We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out with hubby ”
Review of Outback Steakhouse

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #60 of 93 Restaurants in Merrick
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chain restaurant
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out with hubby ”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Went out for an early dinner. Drinks were great and service impeccable. Waitress was very attentive and food came out in an orderly fashion not all at the same time. Great bite to eat

Helpful?
1 Thank Msfong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    18
    9
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrick NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good eats”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Since they changed the menue I go there more often. The selection is better and service was very good.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Waste of time and money.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went on July 4th for dinner around 8:00. The place was not crowded at all. After the waiter took our order is was 15 minutes before he brought our drinks and a small loaf of bread good for a child. Since it was the 4th they were offering a free blooming onion. Well by the time that arrived it was another 20 minutes and since it was free it was half the size that you would normally get if you paid for it. It then took another 1/2 hour for our meals. My wife's pork chop was terrible. My string beans were not cooked and hard. They gave me 3 tiny pieces of Filet Mingon for 24.99 with 3 tiny potatoes underneath. What a joke. My son had the ribs and the ff were cold. I saw another table asking where is their food. Another table was asking for someone to come and take their order. The manager seemed more interested talking to the girls that allegedly work there although it appears nobody really works from my observation. As a owner of 2 restaurants this place needs a major house cleaning. Stay away

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, NY
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't do it!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Even if you are very, very hungry don't do it! The food is tasteless, leathery and often as not, not the way you ordered it. Like many of the chain restaurants, it was a very good deal when it first appeared. The portions were large, the food was very good and the service was efficent. Some corporate bigwigs decide that if you pare back everything, you can make more profit. Save your money and eat at local Mom & Pop place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joyce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“It Is What It Is...”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you are looking for aged prime steaks, then this is not the place for you. If you want a well prepared steak at a decent price, then go to the Outback. There are some parking issues at this particular location, as it is located in a strip mall with several other businesses and is near the train station so commuters also park there. Gets very crowded on weekends. We prefer to eat at the bar - the bartenders are great and offer great drinks and service! I recommend the steak salad, and the lobster tails are quite good as well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Slats62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Merrick, Long Island
 
Merrick, Long Island
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing