We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wouldnt stay anywhere else-cool hip and reasonable-love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sole East Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sole East Beach
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Hauppauge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wouldnt stay anywhere else-cool hip and reasonable-love this place”
Reviewed July 8, 2010

I have been coming to this hotel for many years for many reasons-great location right across
the street from the ocean,you can walk or bicycle to any place in montauk. Not too big ,so no big family parties. The pool is located at there lake location ( very close) if you feel the need to swim in a pool.The lake location is super cool with great bar and restaurant and on summer sunday afternoons music .Also beautiful grounds. If you are 20 to 60 love montauk
love kids but dont want to be in the middle of huge family gatherings this is your place. Great vibes but still has the montauk feel we love

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kym27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    10
    29
    27
See reviews for
16
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NEW YORK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

My husband and I chose to spend our first wedding anniversary at Sole East Resort, as it offered chic boutique accommodations in a laid back setting. While we worried that 4th of July weekend and the recent additions of trendy hotels and restaurants to Montauk, were going to make our stay a small nightmare, we were pleasantly surprised.

We arrived on Friday, a bit early for the 3 pm check-in, but surprisingly, they had our room ready and were fine with us checking in early. Since we were happy just soaking up the atmosphere at the pool and restaurant, which is beautifully landscaped, we had lunch, drank, watched Wimbledon and World Cup and just hung around until we were ready to check in. Their Backyard restaurant has reasonably priced lobster rolls and sliders, and the drinks, at a pretty average $12 were refreshing.

Once we checked in, we found our garden facing king room well sized, bright and clean, with a super comfortable bed. if there was one drawback, it was the bathroom, that while clean, was in no means modern. The bathroom renovations, if any, were very basic, with unattractive flimsy shelving and a cheap all in one prefab tub/shower. Our toilet paper holder was also coming out of the wall.

Over the course of our stay, we lounged at the pool often, where a steady playlist of electropop was played, always at a reasonable, unobtrusive level. Waitstaff constantly came by to offer food and drink, and were always courteous and pleasant. We were taken a bit off guard by how many small children and dogs were staying at the hotel, but all were well behaved, well attended to, and never made it unpleasant.

The only time we felt a bit unwelcome was on Saturday night, when the hotel hosted an unannounced(until that very day), media event. The hotel was overrun that night, and various areas were made VIP, therefore not open to hotel guests. It would have been nice to inform guests of this while booking so they could determine if that would be an issue or them, or at the very least, they could make plans to be elsewhere at this time. The hotel has just one pool and restaurant, so you could not help but be "in the way".

All in all, I'd say our hotel stay was great. When we wanted to go to Ditch Plains, the hotel gave us a free parking permit, and bicycles were available for $20 a day. There is also free ample parking on the premises. The main beach, Kirk, is just a 10 minute walk, as is town, so you really feel like you are close to everything, yet a bit isolated.

All in all, we had an amazing stay at Sole East and would definitely go back.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nyalycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The staff is professional, attractive, and friendly. Amazing DJ and music at the pool.
Excellent menu.

What can I say? I had a blast!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynTraveler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I spent two nights at Sole East-Beach Aug 2009 with my husband and newborn. We found the room clean and the linens and pillows super cozy. On our second day the waste line from the tub on the floor above leaked onto all our freshly washed and sterile newborn bottles, etc. and made a mess of the kitchen. We informed the front desk (18 yr old staff member) of the active leak and partially collapsed ceiling and waited 90 mins for the handyman to tell us he would return. After my repeated request to speak with a manager one of the owners of the establishment finally responded 2 hrs later. I was obviously irritated and requested that the second night be complimentary or be charged at a reduced rate. I was told that I was choosing not to be happy and that Sole would be happy to pick up the infants items, drive them to the other location, wash and return to us or I could pack up and go. The repair and clean up took a total of five hours. When paying $250 a night for only two nights five hours is a big deal to a new mom. I've had better service in huts in Thailand for fraction of the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mango87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Montauk hotels

Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Room reminds me of a bungalo that's been clean up, spruced up. Panelling painted white, some updated furniture pieces, modern lighting, low-pile rug (easy to vacuum sand from). I don't think the fireplace works because they have a big mirror in front of it. Bathroom is nothing to rave about except that it is clean and has great water pressure. Nice guest shampoo, cream rinse, and soap; clean, white towels; but no blow dryer (that's a big draw back for me). Good flat-screen tv, easily accessible wi-fi (no passwords required), friendly staff--they let us stay late in the morning because the place wasn't full. Location is good in that the beach is across the street, but it's not on the beach--we can hear the waves, but can't see them. This place is across the street from the Ocean Beach hotel, which is cheaper. Maybe we'll stay there next time. Oh, and you can walk to town very easily--restaurants and a day spa.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadetlefsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

We thought we booked into the Sole East Resort online. Expedia even sent us the Sole East Resort address. However, the resort was not yet opened for the season and we were sent to Sole East Beach. This is nothing more then a slightly updated strip motel - thankfully it was only one night. The location is directly accros the street from the beach however, despite the very old bathroom fixtures, the room was very clean. I do not think it was worth the money. It is very disappointing - thinking you booked one place and it ends up being completly different. Buyer beware!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mryan3g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2009

My partner and I came out for Thanksgiving weekend. While the staff were very helpful when I called in advance, we were disappointed upon arrival. Not only was the "free transportation" between the LIRR and the hotel not "available" the entire weekend we were there, many of the features described on the website were missing. The room we booked online wasn't available so we were downgraded to a double room; the room we were assigned had no flatscreen tv as advertised. Furthermore, the chic/modern hotel described and pictured is actually a basically retooled Motel 6: painting the room and wicker furniture white and adding two decorative black and white pillows doesn't make the room modern or chic. The location is great. Unfortunately the mod hotel advertised just isn't here.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eezybeezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.6 mi away
Sole East Resort
Sole East Resort
#12 of 39 in Montauk
373 reviews
0.0 mi away
A Wave Inn
A Wave Inn
#33 of 39 in Montauk
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
2.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sole East Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sole East Beach

Property: Sole East Beach
Address: 107 S Emerson Ave, Montauk, NY 11954-5191
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sole East Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sole East Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sole East Beach Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing