We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice beach style hotel near the ocean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
214 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A nice beach style hotel near the ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived during Tropical Storm Andrea so we have to try to give a fair rating. The rain was coming down in sheets!
The checking in was easy, and our room had two queen size beds which were a bit lumpy and uncomfortable.
It had a kitchen with limited cooking facilities.
The hotel has no bar or restaurant so you have to go out for meals.
The pool looked nice through the rain.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mal_chaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    108
    18
    7
    29
See reviews for
200
243
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Awesome place to stay. Very clean, 2 minute walk to the beach. The owner was very friendly & helpful. Would return here if we ever come back to Montauk, and highly recommend it to any friends & family who are going to be staying in the area.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the ocean. The room on the 2nd floor, closest to the street may have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We arrived in the brutal wind and rain of tropical storm Andrea. We found the calm from the storm inside the extremely clean room at Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel. It may be the cleanest room I've stayed in for years.
Pros
Across the street from the ocean, within walking distance of the town of Montauk, very nice heated swimming pool, efficiencies for cooking inside and bbq grills for outside cooking, every room seemed to have a view of the ocean.You can hear the ocean from the rooms at night.
Cons
The walls and floors are thin. We were in a bottom apt and could here people walking across the floor and going up/down the stairs behind our bed. Also if you don't keep your windows closed and a/c running, you'll hear people coming back in taxis all night.

I would give the place an 8 of 10.

Room Tip: Call ahead a month in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mt sinai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel/ motel is one of my favorite places to stay in Long Islands finest vacation spot. The management is truly Montauk's finest. They remember me every time we call or email for a reservation. The ownership is always putting $ back into the property and upgrading the rooms. You can hear the ocean and smell the sea from your room as this lovely gem sits a stones throw across the Old Highway, and is just a great place to kick back and relax.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treysmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about staying in a motel rather than a resort type property, but read so many good reviews we decided to give it a shot. And we are glad we did. The Briney Breeze was a wonderful place to spend a weekend in Montauk. Our room was clean and spacious, the grounds were well-kept, and the location was terrific -- literally steps away from the beach. The owner was gracious and welcoming, and we will plan on returning.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stugru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I was originally excited about staying at this highly rated Montauk motel, but was very displeased with the lack of respect and manners of the owner when I had called to make a reservation. I decided to cancel reservation next day, and whoever I was talking to hung up the phone on me and would not pick up my follow-up calls. This seems like a very nice place to stay, but the way in which I was treated really turned me off.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ab678948713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in mid May for a weekend. We had an efficiency apartment, although it actually was one room. It was clean and well stocked with dishes, pots, and cutlery. We didn't cook but appreciated the tea kettle and cups for making tea. A full-sized refrigerator was also included. Access to the beach is just across the road. A lovely, clean pool is also on the premises. All in all, a good value in Montauk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan47_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
3.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel

Property: Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Address: 693 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#2 Family Hotel in Montauk
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean's clean white sandy beaches you will relax and enjoy a spectacular ocean view from all 44 1 and 2 room efficiencies, with A/C Heat, HBO and a balcony to sit and unwind. Outdoor heated pool, Barbecues,short walk to the village and Tee Times at Montauk Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartman`s Briney Breezes Hotel Montauk
Hartmans Briney Breezes Hotel
Hartmans Briney Breezes Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing