We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Favorite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Left Coast Kitchen

Left Coast Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 93 Restaurants in Merrick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Restaurant is new; staff is welcoming; flavors are extraordinary and the place is very comfortable. Good spot!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Local Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

The food is delicious, we love that it is something different to eat than the regular pub food. They offer local micro brewery beer which are very tasty. The sweet potato tots are scrumptious. They offer brunch on Sat & Sun which is also great. The only down side is parking & it is expensive, but you can always find a coupon .Definatley need to make a reservation on the weekends. We recommend Left Coast.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Oposonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    49
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Originally thought it would be a favorite!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Originally, we loved the menu and atmosphere at Left Coast. We decided to take my mom there for her birthday on a Sunday. Parking is ridiculous, but we managed to park, walk up the alleyway, only to find a note- "Sorry, closed for private party. This will not happen again." We marched back to our car and went elsewhere. This has happened to us four times and thus, we have given up on going to left coast. Once we came in but were told the kitchen was not able to prepare breakfast any longer even though it was still within breakfast hours.

There is no place to wait for a table and being told a "few more minutes" was not specific enough after waiting 20 minutes. It's a shame, the chefs are good, the restaurant is nice, but the management needs to get his ducks in a row. Not even attempting to go there anymore. (And, I'm not the only person who is taking this view.)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
169 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fancy Pub food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The menu is quite extensive. Something for everyone. From burgers and sandwiches to home style meals even a great brunch on Sunday. Always good, friendly and affordable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it here!! So unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We hd such a lovely dinner Sunday night. This was our third time returning and we plan to have many more. Definitely make a reservation as they are very busy on the weekends! Our appetizers and entrees came out miserably quick for how busy they were. All the food was amazing we used a groupon and paid $30.00 for $65.00 what a deal! Definately worth the wait

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Creative Cuisine & Great Wine List”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I went to this restraurant for the first time on Saturday night with a travelzoo coupon. The menu was really creative and the food was delicious. It is on the small side but not that noisy so you can have a conversation. We had a reservation but waited about 1/2 hour. This normally would sour me on a restaurant but they did the right thing by us and I felt they cared. The server was awesome, lots of energy and knew the menu. Wish we had room for one of their amazing looking desserts but all we could get down was a shared Gelato!.. We will go back to this one!.. Make a reservation, it was crowded..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Left Coast Kitchen also viewed

Merrick, Long Island
Merrick, Long Island
 
Merrick, Long Island
 

Been to Left Coast Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing