We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$161
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveler rating
331
129
42
25
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
331
129
42
25
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main househudson riverfarm to tablegas fireplacesauna and steam roombreakfast and afternoon teagrounds are gorgeousworking fireplacesweet basilrelaxing weekendonsite restaurantindoor poolliving roombreakfast was deliciousfull kitchennorth cottageculinary institute of america
Filter
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 540 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a lovely inn in a very pretty setting. The staff go to great lengths to make you feel welcome and accommodate your every wish down to making sure gluten free snacks and treats were available. They were also extremely helpful in moving our arrival date up by one day at the last minute- all done by email so very efficient! The spa treatment I had was amazing! And dinner at the inn was also very nice although the restaurant was a bit more casual than I had expected from other reviews. Hot breakfasts are made to order from a small menu but this approach slowed down service to the point that one morning we got tired of waiting and left the table before the hot items arrived. Future guests should be aware that most of the rooms are in a very old building and can be small and also very noisy. During our stay we were distracted by noise from neighbors upstairs and also next door - the latter ran their Jacuzzi on the wall next to our bed at 11:30pm one night. So if you are bothered by noise from other rooms/guests this may not the be place for you. We had one of the smaller rooms which while very pretty had so much furniture in it that there was very little room to move around and no space to put our suitcase other than on the bed or right in front of the fireplace. We peeked into other rooms around us and they seemed quite a bit bigger so the crowding issue may be limited to specific rooms. I mentioned the crowded feel of the room when we departed and the person at the desk asked for our recommendation about what furniture to remove to improve the situation so once again the staff really do seem to care about their guests comfort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelinggal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went there to celebrate my wife's birthday and we were blown away by how beautiful the property was. Everything from the view to the greenery to our spectacular room!

The main house was clean, the room was spotless and we even used the fireplace! Loved the geese and the rest of the animals! We also dined at Henry's and it was incredible as well.

Well worth the trip! Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ricky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at Buttermilk Falls Inn a couple of times - once in the winter and once in the fall - and always leave wanting to return. The grounds are quite spectacular offering beautiful views and the ability to stroll around. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully appointed, very clean and luxurious. Breakfast was always delicious with pancakes or omelets made to order and the spa - while restricted to adults - offers soothing and pampering treatments.

Room Tip: Rook's Nest is very romantic and the Gindelle Suite is great for a family.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S12360763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

my husband and i have just returned from a weekend at buttermilk falls. we went for some needed time away from the kids and to celebrate my 40th birthday! we had the most relaxing time. the inn was just what we needed - the grounds are beautiful, the room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were amazing. the breakfasts were the best i've ever had at a b&b - abundant and delicious. the dinner at henry's was very good too although there was a large group there so they ran out of three of the entrees, including the scallops which was what i wanted. oh well, the pork loin was delicious. my only complaints are that our room had a balcony that badly needed sweeping - there were dead leaves and cobwebs all around. the walkway outside our room also needed sweeping. the bed was very comfortable but i would have liked crisper sheets. these are both minor compared to the overall experience but worth pointing out. also, i guess the inn doesn't want to ban small children, but there were a few kids that were a bit noisy, as kids will be, at the mealtimes. just to keep in mind in case you want a completely sans kids vacation. finally, the spa was very nice. i had a massage, which was very good and the pool had a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

My husband took me up for my birthday - a quick Sun to Mon trip. It was just beautiful. We arrived in time for their amazing afternoon tea which had way more snacks than one might associate with tea. Dinner at the adjacent restaurant Henry's was INCREDIBLE. They even arranged a little flourless chocolate cake as a birthday surprise. The room was charming and had a gas fireplace that made for a nice touch. There was also a deck and while it was chilly and a bit icy, it was beautiful. We took a walk on the grounds and they have an with animals. You can't beat llamas for added color! Sheep and donkeys rounded out the menagerie. We also met the chickens who supplied the eggs for the next morning's fantastic breakfast. A spa facial that second day and relaxing by the pool wrapped my little birthday trip up nicely. With a pretty 90 min drive from NYC, I highly recommend it and plan to take MetroNorth up in the future to spend a day at the spa with friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building. Look on their web site and study the rooms carefully before you select.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarolBinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews