We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Perfect Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ocean Resort Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just believe all the positive reviews already written. We just stayed here for 5 days. Our room, no. 17 was the best of all with basically 2 rooms, double jacuzzi, kitchenette, corner room, totally quiet, a little view of the ocean.
I won't repeat all the advantages staying here as enough has been written about them, but it is true that Sebastien is the perfect manager, always helping in every way including some minor repairs we needed from time to time. His dining suggestions were excellent and always geared to our desires of that particular evening.
The place is laid back style, no noisy crowds, steps from a beautiful beach, good amenities, very clean, shower power good,(although some temperature fluctuations difficult to control).
We love Montauk and have come from far to stay here. It didn't even cross our minds to look into other possibilities for a future visit. This is the place we would go back to, no doubt.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jocaloda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience. I couldn't be happier to hear we gave you the comfortable stay we strive to deliver. "Laid back style, no noisy crowds, steps from a beautiful beach, good amenities, very clean..."—what more could you need? I hope you have a safe trip back to Switzerland, and I look forward to seeing you next time!

All the best,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 805 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sabastian was the best. He actually went to liquor store and picked up champagne that our daughters ordered to have in our room. He was so nice and friendly. The staff was nice as well. The room was clean but could use an update. They offered free bikes, beach chairs and umbrellas. Everything else about the place was very nice. We were very happy for our one night stay on our anniversary. Wish it was longer.... Will definitely go back

Room Tip: Second floor has a nice viee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Many thanks for the kinds words. It's great to hear you had such a pleasant stay with us. Picking up that champagne was my pleasure—we always try to go the extra mile for our guests. Thanks as well for letting me know you felt the room could use some renovations. Constructive criticism is always welcome. Again, Happy Anniversary! I appreciate the review and look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Best wishes,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay with new Ac and tv in room as well as providing us with toiletries in bathroom. In the morning we were given access to towels, chairs and umbrellas for the beach was a nice perk. They are located steps from the beach as well as some of the best restaurants for breakfast and dinner. We will most definitely return!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Glad you had a 5-star experience with us, Mike! Excellent location, nice accommodations, and ample perks: that's what we're all about. Looking forward to having you back next time!

All the best,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just stayed here this past weekend and we booked in advance (1-2 months in advance) and got a great rate. For the price, which can be REALLY high in the Hamptons, this inn motel was a good value. Literally steps to the beach, they provide towels, chairs, umbrellas, even beach bikes to all their guests free of charge. The room was tidy, clean and what I loved about this spot was there wasn't a lot of party people staying here raging super loud into the night, which you could find at Hampton hotels.
The room itself was basic and good and really it's all you need for a great beach weekend. The manager Sebastian was very nice and friendly to us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thanks for your excellent review, Julia. I'm thrilled to hear you had a nice weekend with us. Our team works hard to show our guests a pleasant, relaxed time in Montauk, and it sounds like we hit the mark. Hope to have the privilege of hosting you again sometime!

All the best,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

from the booking of my reservations with katrina & then dealing with sebastian the mgr. i felt so comfortable that my stay would be enjoyable & stress-free! we have been going to montauk for 23 yrs., & sometimes the hotel staff is very abrupt & could care less if you book with them or not, even if you've stayed in the same place for years! this was my 1st time with ocean resort inn, & i was treated like a loyal customer from beginning to end! aside from their hospitality, the place was immaculate, in treat condition, & very well-appointed. every amenity was available. it had a personal touch, & you are treated like royalty! it made me overlook the fact that it is not oceanfront. besides, some of the ocean front motels are older, musty, smaller rooms, & more expensive!

so...a-plus for ocean resort inn & staff!!!

Room Tip: 2nd floor has partial ocean view...queen with jacuzzi bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pat l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thanks for the glowing review, Pat! We want to impress guests with not only clean, comfortable accommodations, but also warm service. The "personal touch" you mentioned perfectly sums up our mission. I appreciate the review and hope to have the privilege of hosting you again someday!

All the best,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. I would attribute our nice time to Sebastian (the manager). He was so welcoming and friendly and gave us great tips on the area's activities. He created a warm, cozy feel for the place. Aside from the friendliness of the "staff", the place itself is plain and not that unique. The only part of the room that is close to "luxurious" (as described on the website) is the whirlpool bath. The rest of the room was simple. The resort is across the street from the beach, with a few houses in between. You can't see much of the water from the resort so don't expect to wake up to the ocean. It was so close that we walked to the beach several times each day. The motel provided free bikes and boogie boards. We took a beautiful bike ride to navy beach - with a gorgeous sunset. The price paid for this motel was very worthwhile. The friendliness, free bikes, microwave, fridge, whirlpool, and walking distance to the water made it for us.

Room Tip: doesn't matter what view you have of the ocean because you can only see a drop of the water from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Rena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hi Rena,

Many thanks for the encouraging words. Our main goal is to give our guests a warm, comfortable place to stay while they enjoy the sights and sounds of Montauk. Nothing is more rewarding than knowing my staff and I did just that and helped make your vacation successful. The next time you're in town, I hope you'll return. We'd love to host you again.

Best wishes,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I had a wonderful time staying here. Although it was only one night, the staff was extremely welcoming and accommodating. The location was great and the free beach chairs and beach towels were a huge plus. There were also grills and patio furniture open to everyone.

The room wasn't amazing, but it was just right for the price. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pwhitenyc711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanresort84, Manager at The Ocean Resort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thanks so much for the good words and recommendation. We work hard to give our guests a pleasant stay in Montauk, and it's really encouraging to know we hit the mark with you. The next time you need a weekend away from the city, you know where to find us!

All the best,

Sebastian, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
2.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
225 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Resort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Resort Inn

Address: 95 S. Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5188
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $129 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Resort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Resort Inn is located 65 footsteps from the beach and captivating coastlines of the breathtaking Atlantic Ocean in Montauk. Our Inn offers clean and cozy rooms, in-room Jacuzzi Tubs and provides a peaceful retreat after a day of having fun in the sun on one of the many beautiful ocean beaches Montauk has to offer. We provide complimentary bikes for guests to ride, complimentary beach towels, beach chairs, beach umbrellas, beach passes for local beaches and free Wi-Fi. Every aspect of your stay is designed to be comforting and memorable, inside and outside of the Inn. This ideal location reflects the relaxing and soothing atmosphere that you will experience. We look forward to seeing you at The Ocean Resort Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Ocean Resort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Montauk
Ocean Motel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing