We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Innisfree Gardens

Innisfree Gardens
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Millbrook
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Private garden of 1930s heiress now open to public.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Tucked away just outside of Millbrook, reasonably priced, lovely Japanese Teacup Garden. We were fortunate to have a cool day to walk around the gardens and admire the landscaping. An excellent day out for the family,wear your walking shoes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gu1villagemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    28
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful garden Experience”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

An unusual and excellent garden - once private, now public. Well worth a visit. Lovely paths meander around a large lake with water lilies and lotus. Lots of stonework, some lovely surprises, a treat for an outdoor stroll on a nice day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank botanybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A $5 entrance fee gets you into the grounds of this beautiful private garden/park centered on a large pond with water sculptures surrounding it. Bring a picnic and enjoy the beauty and quiet.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Day Trip Worth it From North OR South !”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Our Garden Club from outside of Albany,NY took a drive down to the Garden. We arrived early and started the self guided tour. Everywhere you turn, there is a magical scene awaiting you. It is fashioned after the Asian Cup Style of a garden-almost a garden within a garden. Take the time and savor it all. If you plan to do the entire loop, take your time, wear good shoes and slowly let the scenery enchant you !!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacq047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A great day trip”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have passed the entrance to Innisfree for years and always wanted to go. So, we finally went and WOW!!! Complete hidden treasure right our backyard. This garden is amazing and covers dozens of acres of woodland forests, tea cup gardens, water features, and lovely places to just sit, read and relax. $5 fee to enter, per person, and you can walk the grounds all day. Now, we had a 2 year old and a stroller with us, so we actually only saw about a quarter of the gardens. I would recommend NOT bringing a stroller and being able to walk and hike this garden. This garden is also not recommendated for anyone who is in a wheelchair or scooter vehicle.

No ammenities except portable toilets (no water sales, snacks for purchase, soda machine, etc. Bring your own and there is a picnic area).

We bumped into a friend who was walking the garden as a potential place for her engagement pictures...she certainly found an ideal spot!

Bring your camera and enjoy the walk. I can't wait to return in fall for leaf peeping.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Solas16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Innisfree Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Innisfree Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing