We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Rustic Setting with Good Food”
Review of LA VERA CUCINA

LA VERA CUCINA
Ranked #6 of 70 Restaurants in Monroe
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
314 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Warm Rustic Setting with Good Food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Visited for a friend's special birthday on a Saturday evening. Made reservations and we were seated right on time. It was quite A little noisy, but a really nice experience.
Beautiful building - felt like we were in someone's home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    36
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great birthday ,dinner”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been in monroe for a few years, but never made a visit. I am sorry I waited so long. This was our first time and it was great. A little pricey, but you do get a large dinner portion. The appetizers were the only thing that could have been a little bigger for the money. That would be the only comment. The four of us who went to dinner had a great meal. 3 out of 4 of us took some home for lunch today. We went on Sunday and it was not to busy, serve was pretty good. The menu had a lot of choices which made it hard to make up our minds, but the dinner we got were all great. Can't wait to go back and try again. The place has smaller tables so you do feel very cozy. Wish you had a little more room. Did not do wine, may next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim4344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic old world Italian food!”
Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Wow, what a great place ! It looks like its in a housing development. The ambiance has a beautiful low light-a bit upscale from a run of the mill franchise Italian restaurant . Stuffed mushrooms and calamari -fantastic. Fresh Artisan bread-delicious. Salads-basic,just enough. Entrees -Lobster Ravioli, rich and delicious. Veal Toscana,generous portion , melt in your mouth with olives,capers with marinara,pesto tomatoes and mozzarella -yum. Fettuccine Alfredo w/shrimp,creamy,buttery,rich with perfectly grilled jumbo shrimp .
Dessert -expertly done cappuccino ,napoleon-creamy,flaky and sweet. Profiterole:ice cream,whipped cream,cream puffs covered in chocolate -another melt in your mouth .
At the end of the meal they even came by with HOMEMADE Sambuca . Amazing !
This was such a great place to eat and the entire staff was wonderful. I would absolutely go back on my next vacation !

Helpful?
Thank cbecklmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Shores, North Carolina
Level Contributor
297 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Will Visit Again”
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

I had dinner at La Vera Cucina last week as part of a family gathering. I have past this area of Monroe hundreds of time but never knew of this restaurant. I was very pleased with the food, the quality was excellent and the portions large. Staff were nearly running to make sure everyone had what they desired without delay. Servers were friendly and attentive. Atmosphere was old world classic and relaxed. We met the owner on the way out and he was pleasant and invited us back, seeming as pleased as us that we had a great experience. Thank you to LVC and we will return soon

Helpful?
Thank Mje12518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland County, NY
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“It Pleased the Whole Family!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

For every occasion, our family goes out to eat to celebrate. We are 6 adults and 2 children under 5. It is very difficult to find a good restaurant convenient for everyone, kid-friendly, affordable (we pick up the tab) with good food, efficient service and pleasant atmosphere. This restaurant is now at the top of our list of wonderful restaurants. Everyone really enjoyed the food, especially the three fussy eaters. My penne ala vodka was delicious and my apple tart dessert could not be beat. The prices are moderate and the entrees come with salads. Portions are large and their is a big selection of entrees.

We had a nice round table outside on the porch. It was perfect for the children, as they enjoyed the view standing in the corner of the porch when they finished eating waiting for the rest of us to finish. They were safe and out of the way from the other customers.

I’ve been to their sister restaurant in Suffern (Tripadvisor lists it as Vera Cucina) that also has excellent food, but I think the atmosphere is a little nicer here. Both restaurants are worth going back to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Want2travelallaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to LA VERA CUCINA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing