We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing stay at an already overpriced hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointing stay at an already overpriced hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2010

You have to know upfront that hotels in the Cooperstown area drawn the vast majority of their income from May through October, thus the prices they charge are outrageous, which leaves you no choice if you want to spend a few days up by the baseball hall of fame.

The door to our room would not close. You could slam it has hard as you want but with a nudge of a shoulder open it again with ease. We found this out after already having unpacked all of our belongings as well as those of our three kids (12,10,6). So we basically hid all of our valuables and banked on the fact that no one would possibly think to try to intrude. We were too tired to ask for another room, so we lived with it. STRIKE ONE

Our kids were too tired to drive to Oneonta for fireworks so we stayed in our room to watch fireworks on TV (Macy's fireworks). The TV reception was deplorable and as much as I tried to fix the wire in the back nothing worked. So we were left trying to entertain three kids for a few hours till they konked out with no TV to rely on.

On the positive side, the breakfast was very good. Bagels, cereal and yogurt. Nothing heavy but substantial enough to tide the kids over till lunch.

Let caution be your guide if you want to stay here. I'm sure my room is the exception to what happens, but no room in this place is worth $233, no matter when, except for perhaps Induction Weekend..

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    56
    30
    18
See reviews for
120
51
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

Stayed at this hotel with my husband & 2 teenage daughters. My son was playing at Cooperstown Dreams Park. This was very convenient. It is just next door the the ballpark. Overall an average hotel. Not bad. Not great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dabsmaerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel was very inviting and close to everything that we wanted to do and see! Everything was clean. The breakfast had a great selection and was well stocked. I will defintly stay in this hotel again!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weelittlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Stayed here 1 night for a trip to the Baseball HOF the week of 4/12/10. Since there were about 15 people staying there we were upgraded to a room with two queens and a pullout sofa with microwave and refrigerator. The comfort of the beds was nothing to write home about, but I could sleep on a concrete floor so they worked for me, and were okay for my father. The fitness center was pretty lame with 1 treadmill, a semi-broken recumbent bike and 1 of those universal weight machines. It's about 6 miles from the HOF and about 3 miles from a little shopping center with a grocery store, liquor store and McDonald's. The best experience was the continental breakfast. They had all the standards: bagels/pastries/cereal/coffee. But I was very impressed with the Jimmy Dean sausage breakfast sandwiches fruit, and selection of juices. I would stress the fact that I went here at a very slow time for Cooperstown which I'm sure helped with the room upgrade, room price and the awesome breakfast spread.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrentKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed here for one night while visiting family in the area. We were upgraded to an executive suite. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean. Would stay here again with no hesitation.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank oceanbreeze843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

The place itself is new and nice, but the owner and staff are most exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nohasslesplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

We reserved a king room but were given a double queen, which was corrected right away. Location was convenient as a base for sightseeing, and the price was good for off-season. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. The bed is firm but we like it that way, and extra pillows were in the dresser drawers. We didn't eat breakfast there but it seemed limited, perhaps because the hotel wasn't busy. Low water pressure in shower. There was a "safe charge" of $1.50 per night, but when you make the reservation it says on the web site that there may be such a charge (as well as other local fees), so it wasn't a surprise. We didn't use the pool but my husband used the exercise center and liked it. A grocery and a convenience store are nearby.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank IGAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cooperstown
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cooperstown Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Lake Front Hotel
Lake Front Hotel
#7 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
The Lake House
The Lake House
#2 of 4 in Richfield Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Carpet Inn & Suites Leatherstocking Lodge
11.7 mi away
Bayside Inn & Marina
Bayside Inn & Marina
#5 of 16 in Cooperstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark

Property: Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark
Address: 4470 State Highway 28, Milford, NY 13807-1145 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Cooperstown)
Location: United States > New York > Milford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Cooperstown Inn & Suites at the Ballpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inns And Suites Cooperstown
Country Inns & Suites Cooperstown Hotel Milford
Howard Johnson Hartwick
Howard Johnson Cooperstown
Cooperstown Howard Johnson
Hartwick Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing