We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing inn, can't wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Milton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Great place! Very picturesque and relaxing. Rooms include access to large indoor spa pool, sauna and steam room. Overlooks the Hudson River and has an onsite farm. Rooms have flat screen tvs and fireplaces. Rained the night we were there and still had a great time, only wish we could have stayed longer. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCTravellust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 513 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

We realy enjoyed the hospitality from all those that worked their. The breakfeast - you really look forward to. The spa is very much needed and well worth it - top rated. The grounds are both enjoyable as well as breath taking. All this and it rained the whole time. Looking forward to our next trip back.
Thanks
Mike & Karen

Room Tip: a room with a view !!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The Culinary Institute had no reservations and we heard that the restaurant at Buttermilk Falls Inn was excellent so we ate there and were blown away. We live in New York City and are accustomed to fine dining, but still we loved every morsel, the homemade infused alcohols, the extremely friendly service, and the ambiance. Not only was the restaurant excellent, but they also Valet your car and the facilities looked so nice we are planning a return to stay at the Hotel and eat there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank samoppenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights here over Memorial Day 2011 and were generally pleased with the experience. The grounds are beautiful and there are plenty of stunning views. We rented the North Cottage and I would caution folks to think about one of the other rooms or residences on the property. The North Cottage is located right on the river, which puts it right above a very active train track, and it is also right next the bird sanctuary, so light sleepers may have issues with the train activity and bird noise throughout the night. The staff was friendly and helpful and the cottage was nicely appointed. My biggest issue was the that the beautiful deck and grill area over looking the river were completely covered with droppings from overhanging trees to the point that the area was unusable for us. I mentioned this at checkout and was told that they had had a storm earlier in the week, which of course has nothing to do with why it wasn't cleaned up before our arrival or during out stay. The spa and pool looked great though we booked too late to take advantage of any spa services. I would also highly recommend avoiding the on-site restaurant Henry's Farm. It has only been open a couple of months and the food in no way keeps with the "farm to table" theme. The bottom line is that it just wasn't good, though this is not a big issue because I understand there are a number of nice restaurants in the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ny_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing weekend away within driving distance of Manhattan. Who would have believed that in just an hour and half we could find a country-side gem like this? The grounds are gorgeous, with stunning views of the Hudson Valley, various livestock and breathtaking falls. The spa was basic, but well-appointed and the services were good. The breakfasts, which included a buffet and a daily choice of two hot dishes (drawn largely from the home grown produce and eggs) were a delight. The staff was incredibly pleasant and resourceful. The on-site restaurant, Henry's, was not only convenient, but appeared to draw a large outside crowd, and the food was very good. They were particularly accommodating in meeting our special dietary restrictions. You could literally spend days here without leaving the property. However, doing so would deprive you of the wonderful hiking trails, wineries and quaint towns, all within a 15 minute drive. My only hesitation in recommending this place is that it will make it harder to get a reservation next time. Thank you Buttermilk!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lislb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2011

I was looking for an escape from reality and came upon this wonderful Inn and Spa. First, the inn was clean, cozy, and extremely welcoming. The rooms were beautiful and well equipped. You are free to hang out wherever you want. The sitting room is large and comfortable with a wonderful working fireplace. Stroll/hike the grounds and see sights such as the Buttermilk Falls that remind you that life is beautiful. The employees are friendly, hospitable and will do whatever it takes to help you rejuvenate. Henry's, the restaurant offered exquisite food and ambiance. The spa services were great as well. I left feeling more relaxed, happy, and nurtured than I had ever imagined.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thecuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This inn, in a small town in upstate NY, was absolutely wonderful....from the staff's helpfulness to the food to accomodations.....have only positive feedback. A real treasure get away. Next trip will be when the wineries are open and will take advantage of the warmer weather to explore the interesting trails.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jazzman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
13.1 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Thayer Hotel
The Thayer Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Point
990 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Inn And Spa At Beacon
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
Courtyard Poughkeepsie
#3 of 13 in Poughkeepsie
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa

Address: 220 North Rd, Milton, NY 12547-5506
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Price Range: $268 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 75 acres overlooking the Hudson River. Cascading waterfalls, swan ponds, organic gardens, fresh gourmet breakfasts, eco-friendly spa with pool, sauna and steam room. Rooms with private fireplaces, whirlpool tubs, and balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buttermilk Falls Hotel Milton
Buttermilk Falls Inn And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing