We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not as bad as everyone says”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Certificate of Excellence
Westbury, New York
1 review
“not as bad as everyone says”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We needed a room for the night and this was the only place available. Kenny the owner gave us the room for $129.00 with the tax it came to less then $150.00. In Montauk that's a really good price. The room was clean and the shower was hot. That's all we needed...
If your looking just to sleep and spend your time in town at the beach this is the place for you. If you are looking for a resort this is not the place for you.
Amy Westbury NY

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    81
    37
    13
    32
See reviews for
129
160
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Hills, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2011

It was the worst stay ever. No ice machine and the pool is always closed. The garbage dumpster smelled so much you could smell it in our room. The help drug a leaking garbage bag past our room, and it left a horrible smell, that they never washed away. A smelly roll off dumpster sat in the parking lot all week. A man checked us in that wasn't dressed, with his bath robe half way open.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chridem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, General Manager at Kenny's Tipperary Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear traveler:

It seems you arrived at the height of the warmest month of the year. We apologize for any smells coming from our dumpster. During hot months everyone's garbage is richer in odors.
We also would like to inform you that we have switched management at the Tipperary Inn after you stayed with us. We are making great progress on many fronts. And if you happen to be in montauk anytime soon feel free to stop in and experience the changes first hand.
Regards,
Onja Downing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

absolutely the worst hotel in my 52 years of living.
The pool was empty..... guess it was a byo water hotel. The room was worse.....looked like the original furniture from the 1920's......closet door was literally on the floor. one view was of the dirty empty pool, and the other was of the empty parking lot(a hint) with a dumpster full of garbage. Got the feeling if I stayed I would have ended up dead in the pool - lol. the absolute slums of montauk..........don't know how they are in business

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank neverendingsrch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, General Manager at Kenny's Tipperary Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear potential guest:
It is a pity you didn't actually stay with us. Our pool has been up and running since June of this year. And we have had an amazing season so far. We would like a moment to thank all our guests for all the feedback, both good and bad. Because it helps us pinpoint the areas where we can improve our service. Please consider us in your future travels.
Sincrely
Onja Downing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2011

the worst thing about my summer was coming home to this place at night!
no cooking facilities, no way of washing your sheets never mind your clothes! and the most horrible, intimidating staff ever! treated like second class citizens even though we were paying $200 a week to stay there, and like many others i shared a bed with my friend.
it is 3 miles away from the town centre and the buses aren't that regular - so taxi's into town can be expensive ($8 per single trip at best)
if you're thinking of going to Montauk, stay away from here, there are plenty of other nicer places in town that are worth that little bit of extra organising!!
this place should be condemned!!

AND they didn't open the pool ALL summer!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Flos5y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edward K, General Manager at Kenny's Tipperary Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Roice
We are under new management here at the Tipperary Inn. Since you last stayed with us, we have improved our staff,and remodeled many of our rooms. What type of room did you book during your stay? I was surprised at your mention of lack of cooking facilities. Both our one bedroom apartments, and our two bedroom apartments, have a full size kitchen. It includes pots, pans and utensils available to our guests.
If you are ever back in town, please feel free to drop in and see the changes first hand.
Best Wishes
Onja Downing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.7 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.7 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Daunt's Albatross Motel
Daunt's Albatross Motel
#2 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenny's Tipperary Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenny's Tipperary Inn

Property: Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Address: 432 W Lake Dr, P.O. Box 5015, Montauk, NY 11954-5126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kenny's Tipperary Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tipperary Inn is located in the heart of Montauk Harbor. We feature comfortable, recently renovated rooms. We are strategically located; not far from downtown Montauk, but far enough from the bustle. Ideal for the perfect getaway.We feature a relaxed atmosphere and we also have plenty of activities for our guests to enjoy. Such as fishing, hiking, horseback riding, golfing and dining. We are a walk away from the Block Island and Groton Connecticut ferries. Next door to the Inn is the re-nowned Mannucci's restaurant, a favorite dining spot with the locals and tourists alike.Our staff will be happy to help you book any activity and we will do our utmost to make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kenny's Tipperary Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenny`s Tipperary Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing