We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were not clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Middletown
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Reviewed May 26, 2011

I've stayed in many Holiday Inn hotels and hence expected the same quality at this 3 star hotel. However, to my unfortunate dismay, we had smoking rooms so the smelled gave me nausea. It was fully booked so we didn't ask to change the rooms because we wouldn't have any. I don't know how all the hotels and rooms can be fully booked. If demand was so high, we would expect to see more hotels and accommodations around Woodbury Premium outlets - that's why we were there. By the way, it is a 20 minute drive from this Holiday Inn to the outlet mall.

The floors had gum and black stains, and even some burnt marks from cigarettes I believe. The toilet was old, and cracked at some places too. I won't be so unforgiving if it was clean, but as it was not clean it made the stay rather uncomfortable. The price was not cheap too for a considerably outskirt place, but there was Outback Steakhouse, Chili's and T.G.I.F nearby.

We did not use any of the facilities in the hotel. Though they provided free wi-fi services, it couldn't work and the staff did not help or were not able to help. Breakfast was a buffet style but the milk for cereal was never refilled, and there is not much of a selection. My experience at Holiday Inn Express was better.

Room Tip: Marriotte Inn is nearby and is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lil_cat_meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 184 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

Very clean (biggest plus for me). Nothing fancy, but very comfortable. The bed was soft and clean. I slept very well. The hotel has a nice workout room with some machines. Indoor pool and outdoor pool, too. Complimentary, made-to-order breakfast. Parking was not bad at all. Free internet (also a big plus for me)! There are some restaurants (Chili's was one) across the street and a shopping center about 10 mins away with more restaurants (Red Lobster and Chinese place). Would definitely recommend and stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vamos2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

On another quick trip to the area to visit family, we stayed at this hotel after getting a deal through a discount website, although I still think the hotel room prices in the Middletown area are quite high. The two-story hotel looks kind of dated from the outside, despite the modern Holiday Inn sign off the road. We had some technical difficulties getting into the back door using our key card, which gave us a laugh. The hallways and common areas are decent, but maybe need a little sprucing up. Our room was a nice size, but the bathroom was very small. The toilet was one of the mini varieties and might not fit everyone. We were given complimentary breakfast passes, but we weren't able to use them. We didn't order any, but the pay-per-view movies were very expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StickerShock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We had a nice overnight experience at this property. The front desk staff is very helpful. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. The downside is the hotel shows its age a bit compared to other newer properties like the Courtyard down the road. The bathrooms are small and feel quite cramped. The heating system is a little difficult to control. And noise from the hall can be a bit loud as people make their way down the hall. It is a good choice depending on price, but probably not my first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCandworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Arriving during peak traffic time this hotel was hard to get into, but once there it was a nice stop. Our room was large and nicely furnished. It was also clean and very quiet. The high speed internet was indeed high speed. My only concern for this hotel is the lack of nearby services. Finding gas was a major hassle as the only two local stations were in the process of being demolished.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We were on our way to visit the original Woodstock site in Bethel, New York. We made a reservation at the Holiday Inn in Middlletown, New York. The hotel was in a perfect location right off the interstate. The room was clean and bright with a comfortable king size bed. The room also included a microwave, refrigerator and even a room safe. The bathroom was clean and spacious and was stocked with all the basic amenities. The hotel has a beautiful outdoor pool set among trees with plenty of comfortable seating. They have a great Bavarian restaurant and lounge with "opem mike"nights.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msm2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

A group of us stayed here because we were in the area for my Aunt's memorial services. I wasnt expecting too much when I opened the door to our room, since the hallways seemed a little dated. I was pleasantly surprised..it was like walking into an oasis. The bedding was beautiful and the beds were some of the most comfortable I had slept on. The bathrooms were very clean and bright. The rooms were spacious and they had a microwave and a fridge..which was a plus. The highlight was Carol, who worked the hotel bar. She was engaging and had a fantastic personality. If I am ever in the area again, i would stay there just to hang at their bar! The breakfast included was good, tho the service in the restaurant was slow, they need more staff. All in all, a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
#3 of 9 in Middletown
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#2 of 9 in Middletown
672 reviews
1.3 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Middletown
31 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Middletown

Address: 68 Crystal Run Road, Middletown, NY 10941-7100
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $105 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Middletown & Goshen have to offer at the convenient comfortable Holiday Inn, Middletown NY. You are at the heart of everything with shopping, dining and entertainment options nearby. You are within a short drive of Woodbury Commons Outlets, West Point Military Academy, Orange County Choppers & the Catskill Mountains.Getting there has to be fast and convenient too. Only 15 miles from Stewart Airport (SWF) you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Middletown, NY to do. And there is easy access to Route 17, & Interstates 84 & 87.Whether you re coming to Middletown for business or just for fun your room at the Holiday Inn Middletown is your personal retreat. You ll have room to work, relax, and make the most of your day. Amenities such as high speed internet, work center, plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. All rooms also feature Refrigerators, Microwaves and personal in room safes. You can take a swim in our indoor & outdoor pools. Enjoy a workout in our Fitness. Relax with a cool one at the Crystal Run Bar & Grill. And when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at The Bavarian Garden. Start your day off in the morning with our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast. The best of Middletown is waiting for you at the Holiday Inn Middletown-Goshen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing