We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Can't beat Briney Breezes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Lindenhurst, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat Briney Breezes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We have been coming to Briney Breezes off and on for 25 years. We have always been pleased with the motel. The rooms are spacious and always clean. We've especailly noticed over the last few years the updating of the accomodations, while many of the other Montauk facilities seem to be stuck in the 60's and 70's. We come out each fall with friends and they always work with us to give us the rooms we like on the dates we request. I would and have highly recommended Hartman's to people I know.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    107
    18
    7
    29
See reviews for
199
242
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I were delighted to stumble upon this motel in the Spring of 2012 and went back again in the Fall! Based upon reviews on TripAdvisor, I requested a second floor room with a waterview. Honestly, all rooms must have waterviews, but the suite we stayed in both times was absolutely perfect! The suite contains a large living/kitchen/sleep area, a nice bathroom, and a separate bedroom area. The best part is a huge picture window and deck that looks over the Atlantic Ocean--I could just sit on the deck all day and watch the waves. A short walk across the street brings you to a nice sandy ocean beach. My husband is a surf caster and was delighted to be there for a "blue run" this Fall. The proprietors of the motel are very nice and the rooms are spotlessly cleaned. Both times we went there, we had very nice conversations with other guests. The prices for anything in Montauk go way up on season, but if we could afford it, we'd love to spend some time there during the summer months. For now, we'll be content to go back in the Spring and Fall! John's Pancake House is a must for breakfast, as is The Dock down by Gossman's Dock for dinner. We love Montauk!

Room Tip: Ask for second floor overlooking the water and you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I juat cant say enough of Hartmans Motel. We have been coming to Montauk since we were in our teens, and stayed at most places there. I truly can say this Hartmans Motel was just a great experience!! After Hurricane sandy, it sure was a relief to spend one of the best and fabulous weekends here. The rooms were just so clean and everything we needed was on hand. The presentation on opening the door was the best! Access to the beach was right across the street, and the town we walked to everyday! The views of the ocean and sunsets, sunrises were amazing. Our hats go off to Jenny and Robert for such hard working folks and just real good people that make the Motel the best. Great owners and friends we are so glad that we met. We are booking again with Hartmans in the spring. We rate their place A+++++++++++++. Thanks again for your hospitality J
enny and Robert. Have a wonderful winter!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montauk40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingville, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

My husband and I came out to Montauk for a little 3 day vacation. The room was beautiful, the balcony facing the beautiful ocean, cleanliness and friendly staff. It made our vacation that more enjoyable. We loved that you can walk across the street and be on the beach! I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Needed rooms for a last-minute Oct. fishing & beach getaway w/ the whole family crew. I'll leave descriptions of the rooms/location to the positive reviews already posted here. Noteworthy is that after booking the trip with the proprietor Robert, which involved logistics around the composition of the group and appropriate rooms, he called me back to notify me of a cancellation and book me in less expensive accommodations that better met our requirements.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

First time on Long Island and Montauk, used Tripadvisor to find this property and was not disappointed. We stayed mid-week early Oct. and it was quiet both at the hotel and in town, great timing. The room was large, a suite with 1 bedroom and another bed in the main area, modern kitchen with a dishwasher and granite countertop! My 2 complaints where the beds were too soft and you had to walk into the back bedroom in order to use the bathroom. Private balcony with big sturdy lounge chairs to enjoy the ocean view. A short walk across the road and another 50ft and your at the beach and what a lovely expanse of beach it is. This is a great place to stay. If you can get up early catch the sunrise at the lighthouse, it was a 10min ride from the hotel and afterwards we had breakfast in town. Be advised that they charge $8 to park at the lighthouse and additional to go in. If you get there before 8am and after 4pm it's free to park. There is a restaurant next door you can walk too, good food, great view but a little pricey.

Room Tip: Room 22 was in the back, 2nd floor with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vettewomanpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynbrook, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Columbus Day weekend in Montauk was lovely....... breathtaking views and outstanding clean, new, carefully maintained accommodations, with a delightful warm pool! It was like staying at a friends home, or better. We will be back.

Room Tip: Second floor with breathtaking view of the ocean, plenty of room, full size refrigerator, balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
1.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
3.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 40 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 40 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#11 of 40 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.0 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 40 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ocean Resort Inn
The Ocean Resort Inn
#1 of 40 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel

Property: Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Address: 693 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montauk
#2 Family Hotel in Montauk
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean's clean white sandy beaches you will relax and enjoy a spectacular ocean view from all 44 1 and 2 room efficiencies, with A/C Heat, HBO and a balcony to sit and unwind. Outdoor heated pool, Barbecues,short walk to the village and Tee Times at Montauk Downs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hartman`s Briney Breezes Hotel Montauk
Hartmans Briney Breezes Hotel
Hartmans Briney Breezes Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing