We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here!”
Review of The Surf Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Surf Lodge
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My boyfriend and I recently had a horrible experience at the new hyped-up trendy spot in Montauk called the Surf Lodge. On recommendation from a friend, we decided to spend a weekend there to relax. While the restaurant there, made famous by TOP CHEF alum Sam Talbot, was good, the Lodge itself was, well, GHETTO. The rooms were small and they tried to pass it off as "charming" and "laid back." Meanwhile, we were placed right next to the dumpster and awoke to an alarming 6 am wake up call from the dumpster truck hauling away the trash.

The room itself gave off an odd odor and the Hotel Staff was non-attentive and very lassez-faire.

So, in conclusion, go to the Surf Lodge for food and drinks, just DON'T go to actually stay there!!!

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank TRAVELGAL2008_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexandre_H_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreisorokinster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: das zimmer 21 ist eine sehr schöne suit mit einem 160 x 200 bett und einem 200 x 200 und zwei bädern
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Constantin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Desarollo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Bruno B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le cabanon 10 avec son entrée comme une petite baraque de plage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loutylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
0.8 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
225 reviews
5 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Breakers MTK
Breakers MTK
#22 of 39 in Montauk
72 reviews
2.9 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
2.1 mi away
Haven Montauk
Haven Montauk
#17 of 39 in Montauk
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surf Lodge

Address: 183 S Edgemere St, Montauk, NY 11954-5327
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith so you can book your The Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Hotel Montauk
Surf Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing