We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific place”
Review of The Millbrook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Millbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Millbrook Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Millbrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great for a quick weekend getaway. Beautifully appointed b&b with spacious guest rooms, a living room with a roaring fire in the winter and a terrific magazine selection, and one of the best hotel/b&b breakfasts I've had. Think freshly baked popovers, thick-cut bacon, fresh-fruit, etc. Don was around to answer any and all questions. A bit pricey but would recommend this place without hesitation to friends and family.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julesbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

I travel ALOT, and the Millbrook Inn--located in the bucolic fields of horse-country
Dutchess County, New York--was a revelation. This is truly most perfect B&B one could hope for.
Although it's been open for 2 years, the rooms are as impeccable and perfect as they must have
been on opening day. Everything at the Inn is spotless and perfectly-designed and smoothly-run.
Don's breakfasts are exquisite. Here's a place for tranquility and relaxation: the rooms have no TVs or phones... for entertainment one can retreat to one of several comfortable common rooms.
Although the Inn seems to be in the middle of nowhere, the Village of Millbrook, with its good
restaurants, is only a 15 minute drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Millbrook Inn while attending my reunion at nearby Millbrook School. Having stayed at a number of local B&B's and inns over the years the Millbrook Inn is clearly at the head of the pack. Don Sisemore, the inn keeper, is friendly and focused on visitor comfort. The inn itself, on the site of the old Greer School, is lovely with terrific decorations an comfortable beds. Breakfast is a feast in itself with Don's frittatas and local eggs and bacon (I'd never had duck eggs). We'll definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinghamJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a great time at Millbrook Inn. Rooms are newly renovated, very clean, well appointed and quiet. Don the owner is fabulous, very friendly, giving us great advice for dinner plans and things to do nearby (i.e. day trip to Hudson was a hit). We did a 2 day shooting excursion at Orvis Sandanona nearby and this is a great place to stay for either shooting or fishing school.

Room Tip: Gilroy room is at the end of the hall by itself, so very little noise from neighbors and gets more l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreanJellybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Millbrook Inn is a beautiful experience with lovely rooms, quiet surroundings, and a great host. We have been guests twice, and we look forward to coming back. The sitting room is huge! Books, books, books everywhere.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong - pick any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We spent a night at the beautiful Millbrook Inn recently and found the property to be absolutely lovely. The rooms are well appointed with beautiful furnishings. Don, the owner/host, has taken the time to also consider the fine details of his guests' comfort too. The rooms are stocked with a great choice of books, the bathroom floors are heated, the beds are loaded with great pillows. Breakfast was a gourmet feast. We have stayed at several properties in the area over the past 3 years, and found the Millbrook Inn leaps and bounds above the other area choices.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

If you want to escape from daily routine and spent your weekend in silence, great hospitality and relax, then this is the right place to go. Inside you will find a library near the fireplace, you can enjoy reading the books/magazines sitting by fireplace or simply watching some old good movies on the big screen in the lobby, while drinking wine. By the way visit some winery or Vineyards - there are several of them around. We bought some sort of localy produced wine at Millbrook Vineyards & Winery and enjoyed it during our stay. Don was glad to serve us with nice glases. Sure we will come back. Moreover - breakfasts prepared in this hotel just amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vladimir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Millbrook
20.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
16.7 mi away
Homestead Inn
Homestead Inn
#1 of 3 in New Milford
109 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn & Suites At The Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Millbrook Country House
Millbrook Country House
#4 of 4 in Millbrook
28 reviews
15.6 mi away
Buttermilk Falls Inn & Spa
14.8 mi away
Journey Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millbrook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millbrook Inn

Address: 3 Gifford Rd, Millbrook, NY 12545-6438
Location: United States > New York > Millbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Millbrook
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A specialty luxury inn located minutes from the Village of Millbrook, offering the elegance and furnishings found in the finest hotels along with the intimacy and comfort of a smaller lodging facility. Convenient to The Millbrook School, Millbrook Winery, Innisfree Garden and Orvis Sandanona. Spacious rooms with king and queen size beds and radiant heated bathroom floors. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing