We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Time by the Sea”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burcliffe "By The Sea"
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Quiet Time by the Sea”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We literally stumbled upon this place in Montauk, on old Montauk highway, steps from the magnificence of the ocean. Very quiet and private. Moments from town. A heartbeat from the Lighthouse and beautiful views of the ocean where ever you gazed. We met Ron who was the most accommodating fellow we've run across at this type of business. Great stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lunarscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Burcliffe is in a great location - the beach it's on is one of the best on Long Island (if not the best, in my opinion). You'll have a beautiful beach with tons of space and lots of room to relax, throw a frisbee and hang with friends / family. If you'd prefer a crowd, go stay at a place in town. If you're looking for some r&r, quiet beach time, this is a great place to stay. The rooms are modest, like most other hotels in the area. Nevertheless, it's a great place to spend a weekend or an even longer summer vacation. The folks managing the property were very kind and accommodating. I look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit which is on the south west side of the property - it's great for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently visited Burcliffe by the Sea with my family and was very impressed with this cozy, private resort. The hotel is just down a path to one of the most beautiful, private beach. The heart of Montauk was only a half mile walk, and I enjoyed pushing my boys in their stroller on the path that leads to town. I was very impressed by the cleanliness of our cottage. Having our own space to cook dinner at night was so convientent for this mother of two! Burcliffe makes a wonderful family vacation, and we are planing on making this our family tradition summers to come! Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We just spent a week in one of the cottages at Burcliffe by the Sea. Having seen the photos, I wasn't expecting too much in terms of comfort (chose it for location, good reviews and an affordable price for a week's stay) but it was quite nice. We had a private patio, grill, side yard and the cottage had all our family of four needed. The beds were comfortable, even the pullout couch was fine, according to my son. The owners were very nice and accommodating and the location could not have been better. Right across the street is a magical looking path that leads to the most spectacular ocean beach. It was never crowded and actually there were very few people on this beach, even in the middle of July. Was a quick drive into town or to the bay if the ocean was too rough, so that was a nice option. Although a hotel, the cottage was so private that we felt like we were renting a house and being minutes from the beach was as good as it gets. Place was also nicely landscaped and the room was clean.

Room Tip: Our cottage was the farthest one back from the road (closest to the smaller rooms in the hotel which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yaphank, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just back from staying at Burcliffe by the Sea from Thursday to Sunday. My wife, dog Tucker and I had a great time staying in studio number four. The daily schedule: early morning visit to the beach directly across the street through a blazed path, morning run, visit to Montauk bake shoppe for egg sandwiches and coffee, drink and relax at the beach off of Navy Road, visit the ocean beach before dinner and then eat out....Burcliffe by the Sea is away from the crowds in town and made for a very relaxing visit. The studio was all we needed with a small refrigerator and freezer, a/c, tv, two beds (one for Tucker), etc.

We also enjoyed the breeze and view of the ocean. The fellow guests were very nice and pleasant. Bob made our trip very simple and easy......thanks again Bob......would recommend Burcliffe by the Sea for those looking for a low key getaway........

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I made my first visit to the Hamptons and to Burcliffe recently and there are just no words to describe how the property, the weather, the private beaches, and wonderful people exceeded my expectations! I am a west coast girl with very little exposure to the east coast beaches, but after this trip, I plan to return as often as possible. The proprieters of Burcliffe were so warm and welcoming, not only to me, but everyone. I was impressed by the impeccable grounds, the nostalgic ambience, and most of all, the serenity you feel at Burcliffe. I have traveled many places, from Hawaii to Europe to Asia, but I truly felt this was my most favorite vacation by far. My only regret is that Trip Advisor only has 5 stars for ratings! :) ... Burcliffe definitely deserves a 10.

Room Tip: Speak with Bob or Lorna about your specific needs and they will help you without question!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellBell914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My 15-year-old daughter and I wanted to go to the beach for a couple of days, and I am so happy we found Burcliffe by the Sea! The room was clean and spacious (though not updated) and had a lovely patio with a view of the ocean. The owners were courteous and professional, and best of all the beach was beautiful and pretty much empty. Because Burcliffe is not surrounded by other hotels/motels, it really feels like it has its own private beach! Town is only a 5 minute drive away, We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montauk
0.6 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#1 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 38 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
2.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 38 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burcliffe "By The Sea"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burcliffe "By The Sea"

Property: Burcliffe "By The Sea"
Address: 397 Old Montauk Hwy, Montauk, NY 11954-5039
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Burcliffe `By The Sea` Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing