We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill beach getaway”
Review of Haven Montauk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haven Montauk
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Took our 11 month old daughter to Montauk for her first visit and couldn't be happier staying at Haven. I have been summering in Montauk my whole life and this place has just the perfect updates but still keeps the low key, laid back beach vibe that Montauk is known for. Perfectly situated across from the Sound, minute walk from Gosmans so you can have restaurants nearby and a beautiful nightly sunset view over the sound. We hung out at the bonfire every night with wine and cooked up smores before a great night sleep in the cozy beds.
The staff were amazing, extra accommodating and helpful. Raul part of the staff helped me put a little baby bird back in its nest after it fell out on the deck. The manager and her family are so sweet and generous, their little daughter shared her toys and animal crackers with my baby. We had such a great time it was sad to leave. We hope to be back again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonyaod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014

Growing up on Long Island, I have stayed at almost every motel/hotel in the Montauk area. So many are unkept and outdated. Haven is revamped, clean, and feels like a home away from home. I can't think of any other place to stay in Montauk.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jeremydpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The location is perfect. Beautiful well maintained
We were quite happy with the room. The room was a comfortable size and extremely clean. Perfect Choice for anybody looking for a place to stay in Montauk! Couldn't be more pleased.
Ample parking.
Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arthur d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have been going to the Blue Haven for the past 20 years. The new owners are inexperienced, the home feeling is no longer there. I will be there this year again just to see if the personnel has learned the business. The revamping of all the room is a nice change. We will see???

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

my wife and i have been staying here for years, the old owner/manager was always around working on the grounds. the landscaping has gone downhill, and the pool area was a little messy, i had my doubts about the cleanliness of the water. there is a nice private beach across the road with great sunsets. it has always been a fisherman*s motel so there may be noise at different times. the price is about average[to much] for montauk,the old owner would work out a deal for multiple room rentals, not anymore.there are plenty of resturants around the corner and you don*t need a car to get to.

Room Tip: if you get a downstairs you may have to put up with the overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaps49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I have been going to this place for the past 4 years. They now have a new management team which I will say are the rudest, arrogant people I have run into. The new manager besides dressing like she is going to the beach everyday. She was down right unwilling to accommodate my friends and I. We booked 3 rooms every February and of course we had a reservation when we arrived for the same rooms we get every year. We received a call 2 days prior to our arrival to tell us the old management made a mistake.. Please note the reservation was made in FEBRUARY....... And we were called JULY 24!!! So they gave us 3 rooms 1 of which was not what we asked for. Ok we can somewhat deal with that. However the rooms that we were given were not larger enough to accommodate our group. So ultimately someone had to sleep on the floor.... It also appeared that a majority of the rooms were taking up by the NEW NASTY AND UNPROFESSIONALs family!

I will NEVER return there! The only way I'd return is if this new manager,team and family are not there.

Seriously think twice about staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Haven for a few days and loved it. The room was fully renovated, new furniture, new bathrooms, new sheets, new paint, new everything... The rooms were reasonably priced too and the management/owners are a pleasure to deal with. We highly recommend.

P.S. You need to have a car to drive around or get ready to pay for cabs (they're ain't cheap).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.8 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.2 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
564 reviews
1.8 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#9 of 39 in Montauk
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
3.2 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
3 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haven Montauk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Montauk

Address: 533 W Lake Dr, Montauk, NY 11954-5152 (Formerly Blue Haven Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range: $237 - $775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Haven Montauk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crisp. Clean. Contemporary. Haven Montauk is the perfect low- key and friendly Motel experience you were looking for. Haven features 27 thoughtfully designed guestrooms with all the essentials for a stay in Montauk. Residing directly on the harbor, the property is centrally located and accessible to all. We encourage you to explore the many beautiful beaches right in our backyard, charter a fishing boat or relax poolside at our property. Our complimentary bicycles provide the perfect transportation along the beach to Gossman's Dock, where you can enjoy the fresh catch of the day while you revel in Montauk's killer sunsets. In the evening, as the air begins to cool, lounge around our fire pit with your friends to keep warm. Enjoy all the excitement of Montauk with the knowledge that there is a peaceful place to lay your head once the beach-day sunshine catches up with you and it's time to put out the bonfire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Haven Montauk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing