We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Middletown
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2007

If you're on your way to the Catskills, this is the place to stay enoute. Located right at the junction of I-84 and Route 17 this is a wonderful property. Restaurants located within walking distance. Friendly staff and big, newly decorated rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CTYankee06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 296 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2007

We just returned from 2 nights at this Marriott in Orange County, NY. We chose this hotel as it was the "host hotel" for a wedding. There were actually two hotels which the bridal party chose. The other was the Hampton Inn which they said was nearby. Actually the Hampton basically shares the same parking lot. But, as a Marriott Rewards Member we chose the Marriott.

The quality of the room was up to Courtyard standards. The room was clean and the temperature fine. Luckily the King size bed was on the other side of the room from the air conditioning which meant no drafts. The lighting was not great for reading in bed - that's a problem in most hotels now. There is a coffee maker, small refrigerator and microwave in every room.

The hotel has a small pool (60 feet long at most) and a whirlpool. Also exercise room. The lobby is huge with two free Internet access PCs and lots of reading material. There is also a bar which is open in evenings - but not very busy. There are complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby (though there are coffee pots in every guest room) and free cookies in afternoon. Otherwise just a few snacks for sale. The rest of the "lobby" is the "Breakfast area" and this is part of the weakness here and reason for my downgrading my rating. It is open only from about 7-10 am. But it is breakfast buffet which costs $9.995 per person. I asked if I could buy just a bagel and the woman said it was "about $2.95". Meanwhile, all the guests at the Hampton (which was somewhat cheaper) had a FULL breakfast buffet included in their room rate! (The Hampton has a nice outside pool too; but not an inside one or exercise room like the Courtyard). So this made it impractical unless we want to pay a lot for breakfast. As it was, we ended up driving to the next exit (2 miles- Exit 120 on Route 17) for breakfast at McDonalds' or Friendly's. or some other options). Even waiting until lunch, there was a TGIFriday's and a Chilli's across the parking lot but thaey don't open until 11:30am.

Personally, I think folks expect at least Continental Breakfast at most mid-price hotels. Especially when there are no other options within walking distance. I think the Marriott would score a 5 star rating here if they offered it as part of the room rate. So, if you are planning to use the Courtyard by Marriott (versus the Hampton Inn - which is owned by same franchise operator there) I'd stop and bring in some food and hake breakfast in your room. The $9.95 buffet just isn't worth it. On Saturday morning I only saw 2 people eating it., though on Sunday it seemed busier.

Also, if you are heading west on Rt 17 and arrive at hotel, know that there are many dining options as well as a huge Shopping Mall (indoor) and other shopping centers just 2 miles away at exit 120 (Marriott is at 122).

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SteveinPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

This hotel is one of the nicest place to stay the staff was very helpful and friendly the housekeepers doin there job cleaning the romm was very pleasant and clean rooms and the hole hotle is is in good shape. I felt very relaxed and peaceful stay at this hotel. I,ll come back again and the price,s for the rooms is average but it is worth the stay.

Stayed: April 2007
2  Thank sabrina41978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2007

Stayed here for three nights and booked into one of the spa rooms which was really nice and a good price.
Was quite surprised when our room was only cleaned once during the whole stay! Had to ask for more towels and loo paper and although they cleaned it on the day we complain, it was certainly not the service i'd come to expect from a Marriott hotel. To top it all, on the last morning, they were hounding us to get out of the room and where generally rude when challenged.
In summary, nice place and cheap rate but v.poor service and poor customer relations skills so not really worth the effort of staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HRHBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Easy check in and nice, clean room with loveseat, king bed, desk and refrigerator. AAA rate of $98 on a saturday night. Usual hearing of door slamming and people walking in the hall, but very dark curtains enabled us to sleep in. Nice large counter in the bathroom. Cleaner than most chain hotels.

We were on our way home from Maine and this was a great option for an overnight stay. Not many choices for breakfast in the area though, so keep that in mind.

This was our first stay at a Courtyard and I'll stay with them again due to this favorable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Richelleh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2006

We booked 2 rooms at the Courtyard using Marriott points. The hotel was conveniently located, as we were to visit Vassar College and it's about 45 minutes away. The Courtyard is new and the furnishings were very modern. The front desk staff accommodated our request for adjoining rooms, and the room with two queen beds was extremely large! The refrigerators and microwaves were extra nice. Grab bars in the showers were appreciated as well. The new beds are extremely comfortable! It was everything you could ask for in a more expensive hotel. I would stay here again any time!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kareberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I and my 15 year-old son stayed at this hotel for only 1night. We arrived at 4:00 p.m. to an easy check-in. The room was bigger than I thought it would be. Someone suggested getting a room with 2 queen beds because it was bigger than a king size bed room. I'm not sure if that is true or not, but I did get the 2 queen beds room and it was a nice size. The bathroom was large as well. Everything was very clean and the beds were the most comfortable we've slept in in awhile, as far as hotels go. We were going to a concert nearby in Bethel (about 40 minutes away) and this hotel seemed to be the nicest one that was the closest to the concert. I'm glad we stayed here and not in one of the hotels/motels closer to the concert. A little bit of a farther drive didn't bother me knowing that we were coming back to a clean, comfortable room. Also, there are a few chain restaurants right outside the hotel - almost sharing a parking lot. I think they were Red Robin, TGI Fridays and one other that I can't remember. Also, there is a mall (Galleria, I think the name was) that was a 5 minute drive away which seemed convenient. The on/off of the highway (17) was very convenient as well. I wouldn't say that I'm picky, but I do tend to stay at well-known hotel chains because it's all basically the same hotel at a different location. I was impressed with the overall condition of this hotel and the room and the location only added to its appeal. I would definitely stay here again if I'm back in the area for another concert.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank jjsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#2 of 9 in Middletown
672 reviews
1.1 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#6 of 9 in Middletown
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#4 of 9 in Middletown
31 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Middletown

Address: 24 Crystal Run Xing, Middletown, NY 10941-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range: $130 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Middletown offers everything you need for a successful hotel stay in the Goshen, NY area. Modern, spacious rooms and suites include amenities like free Wi-Fi and comfortable, well-lit work areas; additional perks like a microwave and refrigerator in every room provide flexibility and convenience for your Middletown visit. Start your morning with a healthy breakfast and a cup of Starbucks® coffee at our onsite restaurant, The Bistro. Our hotel offers meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as affordable group room packages. And our Middletown location puts the attractions and local businesses of Goshen and the rest of New York's Hudson Valley region right at your doorstep. Trips to Newburgh wine country or Woodbury Commons our convenient from our hotel. And let's not forget our friendly, welcoming staff, who have helped our hotel earn TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Refresh your routine here in style here at the Courtyard Middletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Courtyard Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Middletown Hotel Middletown
Middletown Courtyard
Middletown Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing