We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly staff, great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for my best friend's wedding in June. Upon check in, the front desk staff was really pleasant and helpful. Our two queen bed room was larger than expected with really high ceilings which made the room feel even bigger. Everything was very clean. The first night of our stay we had the rehearsal dinner offsite but when we returned to the hotel the bartender was nice enough to keep the hotel bar open a little later for our small group. We enjoyed breakfast the following morning at the hotel. I wasn't sure how good it would be as you ordered at the counter and got a number, but I was pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. They also had a Starbucks counter. (You could also opt for the free self serve coffee bar in the lobby). All in all the staff was very accommodating and helpful, the rooms clean and spacious and price very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhroddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    97
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
83
48
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed at this hotel on a business trip in early October. The lobby is large with a cafe and bar and comfy chairs. We found the rooms to be a modern, sleek decor - refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave in the room. They were very clean. Great bed linens. Everything was brand new. The food served in the cafe was good - we even ate there as we were so exhausted we just couldn't go out for dinner. Breakfast was fine as well. I've stayed at the Hampton Inn next door quite a few times - they have good cookies and snacks that are free with a complimentary breakfast. I did miss those goodies, but generally liked the ambiance of the Courtyard very much. Staff was friendly. They dealt efficiently with our tax exempt forms and did not make a mistake. We appreciate the friendly atmosphere and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valleylight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Hotel is in a good location restaurants in walking distance close to the interstate and shopping the only downfall is no breakfast but there is a cafe in the hotel lobby with great food and the waitress is friendly

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank espears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Courtyeard in Middletown is very comfortable and the staff couldn't be friendlier. We've stayed there on five different occasions, the last being a family event. I was able to see other accomodations in Middletown where family members were staying and the Courtyard was far superior for the price. I appreciate the extra attention given to requests. There is a nice gathering place with a gazebo which is fairly quiet. The lobby is inviting. The rooms with balconies expand your space. Very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
174 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Checked in during the late evening (9PM) and the lobby was 100% chaos. The service desk phones were ringing off the hook and people were all over the lobby. The front desk attendants could not handle the situation. The three attendants relied on one person among them to answer all issues and questions. We waited for quite a while to check in.

When we checked in, we were asked to read and sign a long list of house rules. We are a professional couple and were taken aback by the long list of rules. In addition, we moved the credit card charges to my husband's credit card vs. mine, under which the reservations were held. The front desk person asked to see both of our ID cards (with no explanation why they needed to see my ID card.) As a Gold Member of Marriott, I am pretty accustomed to their protocols. The person whose name is on the credit card may have to show ID. What is the point of having the second person (me in this case) show ID?! I have nothing to hide, but the way it was asked made us feel like we were trying to be sneaky about something, who knows what.

We then rode up the elevator with the rude woman who checked us in and she was walking with a maintenance person, complaining about a hotel guest they were about to visit. She was talking about this guest as if we weren't in the elevator with her. The maintenance person was even a little uncomfortable. This was the utmost in unprofessionalism.

Our room was ok. No complaints on the physical property.

I do not ask for a lot but given the experience, I give this property between a one and a two star. The location is convenient. They are near a few restaurants and the highway. If you do stay here, go in with the expectation that you will get mediocre service. I imagine that they must get a wide range of bad guests for them to have to take these hard line policies against the general public who pay a decent rate for a decent night's room.

Definitely not up to the service standards of your average Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

The room we stayed in (204) was huge, clean and comfortable. There was a pull out sofa for our child. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. The pool was a great asset. It doesn't lend itself to laps, but is perfect for a 9 year-old to expend energy and play. This hotel is located near a number of restaurants. A mall is a quick drive away.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MKKB217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have stayed at a lot of Marriott hotels. This one might not be the last, but it probably should be. Lousy customer service, not nearly as clean as it should be - spots on the walls, dirty bathroom, and the pool - don't bother. We attempted to escape Hurricane Irene by coming here . .. we would have been better off staying in the storm of Irene.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PresLibraryFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 8 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#5 of 8 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
15.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
Hampton Inn Harriman Woodbury
#1 of 2 in Central Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Middletown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
Address: 24 Crystal Run Xing, Middletown, NY 10941-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Middletown offers everything you need for a successful hotel stay in the Goshen, NY area. Modern, spacious rooms and suites include amenities like free Wi-Fi and comfortable, well-lit work areas; additional perks like a microwave and refrigerator in every room provide flexibility and convenience for your Middletown visit. Start your morning with a healthy breakfast and a cup of Starbucks® coffee at our onsite restaurant, The Bistro. Our hotel offers meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as affordable group room packages. And our Middletown location puts the attractions and local businesses of Goshen and the rest of New York's Hudson Valley region right at your doorstep. Trips to Newburgh wine country or Woodbury Commons our convenient from our hotel. And let's not forget our friendly, welcoming staff, who have helped our hotel earn TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Refresh your routine here in style here at the Courtyard Middletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Middletown Hotel Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
Middletown Courtyard
Middletown Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing