We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Middletown
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This is a very nice courtyard. The service was good. The room was clean as expected. The hotel was conveniently located. No surprises at all - nice, reliable hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCandworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 287 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2010

My family stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Middletown NY the night before attending a Football game at West Point NY.

We had our teenage boys with us so we booked a King Suite room to give us more room to stretch out and better sleeping options for our 2 boys, ages 19 and 15.

Check in was easy, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
We requested a cot in our room and one was provided quickly and free of charge. The room was perfect for us and and came with 2 Tv's. One in the bedroom and one in the living room area. The staff informed me that the rooms will be having makeovers in the next few months, although I found them great as they are now. They will be upgrading to flat screen TV's when the room renovations are completed.

The hotel lobby has recently undergone renovations and it is welcoming and clean. There is a small bar in the lobby and a sandwich/snack counter available to you if you don't want to leave the hotel to eat. Guest internet services are available here and a cozy sitting area complete with a fireplace.

There are several restaurants right outside of the hotel within easy walking distance. Outback, Chili's etc. It is a well lit, safe area so walking to them is not an issue.

The indoor pool and hot tub are a nice size although the pool did seem to have an a lot of chemicals in it, but my son enjoyed being able to swim in November. Towels were readily avaiable and it was a well maintained area.

If you are booking a room here to go to West Point or the Shopping Outlets there is a drive to get to them. West Point is about 30 miles away, but it is an easy drive and would not discourage me from staying at this hotel again if I was attending another event there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

First of all ... If you are staying here because you are visiting the Woodbury Outlets, know that this is not close at all to the outlet mall. I guess because of the remote area that the mall is in, you don't have many options if you are looking for a chain hotel. However, many sources would lead you to believe that you are right down the road from the mall. However, you are actually 15 miles or around 30 minutes away on the highway from the mall. This is pretty much the case with any chain hotel but it is kind of annoying that the mall recommends this as an 'area' accomodation' when it is not really in the general area.

Second ... the Shop and Save package is a total rip off!!! The average rate on this hotel is about $159 - $179. Which in itself is a bit of a rip off compared to other hotels in the area. You could probably stay at a Holiday Inn Express that is just as nice for around $139 - $159. It is fairly interesting that the hotel rates are even that high as there really is not much at all around this area. It is pretty much one of those small towns right off the highay type of deals. In a similar location in North Carolina, this would probably be a $95 - $129 hotel. That being said, if you add the Shop and Save package, which gives you 2 - $25 gift cards to the outlet mall and a $10 Applebees gift card and 2 Coupon Books ... its a pretty big rip off.

You can buy the coupon books at the outlet mall for around $10 each. However, one coupon book is really all you'd need ... if that ... because most of the coupon books only offer 'Spend $150 and get 10% off.' or 'Not valid on sale merchandise'. For example, the Hugo Boss outlet will offer you 10% off your purchase, not valid on sale items.' But EVERYTHING in the store is on sale except for maybe 1 or 2 high ticket items. So, basically the coupon is useless. The Polo coupon is for $25 off a $250 purchase ... so unless you plan on buying $250 worth of clothes, again ... useless. The whole coupon book is like that. I'd recommend buying one at the mall when you can see the offers if you plan to spend a lot of money at a lot of stores.

Also, the Shop and Save package rate was $235 ... the regular rate was $160. So basically, you are paying $77 extra for $50 worth of gift cards, $10 at Applebees and two worthless coupon books. Not to mention the incredible taxes they charge on the hotel room (state, city, county, tourist, etc.) and the purchases at the outlet mall. They add an additional tax on top of the 8.5% NY Sales tax for a county tax, so you are paying almost 12% - 16% in taxes. And then NY tacks on an additional excise tax for items that you buy over $100. So you could be paying $75+ in taxes when buying $500 worth of clothing.

The hotel itself is pretty typical of a Courtyard. Hopefully there are no babies next door, loud teenagers or people getting intimate because you will hear it through the wall. Obviously, a lot of money was put into the re-do of the lobby. Overall though, this hotel is overpriced for the ammenities and location.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovinHotelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My fiance and I recently stayed at this hotel for his family's annual reunion. We typically stay across the street at the Hampton Inn and the only reason we booked at the Courtyard is because the Hampton Inn was sold out. Boy am I glad we stayed here because we are now complete converts and will henceforth stay here rather than at the Hampton. It is about $10 more expensive but definitely worth it. It seems tons newer, is cleaner and overall more spacious and modern. I used their gym which was small but nice, with all the basic equipment (2 treadmills, weights, elliptical machine etc). They also have an indoor pool though I didn't use it. The breakfast area was spacious, food looked good though we didn't partake as we ate at our family's house. We will always stay here whenever we visit again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This was the second time that I stayed at Courtyard Middletown. Although the hotel is under construction, the stay was pleasant. Around the hotel there are nice restaurants, in addition the hotel service is good.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuviBlumenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this hotel en route to the Northeast Astronomy Forum. We stayed in a room with a king-sized bed, and it was quite roomy. The desk had a pull-out component so the room would be great for business travelers who need to spread out their paperwork and computer. The room was very clean, and the bed was comfy. The only downside was that the TV was viewable from the sofa that was in the room and not from the bed. Not a big deal for me personally.

After arriving at the hotel, we went in search of something for dinner. There are several restaurants in walking distance of the hotel (namely TGI Fridays, Chilis and Outback Steakhouse). We ate at TGI Fridays -- note that on Friday/Saturday nights these restaurants are very crowded, so you should get there early or consider other alternatives.

The only problem we experienced was some noisy guests around 10-11 p.m. There were several college sports teams staying at the hotel, and I think they were the guilty parties. Fortunately they quieted down.

Breakfast at the hotel was quite good, with a choice of full buffet, continental buffet or select entrees. All in all, a very nice place to stay, and would do so again when near Middletown.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_from_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

My husband and I just went for a weekend getaway, the staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk provided us with directions for local resturants and stores, we were greeted with a smile and a hello anytime we walked in and out of the hotel, and by the staff in the halls. Our room was spotless, nothing was out of place, very clean. I am very particular about the cleanliness of hotel bathrooms and that too was spotless.We definately will stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilypad36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 9 in Middletown
657 reviews
1.1 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#6 of 9 in Middletown
182 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Middletown
25 reviews
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Middletown

Address: 24 Crystal Run Xing, Middletown, NY 10941-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $129 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Middletown offers everything you need for a successful hotel stay in the Goshen, NY area. Modern, spacious rooms and suites include amenities like free Wi-Fi and comfortable, well-lit work areas; additional perks like a microwave and refrigerator in every room provide flexibility and convenience for your Middletown visit. Start your morning with a healthy breakfast and a cup of Starbucks® coffee at our onsite restaurant, The Bistro. Our hotel offers meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as affordable group room packages. And our Middletown location puts the attractions and local businesses of Goshen and the rest of New York's Hudson Valley region right at your doorstep. Trips to Newburgh wine country or Woodbury Commons our convenient from our hotel. And let's not forget our friendly, welcoming staff, who have helped our hotel earn TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Refresh your routine here in style here at the Courtyard Middletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Marriott
Middletown Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing