We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Owner Is The Special Ingredient Here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Resort Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Owner Is The Special Ingredient Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2008

After reading positive online reviews of the Ocean Resort Inn, I made reservations directly through the owner Ginny. The Inn is clean, neat, and exceptionally well cared for. Ginny and her staff are kind and friendly, but never obtrusive. There are porch swings, a hammock, and an abundance of blooming plants. And it's literally across the street from the beach. It's a wonderful beach retreat, but what makes the Inn really special is Ginny and her staff.

  • Liked — Owner and staff
  • Disliked — Carpet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Snolumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    555
    120
    16
    5
    10
See reviews for
104
395
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

We went for a the weekend and had a great time. The hotel is very clean, and has all the perfect accessories that are needed to help you relax (beach towels and beach chairs). The rooms are nicely done and the hotel is very quiet. Its also a block from the beach and town, which was great for easy walks from the beach to lunch, and even stopping back after to drop stuff off. The staff is very personable as well. I highly recommend this quaint inn.

  • Liked — free wireless internet
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Beach_Lover999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Ocean Resort Inn recently and had a lovely time. The hotel room was large and clean, the minifridge was new and kept our food and wine ice cold. We were close to the beach (just across the street) as we were to all of Montauk's shops and restaurants. We noticed there was a public aspect to the Inn where we could have BBQ'ed had it not been raining. We were treated exceptionally well and would choose to come back here rather than to any of the other properties nearby. Great price and service. Relaxing and fun weekend!

  • Liked — Accomodating Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank riceball44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vtbtravel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

Most people that travel to Montauk arrive with one focus: rest and relaxation. My husband and I had to travel to Montauk to attend a funeral. Our time in Montauk turned out to be bittersweet. Attending a funeral brings out unpleasantness and takes one on an emotional roller coaster ride. However, Ocean Resort Inn came to our rescue. Ginny, the General Manager is a warm, passionate, caring woman that not only cares about the reputation, safety, and cleanliness of her property, but also sincerely cares about her Guests. Ginny is genuine, one of kind, and goes way beyond the call of duty to provide a warm, friendly, comfortable environment for everyone. The rooms are exceptionally clean and offer a cozy atmosphere. In the evenings, when we had some down time, we appreciated returning to the resort knowing that we could relax outdoors while appreciating the beauty of the property in its entity. We especially enjoyed lounging on one of the porch swings while listening to the natural sound of the ocean, which is a short walk away. We are forever grateful for Ginny's kindness and support during our difficult time. We will definitely return in the future. Where we know we will receive a clean room and plenty of rest and relaxation. We strongly recommend the Ocean Resort Inn, where Ginny will know your name.

-The Barnes Family, GA

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vtbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

This was my first time in Montauk and was part of a group of girlfriends who had stayed here 3 other times. Everyone kept telling me how much I would love it, and I did! The motel rooms are super clean, the inn is close to the beach and town, and the outside area is adoreable and conducive to just relaxing with a cocktail.Ginny ,the owner was also so accomodating. To top it off, I realized I had left an earring that my mother had given me in the room after I left, I called Ginny the next day, and she had the housekeepers look for it and they found it!!! She was great about returning it, and it was at my apt in NYC the following day! Run dont walk to Ocean Resort Inn..I know I am aleady looking forward to next summer!

  • Liked — proximty to beach and town
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 34NYCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

Was hesitant enough to want to check it out in person before I plunked down a deposit. So I took a Saturday in July drove in from the city, met with Ginny, who was extremely accommodating - found the proximity to everything local was just perfect and could tell that the hotel/motel was clearly well maintained. My guess is the other guests that were there that week had stayed there before - there's always something to be said about return customers. Beyond that, I witnessed interaction between Ginny (Manager) and her staff and found a real sincere team environment. And so, we booked two nights during a premium August week. I used the rest of the day to relax on the beach, soak in the sun and shop for the fresh stuff at one or two local roadside stands.

If you're looking for romantic walks on the beach (sunny day or starry night), a decent size room/bed/bath - clean (of that there was no doubt) and neat, comfortable surroundings, privacy when you want it, or hang out on the deck enjoying cocktails like the other guests - this is a great place to choose.

I'm sure all the rooms are nice, but we had room 10, upper deck (with jacuzzi/tub- small for 2, but do-able!) - and had a really nice view of the water from the room and deck. All in all, my boyfriend and I will definitely come back - everything was real simple, easy, comfortable and enjoyable.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Jacuzzi smaller than expected
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cadlespa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

If you are expecting 5 star hotels in this area of Montauk (in the town by the ocean) you won't find it...this is a perfect motel for you if you don't plan on staying in your room the whole trip, it is very clean and the outside is decorated very cute..The staff is friendly and helpful...I stay here every year.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0VeVaCaTiOnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montauk Yacht Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Resort Inn

Property: The Ocean Resort Inn
Address: 95 S. Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#1 Family Hotel in Montauk
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Resort Inn is located 65 footsteps from the beach and captivating coastlines of the breathtaking Atlantic Ocean in Montauk. Our inn offers clean and Cozy rooms, in-room Jacuzzi tubs and provides a peaceful retreat after a day of having fun in the sun on one of the many beautiful ocean beaches Montauk has to offer. We provide bikes for guests to ride, beach passes for local beaches and free Wi-Fi.We pride ourselves on providing the cleanest, most luxurious suites in Montauk. Every aspect of your stay is designed to be comforting and memorable, inside and outside of the inn. Our central courtyard provides guests with the additional luxury of relaxing in a hammock or Adirondack porch swing, barbecuing or picnicking.This ideal location reflects the relaxing and soothing atmosphere that you will experience. We look forward to seeing you at The Ocean Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Ocean Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Montauk
Ocean Motel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing