We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic weekend but accommodating staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Milton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Hectic weekend but accommodating staff.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We arrived at Buttermilk falls during one of the snow storms we had this year. It was a very stressful and uneasy ride up during a storm.Upon our arrival we were greeted by Tony ,who was nothing more than accommodating throughout our entire stay. The inn is a very cozy,beautiful historic home that has beautiful decor and warm staff. During our visit we had treatments done at the spa. The spa manager Jenny went above and beyond for us because our nail technician could not make it in due to the snow, so Jenny also being a nail tech took it upon herself to do our manis and pedis for us. She made it very enjoyable and relaxing even though we could tell she had a lot going on at the spa due to other employees not being able to make it in due to the storm. We both had massages from Jean and Megan, those were also fantastic. The best we have ever had. The spa is nice space ,but the locker rooms needs a bit of improving ... Who builds a ladies locker room with one bathroom ? But if the locker room is my only complaint, that isn't to bad. I will definitely be returning to Buttermilk falls.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinkmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra L, Manager at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Wow! Your review made our day! Thank you so much for taking the time to tell the world about your experience here. We hoep to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    123
    41
    23
    12
See reviews for
70
303
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I just returned from a 2 1/2 day stay here with a girlfriend for a quick getaway from the New York City and returned feeling like I had been away for 2 weeks!!! It was simply wonderful!!! The Inn is located on 75 acres of beautiful land and has the most breathtaking views of the Hudson River. The innkeeper, Debbie, and innkeeper in training, Arlo, were great - very welcoming and informative. My room was cozy (had a perfect fireplace) and faced the Hudson River with a walkout French door and a spacious bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, freshly prepared each morning with several options to choose from. Great afternoon tea choices and freshly baked goodies! Also on site is a beautiful spa managed by Roberta who is so nice, so efficient and extremely accommodating. The spa has a pool, sauna, steam room and many choices of spa treatments - I had a wonderful Swedish Massage and facial with Jean who was just fantastic! Dinner at the Inn's restaurant, Henry's was just okay. Our best meal, however, was at The Artist's Palate in Poughkeepsie since Henry's was closed on Tuesday night. Also had a great lunch at The Raccoon Saloon in Marlborough just a short drive from the Inn. I cannot end this review without mentioning the magnificent farm on the property which houses llamas, alpacas and a family of donkeys - baby donkey Dolly was the highlight of the stay!! Thank you for a relaxing and magical stay only 1 1/2 hours away...EKB

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My friend Elizabeth were fortunate rot enjoy two nights at the Buttermilk Falls Inn. It was truly magical. The staff is truly top rate...from Deborah who enthusiastically welcomes you and manages the Inn, to Jeff the awesome chef...the Roberta who oversees the spa. They were amazing! And the rest of the staff...including a new employee Arlo were a treat to meet. We found a true gem just an hour and a half from NYC. We will definitely be back. We really enjoyed our rooms, the beauty of the inn and the surrounding land around it. We loved meeting and spending time with the new baby donkey Dollie too. We were there for two days and two nights but came back relaxed and refreshed like we had been away much longer and much further away. From NYC.

Room Tip: Sage right and left are great for two good friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We spent a long weekend here recently and it was pretty much everything we were looking for. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Our room was the Grand Laurel, in the main house, and it was tremendous. Bigger than some apartments I've lived in. Very tastefully done and homey, with a huge four-poster bed and a gas fireplace (I always hope for a real fireplace, but I guess that would be a bad idea at an inn).

Bathroom was also cute and quaint. There was a jacuzzi tub which we didn't get around to using, unfortunately. The shower was the smallest shower I'd ever seen! Which was so weird considering how oversized the bedroom was. That was a little silly - and maybe a shower caddy or something for storage would help in the future, guys.

So on to the food - there's afternoon tea every day and all kinds of tasty goodies. We had dinner at Henry's that was lovely, nice cocktails, food very fresh and creatively prepared. Portions a tad on the small side but we'd just had a massive blueberry crumble at tea, so we weren't starving or anything. We took dessert to go, borrowed some utensils and wine glasses from the inn, and had a nice bottle of wine in the room. Breakfast the next day was incredible - too many things to choose from, different entrees every day. Again, everyone was really helpful and accommodating and the room was bright and cozy.

We spent the day at the pool/sauna/steamroom which were all very petite, but since it wasn't crowded at all, it wasn't a problem. Swam a bit and then took nap overlooking the beautiful Hudson Valley while listening to some zen-like music. It was VERY relaxing. We had lunch by the pool which was not great and totally overpriced (something like $15 for a dry chicken sandwich with some greens). Hoping to get a glass of champagne or something, but they only sold by the bottle. So, not the full experience we were hoping for but still very nice.

Oh, and we spent some time visiting the animals and got to pet the baby donkey, who was going for a walk on the grounds with her handler. It was really cold out so we didn't walk around too much, but the grounds are really beautiful with lots of little nooks to hide out in for an afternoon. Next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in a room in the main house, facing the garden. There were French doors leading out to the garden, a fireplace in the room, and a comfortable queen size bed. In the bathroom, there was a jetted tub. Down the hallway, there was a quiet common living room. The grounds were great for walking, with views of the Hudson River and farm animals to see. We had access to the spa because we were guests of the inn. The spa is right on the grounds and has a small steam room and dry sauna and a pool with current that you can turn on or if if you want to swim. The were two locker rooms, his and hers, and each featured an amazing shower with multiple shower heads. I had a massage while I was there but unfortunately, it was not good. Back to the inn...they had an afternoon tea when we checked-in with fresh coffee, tea, and some baked goods. The breakfast in the morning was one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in out lives! There was a cook who came out to great us and take our order from the day's choices and cooked it up fresh, and there were fresh muffins, breads, oatmeal, and also fruit and cereal. Everyone who worked at the inn was friendly and accommodating. There is a restaurant on the grounds as well, Henry's, but we had reservations elsewhere so we did not get to try it, but definitely will next time. Overall, this place can be as friendly, romantic, quiet, relaxing, and delicious, and we will definitely go back. Be sure to sign up for emails, as they will send you special offers from time to time.

Room Tip: You can view pictures and descriptions of all the rooms online before you book. They vary, and are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I just returned to Manhattan from a one night stay at Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa and all I keep thinking is - I WISH I HAD BOOKED A LONGER STAY. My fiance and I were completely charmed and enchanted by this delightful and delicious establishment. We hopped Metro North at 125th Street for the beautiful 90 minute train ride to Poughkeepsie. Upon arrival (and after stopping off for a friendly nearby pub/sports bar "Mahoney's"), we hailed a cab outside the station for the 10 minute ride to the Inn. At check in, the staff greeted us warmly and told us we'd be staying in the main house in the Winterberry Room (Note: There are a 10 rooms in the main house, as well as, other suites in adjoining building and several private cottages on the property. We were given a thorough rundown of the amazing amenities available to us during our stay - their spa, gym, pool, sauna, steam room, Henry's Restaurant and their sunny breakfast room and their cozy living room area. We were also given a map detailing all the nooks and crannies of the property guests are fully welcome to explore - the falls, the duck pond (for which they provide you with bread for duck feeding, Millstone farm and garden (featuring sheep, llamas and an adorable baby donkey named Holly - who was raised by the staff and is more like a dog than a donkey and Aviary (featuring some beautiful chickens, roosters, ducks and peacocks. Afternoon tea was just finishing up when we showed up - coffee, tea, cheese, fruit and a homemade chocolate cake. Staff escorted us to our room and showed went through the details of how to work our enormous gas fireplace and flat screen TV (they rushed up to assist when we struggled to turn the TV on). If you stay in the main house, the Winterberry Room is the very best of the bunch I believe. In addition to the fireplace and flat screen, the room was spacious, with warm, wooden lodge-style and an antique furniture. It had gorgeous stone detailing, a rustic, exposed wooden beam and a modern bathroom with spa tub. Best of all - it had french doors that lead to a private balcony and sitting area overlooking the patio and pond. The staff was quick to lend us 2 wine glasses when we wanted to toast our R&R night away with some wine we brought from home. It was hard to pull ourselves away from that fireplace, but I'm glad we did, as dinner at Henry's was out of this world. Super friendly staff and superb farm to table food - we had the spinach salad, mussels, roasted quail on a bed of blue cheese bread pudding and duck confit risotto. And the eating didn't stop there. In the AM we indulged in a breakfast buffet that included yogurt, fruit, granola, bagels and lox, homemade carrot cake muffins and the most amazing baked berry oatmeal (when I praised the oatmeal to the waitress she returned with a copy of the recipe for me - compliments of the chef). There were also amazing breakfast specials - we shared the pancakes. Off the hook. After breakfast we packed and toured the property. We even got to pet Holly the donkey before departing. The staff called a cab for our ride back to the train station. We were incredibly sad to leave, but we're already planning a trip back in the Spring for a longer stay this time. Don't miss out on this gem of a place!

Room Tip: The Winterberry Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MARYMCVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was frankly shocked to see any negative reviews of Buttermilk given how totally wonderful the inn is. Every detail is beautiful and designed to help the guests relax and recharge. The staff at the front desk, the spa and the restaurant are warm, helpful and absolutely intent upon making your stay memorable. I have stayed at so many hotels that were ruined by their lack of attention to detail. The details are exactly what makes Buttermilk exceptionally good. The inn and it's drop dead gorgeous grounds and expansive Hudon River view are equally charming in summer and winter. An onside farm provides fresh ingredients for the breakfast and wine and cheese hour included innthe room price as well as for the dinner you can easily have at Henry's, the inn's lovely restaurant. The baked oatmeal with ginger sauce I had at breakfast during my December stay was one if the more delicious and festive dishes I have ever had. Fireplaces crackle in the common rooms and warm the guest rooms. The spa, featuring daily yoga class offered at no charge, is tranquil and the treatments are unbeatable. If you are looking fir quiet, comfortable beauty very close to the city, this is the place.

Room Tip: I haves stayed in two rooms innthe main house. Both were lovely. I would recommend Sage Left if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
13.1 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
952 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#2 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
417 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Property: Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Address: 220 North Rd, Milton, NY 12547-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, eco-friendly spa with pool, sauna and steam room. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttermilk Falls Inn And Spa
Buttermilk Falls Hotel Milton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing