We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stay here at least twice year.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Middletown
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We have family in the area and we have stayed at this hotel since it opened at least twice a year. It is our choice for the area. We are always treated well and this past trip was the same. The front desk staff are helpful and get us in and out quickly. Because we are hilton honor members, they gave us a slightly larger room which was nice and helpful with two kids. We love their lobby area and find it comfortable to just hang out in. I even wrapped some presents down there when I needed a larger table. The staff were helpful by providing me scissors. The rooms are well kept and we enjoy the breakfast. I agree with another reviewer - their breakfast is usually above other Hampton Inns. We stay at Hamptons a lot and this one usually has a great variety of danish, bagels and donuts. My kids love their sprinkle donuts! The location is also great - easy to get on the highway. The mall is right around the corner and there are several restaurants within walking distance. We had a great stay and will probably be back again next summer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMR96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2012

We certainly appreciate your review. I too am a sucker for our sprinkle donuts! We're looking forward to seeing you again this summer. I'm sure the kids love the pool. There's nothing better in the summer than sitting out at the pool and ordering pizza to be delivered POOL SIDE! By the way, I'm guessing the present you were wrapping for me got lost on your way home. Oh well. We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 657 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed at this property on two different occasions on a recent trip from Maine to South Carolina and return. We've also stayed here in the past because of the advantages this property offers to travelers to and from New England: very easy, convenient on-off access to and from I-84; several restaurants in immediate proximity to the hotel; friendliness of staff; and, if wanted, easy access to a major shopping mall nearby.
The following restaurants are within easy walking distance of the hotel: Outback Steak House, T.G.I. Friday's, Chili's, and a local place called the Blue Martini.
Check-in and check-out were extremely efficient, but still friendly. Check-in took less than three minutes start-to-finish and check-out took less than a minute. And with their fresh-baked cookies (if you get there before they're all gone) and always-ready coffee/tea available in the lobby, there's no need to spend big bucks for a restaurant dessert.
Both our stays were quiet and enjoyable. We were a bit concerned when we arrived for our southbound stay because much of the parking lot was occupied by utility repair trucks. It turned out they belonged to several crews helping restore power, phones and cable television to parts of Connecticut following a freak heavy Fall snowstorm. But we never heard any unusual noises at any time during our stay, despite the fact that we looked out the window just before sun-up and saw a convoy of several dozen trucks from our hotel (and two others nearby) forming up in a convoy to hit the road. If we hadn't seen their vehicles, we never would have know the repair crews were there during our stay.
We use Hampton Inns frequently and have historically found the breakfast at this property to be somewhat above the average Hampton offering. However, for whatever reason, on our southbound stay this time, their breakfast seemed adequate but not up to our past experiences ....the hot oatmeal container obviously hadn't been attended to in a while, there were several un-wiped tables in the breakfast area, the breakfast area attendant wasn't as visible as usual etc. We noted those items when we received the usual guest survey e-mail from Hampton following our stay and almost immediately received a separate e-mail from the hotel manager acknowledging our concerns. Our feelings that those issues were the exception, rather than the rule for this property were confirmed on our return trip north, when the breakfast area was clean and well-taken-care-of, with an attendant who was obviously ready and anxious to help guests with their breakfast choices. In addition to the usual Hampton offerings of cold and hot cereal, fresh fruit, juice/coffee/tea/hot chocolate, and the Hampton hot-breakfast-of-the-day, we find this hotel traditionally offers outstanding bagels and breakfast pastries.
This Hampton has become our "go to" lodging choice on road trips to destinations south and west of New England and will be our first choice for bookings on our next trip through the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MainerOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

It's great to see we are still your hotel of choice! Thank you for the feedback. As you can tell, we take our guests' comments seriously and work to make improvements from them. I hope to see you the next time you're in town. Feel free to contact me personally for your reservation. All the best until we meet again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This is the nicest Hampton Inn that I've stayed in. It has a very "lodge" feel to it and is very quaint. The staff is exceptionally friendly. We asked for restaurant recommendation and were given coupons to several local restaurants. There were several restaurants within walking distance, including Chili's, Outback, and Blue Martini. We had a business dinner at Blue Martini and it was excellent. This was a very nice area and nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelli02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2011

Thank you for rating us the NICEST HAMPTON you've stayed in. It was a delight to read how exceptionally friendly you rated our staff. We appreciate the time you took to post your recommendation. I will share these comments with our staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We had an unexpected freaky snowstorm in October that left us without heat and electric. As a Hilton Diamond member we chose this Hampton Inn 5 miles from home. There were a number of locals who had the same idea. The hotel was completely booked Our stay was for 3 nights . At no time was the staff overwhelmed and at no time were we treated in any way but courteously.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

First off, we hope you are enjoying your heat and electricity now that power has been restored. It truly was a freaky storm. We were happy to be everyone's home away from home for a few days even though it was under unfortunate circumstances. Thank you for your feedback and your kind review. Our staff really appreciate the comments left from our guests. Please come back to visit us periodically and join us for breakfast. As you know, it's on the house!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We needed to stay here when we lost electricity in our house. This is a solid three to three and a half star hotel. The bathroom and bedroom were clean and well appointed. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Great- comfortable mattress, down pillows, free breakfast with make your own waffles etc. Lots of towels in the bathroom, temperature control.
Not so great- the heater/air conditioner unit under the window is a steady loud hum, we ended up shutting it just to stop the noise. The shower does not have a hand held head. Also, I hate down pillows.
If the not so great items were corrected, I would give it 4 stars. If they had a bar in the lobby and let's think big here, a beach, I would give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robandlil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. We were happy to be your home away from home following the storm. Just a quick update on one of your Not-so-greats...Our rooms are now equiped with a mixture of feather and foam pillows. There shold always be an even mix within Hampton Inn guest rooms, so I apologize that this was not the case for your stay. We certainly hope that the Great experiences you listed would be enough for us to welcome you back for your next visit. Again, thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We were actually just passing thru town, looking for a place to sleep. Found this hotel and were very pleasently surprised. Very nice rooms, fluffy duvet, great lobby, wonderful atmosphere. Service was friendly and welcoming. Ah, and a really really good breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBeNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Isn't it great when you get something special in a place you least expect it? Our staff was so happy to learn of the pleasant impact they had on your trip. We hope you come back to see us again. For your next visit be sure to contact us ahead of time to ensure we have availability. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

This new property is new and clustered with a number of other new hotels and restaurants such as Outback at an exit from I-84. The lobby had a comfortable feel to it, a bit different that many Hamptons, but in a good way ... it reminded me of the lobby of an upscale fishing resort.

We had a quick, businesslike check-in, and the innkeeper had our reservation, and the room key already prepared.

The only negative on this stay: our first floor room backed up to wall of the fitness center containing a large flat-panel TV. Someone was running on the treadmill late afternoon and early evening, and we could hear the TV. We were still awake, and it was not a big issue.

However, the gym TV was left on all night, and the garbled sound reverberated through the room all night; I nearly got up, went down the hall, and into the gym to turn it off, but I was just too tired to do so. Therefore, sleep quality was terrible. And a good night of sleep is the prime service that a hotel should provide. If you stay here, avoid that room!

We skipped the free breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripAmericans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLTNY, General Manager at Hampton Inn Middletown, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The staff was appreciative of the kind words. I was disappointed to hear of the TV noise from the fitness center. Following your comments, we've made this a routine item for our night staff to check. Should you ever experience anthing like this again here or at any other Hampton Inn, please notify the Front Desk and we will take care of your concerns immediately. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
#3 of 9 in Middletown
287 reviews
1.1 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#6 of 9 in Middletown
182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Middletown
25 reviews
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Middletown

Address: 20 Crystal Run Xing, Middletown, NY 10941-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $104 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing