We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend away from reality”
Review of Sole East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sole East Beach
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
New York City, New York
1 review
“Fantastic weekend away from reality”
Reviewed September 22, 2010

I went to the Tom's shoe event in August at Sole East which was an amazing experience. I stayed for dinner with a couple of coworkers and the food was delicious with great music, we actually learned to Voli! That night I stayed at the rooms down the road with a few co-workers. The room was nicely decorated and extremely relaxing. The beach is across the road which was extremely convenient. I live only a few hours away, the essence my stay made this a fantastic night away.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agreenfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    10
    29
    29
See reviews for
16
46
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The design and copy on the Web site portrays this place as a slick boutique hotel with cutting edge design, but in reality, it's a Nixon/Carter-era motel with a vaguely mod/minimalist coat of paint and some new furniture (including comfy beds). The rooms have been updated, though they're still just average overall. And the bathroom in ours didn't appear to have been updated much since Watergate. Cable TV and coffee maker in the room. That said, most of the other beach motels in town looked far shabbier, so it's all relative. A bartender in town asked us where we were staying and how much we paid and pronounced it a pretty good deal. We considered other motels nearby and were ultimately pretty happy we stayed where we did once we saw the neighboring properties. Location is hard to beat - can walk to the beach and town restaurants/bars/shops quickly. No pool, but wouldn't you rather take a dip in the great big ocean across the street?

A little puzzled by the knocks on the staff in other reviews. We found them to be helpful and knowledgeable, plus they were nice, mellow folks with personality. So if you're expecting business traveler hotel bellhop service with staffers falling over themselves to carry your bags, this is not the place for you. A couple of services they offer you should take advantage of. They'll give you a free ride to/from the train, in whatever random car they have available. They rent bikes too, and at better rates than the bike and surf shops in town.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Montauk great, Sole East Beach terrible. This is not to be confused with Sole East Resort which seems a little better (for even more money). I traveled with a group and all of us had complaints. The lock on the room doors not working, shower would instantly turn scalding, mediocre air conditioning in late July, rooms not clean, bathrooms not renovated since the '50s (toilet paper holder falling off wall), strange smell in rooms. But I'm leaving the worst for last, the attitude and service level of the staff. Terrible. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Lincroft, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I know "It's Montauk" and you are across the street from the beach, but for $300 plus dollars a night the room was horrible. It smelled, the indoor/outdoor carpet was gross, the bathroom hadn't been renovated since 1965, there was one light on the end table but you couldn't use it to read, no blow dryer, iron or clock. But worst of all was how rude the manager/owner was to us. He basically told us to check out if we didn't like it. The website is very deceptive to say the least. Painting a bad motel room white and black still makes it a bad motel room! Don't be fooled.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Don't waste your time staying here, the staff are rude and sound like they are just on vacation from high school, the phrase you get what you pay for is not true in this instance. You pay a lot for attitude, when your in the service business , that is what you do, serving you clients and showing a little respect, but not at this hotel.
Spend your money somewhere else, Sole east , what a bunch of amateurs......

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Me and a bunch of girlfriends stayed here for a couple of nights. We were first dropped off at the Sole East location by the hotel's SUV, but there was no clarity from the reservation confirmation that we were actually booked at the beach location. That location was better for us as it was right near the beach and the center of town, anyway. The rooms were clean, no frills with a small, but sufficient TV screen. Check out was a little hairy. We didn't know what time the front desk was going to open (the front desk clerk yesterday said around 10 or so) and there was no clear direction on checking out. This worried us a little because we had a train to catch. We ordered a shuttle service to get to the train station and instead of the nice SUV, our original driver picked us up in a two-door Celica.
Overall, our stay was good. Despite the unclear and slow service, the staff was friendly. Just be prepared for the very laid back and beachy hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdlphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I have been coming to this hotel for many years for many reasons-great location right across
the street from the ocean,you can walk or bicycle to any place in montauk. Not too big ,so no big family parties. The pool is located at there lake location ( very close) if you feel the need to swim in a pool.The lake location is super cool with great bar and restaurant and on summer sunday afternoons music .Also beautiful grounds. If you are 20 to 60 love montauk
love kids but dont want to be in the middle of huge family gatherings this is your place. Great vibes but still has the montauk feel we love

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.6 mi away
Sole East Resort
Sole East Resort
#14 of 39 in Montauk
388 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
A Wave Inn
A Wave Inn
#33 of 39 in Montauk
95 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Born Free Suites by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole East Beach

Property: Sole East Beach
Address: 107 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5191
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sole East Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sole East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole East Beach Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing