many have jacuzzis. The outdoor courtyard of loungers, picnic tables and beautifully tended shrubs and flowers makes it a great place to read and relax. And with the ocean just across the street and most everything you might want or need in walking distance, I have found my new haven in the East End.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Pleased with everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PICKYNYKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2008

We spent one night in this resort for my husband's 30th birthday and were seriously considering taking another day off from work to stay another night. The room was perfect! Jacuzzi in room was spotless. Location is ideal, right across the street from the beach and a lot of cute little shops, bars and restaurants in walking distance. This will probably be the only place we'll ever stay in Montauk! And we plan on going back as often as possible!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank poskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

After reading positive online reviews of the Ocean Resort Inn, I made reservations directly through the owner Ginny. The Inn is clean, neat, and exceptionally well cared for. Ginny and her staff are kind and friendly, but never obtrusive. There are porch swings, a hammock, and an abundance of blooming plants. And it's literally across the street from the beach. It's a wonderful beach retreat, but what makes the Inn really special is Ginny and her staff.

  • Liked — Owner and staff
  • Disliked — Carpet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Snolumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We went for a the weekend and had a great time. The hotel is very clean, and has all the perfect accessories that are needed to help you relax (beach towels and beach chairs). The rooms are nicely done and the hotel is very quiet. Its also a block from the beach and town, which was great for easy walks from the beach to lunch, and even stopping back after to drop stuff off. The staff is very personable as well. I highly recommend this quaint inn.

  • Liked — free wireless internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach_Lover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ocean Resort Inn recently and had a lovely time. The hotel room was large and clean, the minifridge was new and kept our food and wine ice cold. We were close to the beach (just across the street) as we were to all of Montauk's shops and restaurants. We noticed there was a public aspect to the Inn where we could have BBQ'ed had it not been raining. We were treated exceptionally well and would choose to come back here rather than to any of the other properties nearby. Great price and service. Relaxing and fun weekend!

  • Liked — Accomodating Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank riceball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#4 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Resort Inn

Property: The Ocean Resort Inn
Address: 95 S. Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#1 Family Hotel in Montauk
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Resort Inn is located 65 footsteps from the beach and captivating coastlines of the breathtaking Atlantic Ocean in Montauk. Our inn offers clean and Cozy rooms, in-room Jacuzzi tubs and provides a peaceful retreat after a day of having fun in the sun on one of the many beautiful ocean beaches Montauk has to offer. We provide bikes for guests to ride, beach passes for local beaches and free Wi-Fi.We pride ourselves on providing the cleanest, most luxurious suites in Montauk. Every aspect of your stay is designed to be comforting and memorable, inside and outside of the inn. Our central courtyard provides guests with the additional luxury of relaxing in a hammock or Adirondack porch swing, barbecuing or picnicking.This ideal location reflects the relaxing and soothing atmosphere that you will experience. We look forward to seeing you at The Ocean Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Montauk
Ocean Motel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing