We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything you need in a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Middletown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Everything you need in a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed at the Marriott Middletown for 3 nights because we wanted to visit the Woodbury Outlets. Looking back, we should have just stayed at the Marriott and skipped the outlets. On a hot day, the outlets are a torture to visit - in and out of crowded stores - merchandise left over from last year/season. Limited sizes available. In my opinion, not a good shopping experience. I prefer a regular mall, boutique, or Macy's!
But about the Marriott in Middletown: The rooms are very large and clean, nicely furnished, the grounds are well attended to, the café on the ground floor is modern and offers everything you need. But most of all, the staff is wonderful. All of them. Especially one woman who works at the front desk and lives in Warwick. New York. Unfortunately, I do not know her name. She took the time to print out some suggestions for daily trips for us, including maps and comments. A real darling of a girl. The Marriott Management should be aware that she is a big asset to your facility.

Room Tip: rooms with balconies availaible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimtstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    97
    13
    8
    11
See reviews for
83
48
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed at this Courtyard for one quick night while visiting family in the area. We booked it directly through Marriott at a rate that I thought was kind of high considering the season and location. The hotel itself is very clean and modern for a Courtyard. It features a very big lobby with fireplace, sitting area, computers, bar, and small restaurant. The restaurant served more than the typical Courtyard and was open throughout the day. Both front desk staff members, one of whom was undergoing training, were very friendly. We had our pick of rooms. The top floor was closed while being renovated, but that project had zero impact on our stay. Our room was small, but the bed was comfortable. The lighting in the room was kind of sparse, but it's like that at a lot of hotels. The hotel is located in a complex with two other hotels and a few restaurants, all within walking distance. I thought that was a great feature.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StickerShock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I can't say enough about this hotel. From the moment we stepped in till the moment we left, the service was impeccable. The hotel looks great and really does have a great polished look. The bathrooms are one of the best room features. If there was anything that I could say detracted from the stay they would be the lack of LCD televisions (the CRT TV takes away from the look of the room, but is certainly functional) and parking is pretty annoying in the winter time.

All in all 4.5/5

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snakefactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

This is a very nice courtyard. The service was good. The room was clean as expected. The hotel was conveniently located. No surprises at all - nice, reliable hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYCandworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2010

My family stayed at the Courtyard Marriott in Middletown NY the night before attending a Football game at West Point NY.

We had our teenage boys with us so we booked a King Suite room to give us more room to stretch out and better sleeping options for our 2 boys, ages 19 and 15.

Check in was easy, the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
We requested a cot in our room and one was provided quickly and free of charge. The room was perfect for us and and came with 2 Tv's. One in the bedroom and one in the living room area. The staff informed me that the rooms will be having makeovers in the next few months, although I found them great as they are now. They will be upgrading to flat screen TV's when the room renovations are completed.

The hotel lobby has recently undergone renovations and it is welcoming and clean. There is a small bar in the lobby and a sandwich/snack counter available to you if you don't want to leave the hotel to eat. Guest internet services are available here and a cozy sitting area complete with a fireplace.

There are several restaurants right outside of the hotel within easy walking distance. Outback, Chili's etc. It is a well lit, safe area so walking to them is not an issue.

The indoor pool and hot tub are a nice size although the pool did seem to have an a lot of chemicals in it, but my son enjoyed being able to swim in November. Towels were readily avaiable and it was a well maintained area.

If you are booking a room here to go to West Point or the Shopping Outlets there is a drive to get to them. West Point is about 30 miles away, but it is an easy drive and would not discourage me from staying at this hotel again if I was attending another event there.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kahhli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2010

First of all ... If you are staying here because you are visiting the Woodbury Outlets, know that this is not close at all to the outlet mall. I guess because of the remote area that the mall is in, you don't have many options if you are looking for a chain hotel. However, many sources would lead you to believe that you are right down the road from the mall. However, you are actually 15 miles or around 30 minutes away on the highway from the mall. This is pretty much the case with any chain hotel but it is kind of annoying that the mall recommends this as an 'area' accomodation' when it is not really in the general area.

Second ... the Shop and Save package is a total rip off!!! The average rate on this hotel is about $159 - $179. Which in itself is a bit of a rip off compared to other hotels in the area. You could probably stay at a Holiday Inn Express that is just as nice for around $139 - $159. It is fairly interesting that the hotel rates are even that high as there really is not much at all around this area. It is pretty much one of those small towns right off the highay type of deals. In a similar location in North Carolina, this would probably be a $95 - $129 hotel. That being said, if you add the Shop and Save package, which gives you 2 - $25 gift cards to the outlet mall and a $10 Applebees gift card and 2 Coupon Books ... its a pretty big rip off.

You can buy the coupon books at the outlet mall for around $10 each. However, one coupon book is really all you'd need ... if that ... because most of the coupon books only offer 'Spend $150 and get 10% off.' or 'Not valid on sale merchandise'. For example, the Hugo Boss outlet will offer you 10% off your purchase, not valid on sale items.' But EVERYTHING in the store is on sale except for maybe 1 or 2 high ticket items. So, basically the coupon is useless. The Polo coupon is for $25 off a $250 purchase ... so unless you plan on buying $250 worth of clothes, again ... useless. The whole coupon book is like that. I'd recommend buying one at the mall when you can see the offers if you plan to spend a lot of money at a lot of stores.

Also, the Shop and Save package rate was $235 ... the regular rate was $160. So basically, you are paying $77 extra for $50 worth of gift cards, $10 at Applebees and two worthless coupon books. Not to mention the incredible taxes they charge on the hotel room (state, city, county, tourist, etc.) and the purchases at the outlet mall. They add an additional tax on top of the 8.5% NY Sales tax for a county tax, so you are paying almost 12% - 16% in taxes. And then NY tacks on an additional excise tax for items that you buy over $100. So you could be paying $75+ in taxes when buying $500 worth of clothing.

The hotel itself is pretty typical of a Courtyard. Hopefully there are no babies next door, loud teenagers or people getting intimate because you will hear it through the wall. Obviously, a lot of money was put into the re-do of the lobby. Overall though, this hotel is overpriced for the ammenities and location.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovinHotelLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

My fiance and I recently stayed at this hotel for his family's annual reunion. We typically stay across the street at the Hampton Inn and the only reason we booked at the Courtyard is because the Hampton Inn was sold out. Boy am I glad we stayed here because we are now complete converts and will henceforth stay here rather than at the Hampton. It is about $10 more expensive but definitely worth it. It seems tons newer, is cleaner and overall more spacious and modern. I used their gym which was small but nice, with all the basic equipment (2 treadmills, weights, elliptical machine etc). They also have an indoor pool though I didn't use it. The breakfast area was spacious, food looked good though we didn't partake as we ate at our family's house. We will always stay here whenever we visit again.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Middletown
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Middletown
Hampton Inn Middletown
#1 of 8 in Middletown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
1.2 mi away
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Middletown
0.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
#5 of 8 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
7.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chester - Monroe - Goshen
3.8 mi away
Comfort Inn &; Suites Goshen / Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Middletown

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Middletown
Address: 24 Crystal Run Xing, Middletown, NY 10941-4045
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Middletown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Middletown 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Middletown offers everything you need for a successful hotel stay in the Goshen, NY area. Modern, spacious rooms and suites include amenities like free Wi-Fi and comfortable, well-lit work areas; additional perks like a microwave and refrigerator in every room provide flexibility and convenience for your Middletown visit. Start your morning with a healthy breakfast and a cup of Starbucks® coffee at our onsite restaurant, The Bistro. Our hotel offers meeting space for up to 45 people, as well as affordable group room packages. And our Middletown location puts the attractions and local businesses of Goshen and the rest of New York's Hudson Valley region right at your doorstep. Trips to Newburgh wine country or Woodbury Commons our convenient from our hotel. And let's not forget our friendly, welcoming staff, who have helped our hotel earn TripAdvisor's 2014 Certificate of Excellence. Refresh your routine here in style here at the Courtyard Middletown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Middletown Hotel Middletown
Courtyard Middletown
Middletown Courtyard
Middletown Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing