We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok”
Review of Plum House

Plum House
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Monroe
Price range: $10 - $35
Description: New management, new menu, new dining experience. Thank you new and old customers, I will do my best for everyone, please trust us, please give us a chance. Sincerely,Plum House Andy.
Restaurant details
Description: New management, new menu, new dining experience. Thank you new and old customers, I will do my best for everyone, please trust us, please give us a chance. Sincerely,Plum House Andy.
new york
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It's ok”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I went several years ago and at that time it was unimaginative Japanese-American fare. I had travelled about 45 minutes to get there and meet friends. I must say it was not worth the trip. If I lived near by it would be fine for a quick mid week supper.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ethxprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite Monroe restaurant”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is our favorite family restaurant. It's small and cozy with good service. The food is delicious and relatively inexpensive for a Japanese restaurant. The meal includes a complimentary tofu and bean sprout appetizer, salad, miso soup, and hot tea. Our favorite dishes are the vegetarian roll dinner (cucumber roll, avocado roll, and Japanese pickle roll) and tuna teriyaki. We also love the stir-fried vegetables and the seaweed salad. Lunch is even more of a bargain! They also have takeout!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lysiemu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New York
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food.”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Not much to look at here, but great food. Excellent soups, noodles, and of course sushi. Service is quite fine. Always have a nice experience. It's not cheap, but you get what you pay for.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wotan10950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harriman, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fresh Sushi”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

A very good selection of Sushi and a friendly atmosphere. We really enjoy the beef dish negimioki (not sure how its spelled) its delicious.

Helpful?
Thank JoAnn126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dragon rolls”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

It's a small restaurant but very well put together. The service is good and the Sushi is fresh and amazing. I wasn't a fan of the tempura. I liked the fact that they didn't snub me when I asked for a fork.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Plum House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing