We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for the quality”
Review of Breakers MTK

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Breakers MTK
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Montauk
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Wasn't sure what to expect after reading the other reviews - booked anyway because it was one of the few places with a vacancy. We were in a two bedroom cottage; kitchen was small and old - fridge was clean and there were plenty of pans and dishes, but I can't imagine cooking in there. Bedrooms were basic, beds more comfortable than they looked. Worst was the bathroom. Very small with a nasty floor and shower. Good deck with picnic table and two lawn chairs. Best was beach directly across the road - path was manageable even with two small kids and a wagon full of our stuff. Did not swim in pool, so can't comment. I would have trouble recommending it. We only stayed two nights; it wasn't terrible (we didn't spend much time in the room other than to sleep), but we wouldn't stay there again. From owner "it's like camping with hot showers" - not sure that $350 a nite for a campsite is worth it. Our first time in Montauk - had a blast, and accomodations didn't ruin our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kellu314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 72 of 72 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2010

Let me start off by saying that I came here with my boyfriend, we are in our early 20's and did not have high expectations of the place. We booked about a week in advance and were happy to find a place with a vacancy. We have stayed in really nice places, and this place I would not consider one of them but it was fine.

Location: Right on Mtk. Highway. Had to walk across street and through dunes to get to beach. If it's really hot like it was when we stayed, not very desirable. Also, grass is really tall, careful for ticks. If you have a car, you should be fine, just drive into town and use the beach there, thats what we did. ( They give you a parking pass-just ask for it)

Rooms: Ok- not ritzy, but it's Montauk. It had a two beds, a small bathroom, dining room table, full fridge, small stove, and sink. We didn't cook but the full sized fridge was great for beers/fruit. Ok and here's the worst part. We were there the end of August and there was NO AC!!!!!!!! My boyfriend was miserable. Even with all windows open, and 3 fans blowing it was just awful. I don't think he slept once the three nights we were there.

Grounds/ Amneties: Parking Pass was helpful. They had grills outside that I saw many families using. Pool was great, always empty would just hop in after coming back from beach.

Service/Staff: Staff was nice and provided my miserable boyfriend with many extra fans to make up for lack of ac...didn't help but still, the thought was there.

Overall, if your planning on eating out for all meals/ being out all day and just looking for a place to crash it was totally fine. Like I stated earlier we are a young, laid back couple who just wanted to get out of the city, drink, eat, and be beach bums! It was nice, but def not glamorous and I'm not so sure I would bring kids here if I had any.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We stayed at the Breakers in Montauk last year and had the best time. The rooms were basic and a little dated, but, because of the layout of the resort something wonderful happened - my kids met tons of other kids and organized lots of games. We could watch them play with other kids while lounging on our deck, which had a million-dollar ocean view. The pool was super warm and the water clean.

We stayed in a small cottage with a small kitchen and were able to cook and barbeque. Also, the Breakers was close enough to town that we could ride our bikes to fantastic restauraunts and the supermarket. The beach was beyond compare. The only conmplaint was that the landscaping seemed pretty neglected and the office put us off at first; its pretty cluttered. However, once we got to our room, we had a fabulous family vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank earthjeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

The room does not look like the internet. I was appalled when I opened the door. The molding was coming apart, the stove didnt turn on and looked 50 years old... I was surprised my husband fit in the bathroom...The door was coming apart and my husband had to finish peeling off the wood so we wouldnt cut ourself getting in and out of the bathroom. For the money they are charging they should be ashamed of themselves. No airconditioning and the lamps were all broken and the wiring in the room is a big fire hazard. We couldnt turn on the fan because it had dust on it... The only thing I could say were the towels were clean.... The first day I went to use the pool, it was so fithly I couldnt see my feet!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VAPONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

I stay at the Breakers every year with my family. It's great for children of all ages, especially because they have a kiddie pool and other activities for children (ping pong, volleyball, playground).. Reasonable prices even during high season! If you just want a low key place to have a great time, Breakers is it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank worldtravelaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank huhukati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyla M, Manager at Breakers MTK, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montauk hotels
4.2 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#24 of 39 in Montauk
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beachcomber Resort At Montauk
0.8 mi away
The Montauk Beach House
The Montauk Beach House
#12 of 39 in Montauk
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.6 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
376 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#8 of 39 in Montauk
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breakers MTK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breakers MTK

Address: 769 Old Montauk Highway, Montauk, NY 11954 (Formerly The Breakers Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Montauk
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montauk
Price Range: $291 - $815 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Breakers MTK 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Breakers MTK! All of our houses have AC, Leesa Mattresses, Matouk Bed Linens, Frette Bath Towels, Malin + Goetz bath Amenities, and Tivoli Bluetooth Speakers. The entire property has undergone upgrades including all new indoor and outdoor furniture and decor, high-speed WiFi. NYC seafood staple Seamore's is now also open on site, serving lunch, dinner and drinks both indoors and out. The property is now screen free, so we encourage you to bring reading material and enjoy the outdoors while you are here with us in beautiful Montauk. We recommend bringing your personal devices should you desire to binge on Netflix while you're here on a rainy day. We are located across the street from a pristine beach on the ocean and within walking distance to downtown Montauk and many of its restaurants, bars, shops and activities. Contact us for further information. We look forward to having you visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Breakers MTK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Montauk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing