We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Um. Kind of icky.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Middletown
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Um. Kind of icky.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was mildewey and damp smelling. There was a hallway vent outside of our room that seemed to be pumping air from a smoking area. Beds were saggy, carpet damp. Indoor pool has a carpet around deck. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pearlie_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Middletown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear pearlie_one,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    58
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
56
39
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a week for work in the area and did not mind the older feel of the property, as the staff and the service made up for it. The rooms are the most dated part of this hotel, the bedding is a older as is the furniture in the rooms.

The hotel has really good rates though, so if you are on a budget and you want good service I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had no idea what to expect from this hotel, had never stayed there before, booked via Priceline. Check-in was quick and easy, room itself was nice. 1 King Bed, nice linens, lots of pillows (marked firm vs. soft with tags), updated bathroom. Heater/AC in the room was on the loud side, but that's about par for the course for that type of in-room climate control. Room had a fridge, and a microwave, which were useful and appreciated. Check-out was super-easy. The "restaurant" for the hotel was small. The staff were nice enough, but we probably won't dine there again, we'll probably seek out an actual restaurant. The food was decent and the prices were okay, it just didn't have the atmosphere we'd have expected for a restaurant. Parking was free and simple; the hotel has multiple access doors at the ends of the hallways.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CastaLusoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We came back. The room was 2 queens, and very comfortable. All required amenities available. Rooms and hotel very clear and hospitable. My only issue was breakfast at restaurant. Food was good but service not so great. They gave us table that was literally on its last leg. Would not stay still and was slanted. Felt like I was on a San Francisco hill. Anyway overall the hotel did meet all my expectations as for the room, amenities and the convenient location,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

It was a generally clean hotel. The indoor pool had nice warm water. The room was missing the TV remote and there was no do not disturb sign. We ate breakfast at their in hotel resturant which was overpriced. Overall i would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kafrederick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

On Saturday October 27 I stayed in the hotel. I asked if the room was noisey as I was concerned about the hiway. I was told no. Well everyting from the air conditioner to the fridge made nose. Couldn't hear the hiway from all the clicks and other such sounds the rooms amenities made. This was the worst night I ever spent in a hotel. Ironically I stayed in a Hilton Garden Inn the next night and had a great night's sleep as everything in the hotel did not make a sound but there was a hum from the freeway. I think the Holiday Inn needs more maintenance personnel to deal with the aging equipment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerthebear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

After driving the entire day in heavy rain and traffic from Maine, just couldn't go any farther. Did a quick check on trip advisor and decided on trying this Holiday Inn. Assistant manager graciously honored the coupon we had and actually asked us about our room preference. I mention this because in the past, when we have inquired about room availability and mention we have a discount card other than the chain's own, we've either been told that nothing is available for that promotion or we have been assigned to a undesirable room they have a hard time filling. The front desk here was not only pleasant about it but also put us in a very nice room. It was immaculate, spacious with a desk, table, arm chairs, frig and very comfortable beds with pristine linens. Hence,the very pleasantly surprised comment. My only regret is that we had to leave early Saturday morning and couldn't enjoy our room longer. I wish I could remember the names of the front desk staff so I could thank them again, but whoever was on duty the 3-11 shift on Friday Sept. 29 - great job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Middletown
1.3 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
7.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Middletown

Property: Holiday Inn Middletown
Address: 68 Crystal Run Road, Middletown, NY 10941-7100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Middletown & Goshen have to offer at the convenient comfortable Holiday Inn, Middletown NY. You are at the heart of everything with shopping, dining and entertainment options nearby. You are within a short drive of Woodbury Commons Outlets, West Point Military Academy, Orange County Choppers & the Catskill Mountains.Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 15 miles from Stewart Airport (SWF) you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Middletown, NY to do. And there is easy access to Route 17, & Interstates 84 & 87.Whether you re coming to Middletown for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Middletown is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. All rooms also feature Refrigerators, Microwaves and personal in room safes. You can take a swim in our indoor & outdoor pools. Enjoy a workout in our Fitness. Relax with a cool one at the Crystal Run Bar & Grill. And when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at The Bavarian Garden. Start your day off in the morning with our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast. The best of Middletown is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Middletown-Goshen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing