We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Quiet Stay”
Review of Montauk Hill House

Montauk Hill House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montauk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Montauk Hill House
Ranked #3 of 3 Montauk B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Quiet Stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Montauk Hill House for a night in the off season looking for an escape from the busy rush of Manhattan. Reviews are correct in this is a great place for a quiet, low key stay. There is a quality to this place that most hotels can't offer. Rooms are very clean, great size, great views and stocked with the basic necessities (hair dryer, coffee machine, drinking glasses, beach towels, etc.). Contrary to another review, the bed was comfortable. It is a quick ride to restaurants and beaches. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Timily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ridgewood, N.J.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Make no mistake this is NOT a B&B or an inn. It is someones's very private home in which you use a bedroom. My husband, two college age daughters and I felt like trespassers! It was a weird setup. The cats (which were lovely ) wander around the house, contrary to claims that they just stay downstairs. This can be a significant problem if you have allergies. The house itself and grounds are beautiful, but it is not a good place for vacationing because you will feel the need to tiptoe around the owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank wonderwoman7757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Montauk Hill House this past weekend and absolutely loved it. The house is exactly as described and perfect for a weekend in Montauk. Perfect distance from all the summer crowds and hotels yet close enough to beach and restaurants- a five minute ride away. Thanks Karin!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Was here over the weekend on a whim. It's not on the water, but does have amazing views from being on top of the hill.. We were in the sunset room which overlooked the back of the property which has the best views.. Queen bed, huge walk in closet, and nice on suite bath. The only downsize, and really not that big of a deal- no tv's in the room. Bring books or iPad!
The rest of the house is beautiful..but lacked little things such as refreshments.. I didn't see any. Maby I missed it.. No place to get a drink. They have 2 cats and a dog, so if u have allergies beware, and no pool to cool off , but u go to montauk for the beaches right? Quick ride to the beach and town..
The quality in this B&B is unreal.. The staircase is amazing as well as all the detail in all of the rooms.. I would def stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mellowkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The house is amazing, quiet and beautiful. The only scare I had walking in the door was seeing cats as I am highly allergic. Karin immediately assured me that the cats don't go upstairs where our room was located. I admit I was skeptical as cats pretty much do whatever the heck they like, but ias was dead wrong -- I had absolutely no problem. It is hands down an impeccable property - we will return and I will refer. A few quick items:
1) the bed was hard as a rock. I mean really a rock. while I do understand some folks prefer a firm mattress this was plywood firm to me.
2) I understand the note in your house book about not rifling through the fridge and cabinets. Couldn't agree with you more if I were you. However, maybe leaving out some basics for guests would be helpful - small snacks, bottled water, etc. after a day on the beach one can become quite parched. I didn't understand your comment about "the water in the house being filtered" so that we could refill our water bottles. At 3:00 am I assure you I did. I'm betting you could reduce folks going through the cabinets (I assure you we did not) if you left a few things out that we're specifically and obviously for them. I'm certain this would make the property feel a bit more welcoming.
All in all there's likely no better place to stay than this or around Montauk.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Waytansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

A very peaceful setting and atmosphere in this beautifully built home.The grounds are lovely, the house has welcoming spaces with , exquisite details in both the public areas and the guest rooms. A gem!

Room Tip: Not great in the room but perfect in the living room
See more room tips
Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank winnie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2011

I have been traveling to Montauk since I was young - for almost 30 years! This is by far the Best Montauk has to offer. I found the Hill House last week and decided to give it a try for a last minute stay. My husband and I had a wonderful stay. The rooms are beautiful, clean and quiet. Just what we were looking for. The entire house is new and beautifully decorated. The grounds are beautiful. Karin is the most wonderful host. Although we didn't want for much, she was so helpful and accommodating. I had a wonderful massage given by Karin and was on par with some of the best massages I have had in NYC. The bathrooms are gorgeous and modern. The guest rooms are spacious and comfortable, with walk in closets and coffee machines. You receive 2 fresh beach towels daily! We love nice hotels and travel often. This is one of our top choices!
Montauk is full of VERY expensive accommodations, that lack service and hospitality. Most have not been updated or renovated in YEARS, to say the least. They all look tired and are not clean. Montauk Hill House is an absolute Gem and we will now ONLY stay there!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kbd12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.9 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montauk Manor
Montauk Manor
#8 of 39 in Montauk
491 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.4 mi away
Sunrise Guest House
Sunrise Guest House
#1 of 3 in Montauk
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montauk Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montauk Hill House

Property: Montauk Hill House
Address: 114 Glenmore Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5155
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Montauk
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing