We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rooms but disappointing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melville Marriott Long Island
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2007

I booked 2 rooms at the Marriott based on its proximity to a family event. Although parking is located at the hotel it is some distance from the primary entrance. The area is also poorly lighted and isolated...pretty intimidating for someone traveling alone.

We discovered after a couple of days that there are rear entrances from the parking lot which are not marked. We initially went into one back entrance but found the interior door locked. We found the correct entrance by following other guests.

Check in was smooth and easy and the hotel staff were friendly. I had booked double beds in both rooms. The rooms also contained a desk, desk chair and one arm chair. There was enough space in the room for an additional chair or table.

The rooms faced the inner court area which included a bar, restaurant and swimming pool. We could not see the pool from our rooms and did not smell the pool as noted in other reviews. However the noise from the bar area was particularly annoying late at night (after midnight) and did not stop until usually approx. 2AM.

One of my guests was diabetic and I requested a refrigerator for insulin storage on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd day however never received one during the length of my stay.

The internet access is $9.95 per day. I purchased one (1) day for a business meeting. I did complain upon checkout about not receiving the refrigerator and requested that they remove the 1 day internet charge as compensation. They did so without argument or resistance.

Overall, its a nice hotel with a conveniently located internal restaurant. I would recommend however if you are a light sleeper to get a room facing the hotel exterior. Also, don't expect to see that "on request" fridge and be aware of the internet usage charge (really should be complimentary at these rates).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RoseTamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

759 - 765 of 780 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2007

The Melville Marriott is a typical business class hotel. Service is good. Standard Marriott rooms. Facility is in good condition. As others have noted, having the pool in the lobby area is unique as you can smell it when you enter the lobby. Dinner in the restaurant was unexpectedly good. Standard Marriott buffet for breakfast. This is a good choice for a business traveler but not really a place to take the family. In my opinion, it's a bit overpriced for what you get.

Stayed: March 2007
Thank Febo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2007

We stopped over on Long Island in Melville to visit some relations. We were on our way from Ireland to Florida via New York (no direct flights to Orlando in February).

I have to say we had a great time at this hotel. It was a bit quiet at this time of year but we were well looked after. I was travelling with my wife and 2 kids (aged 6 and 9). The breakfast was superb - and teh kids were free! We also had room service which was prompt and high quality, and the overall experioence was great.

We used the pool which was interesting. It is sort of in the foyer of the hotel (but screened off). There was snow outside, and on teh glass roof but the pool was piping hot.

Overall a fantastic experience - rooms were good size, food was top drawer and staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank declan.kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2006

If you are looking for the convenience of a full service hotel while you are on "The Island", this is the place! The staff is friendly, courteous and professional. The rooms are very modern, comfortable and clean. The lobby atrium comes equipped with a bar and an indoor pool, with lots of chairs and tables to use while relaxing and chatting.
After looking at diffent hotels, we recommended The Melville Marriott to our out of town guests who were attending our son's wedding.
We received exceptional assistance from the Sales Manager who blocked rooms for our group, made Thanksgiving dinner reservations in the hotel restaurant and returned all my calls to address my concerns and questions. She even sent me a reminder for the guests to book their rooms before the deadline.
The Highlights............

The Staff - All provided great customer service. All of our requests which included room location changes, refrigerators, rollaway beds and a bottle opener, were accommodated
The Lobby Atrium - A great place to meet, drink and swim. Very welcoming and comfortable. The kids loved the pool!
Hotel Restaurant - The food was excellent! Most of us had the traditional Thanksgiving dinner. They also had a regular menu, which others in our group enjoyed as well.

I really can't say anything negative about this hotel. Eventhough we had a few minor problems, they were quickly resolved. I couldn't ask for more............

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

This review is based on a stay in early November, 2006 by a business traveler that frequents Marriott-chain and Hilton-chain hotels throughout the US.

Not much to write home about for this hotel. It is an older hotel, and very much like the full-Marriott in South Bend, Indiana. Featuring a large atrium-like atmosphere in the lobby, this hotel is somewhat older, and the age of the building's features are a testament to this.

I happened to stay in a king bedroom one the third floor of the four floor hotel. Be sure to ask for a room near the lobby; I was placed on the other side of the hotel and it is a hike and a half to get from one corner of the building to another.

The room itself was average - somewhat dim for a Marriott room. My room happened to feature two closets (one at the entrance and one in the bathroom area), a bar area/room with sink and small bar fridge, desk, chair, lamp, bed, 32" TV in an oak cabinet, and a walk-in bathroom area with an enclosed portion for the toilet and tub.

The room features the new Marriott linens, bedspreads, and shower curtains. The curved show bar came in handy. Perhaps the only other new thing in this hotel was the carpet throughout the hallways.

On the downside, the lights, bathroom fixtures, in-room carpets, cabinet, and desk were fairly old. The bar room / area looked like it could have been a small kitchette that one might find in a small condominium somewhere...the only catch being that it only had a small sink, small bar fridge under a counter, and chipped walls and counters. It was also very dim, even with its four pot lights turned on.

The room itself was very large (I estimate it to be 15' x 30' at its largest open space), and certainly not very cozy due to its dim nature and carpet condition.

The elevator on the other side of the hotel from the lobby was very dirty and needed repair.

The concierge lounge on the fourth floor was hard to find and average - meeting but certainly not exceeding any that can be found in any other full-Marriott.

Hope your business stay is short here!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Canada_Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2006

Frequent traveler here, with over 125 nights in hotels this year. If you are reading this review, most likely you are wondering if you should stay in this hotel. And ordinarily, when writing reviews, that question is clearly answered. In this instance, though, you'll get the facts - as I saw them - and you can decide if you want to stay here.

Check-in was uneventful, and the room was nice - albiet a hike from the elevator. And the windows in the room opened!!! Fresh air is an unusual perk in hotel rooms these days.

But it was a good thing the window opened, as this hotel smells. From the minute you walk in, one thought pushes and stays in the front of your mind - this hotel has an indoor pool. You smell the pool everywhere. It defines the hotel. The hotel is kinda like rooms enclosed in a pool area. I never saw the pool, but the smell was in the lobby, hallways, and room. And it makes the inside of the hotel feel like a greenhouse - or at least in my mind it did, Maybe again, the smell made me think this.

The room was pretty standard Marriott, as was the bathroom and lobby. I checked in late, and had to park a distance from the front door. The parking lot is, for the most part, quite a hike. The people were very nice. But the Concierge Lounge was too small to accomodate everyone who showed up for breakfast there. For a hotel that size, it should be much bigger. And the Marriott at Laguardia - just down the road - has a much better food selection in the Concierge Lounge.

If you're looking for a decent hotel in this area, and don't mind the pool smell, then maybe you would want to stay here. If, on the other hand, chlorine makes your eyes tear, then this is probably not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CJKatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

This place was AWFUL! A block of rooms were blocked for my sister's wedding, with the understanding that there would be a bar open for us to continue the celebration. Not only was the bar not open, the people behind the desk were rude to us about it. Our "goody bags" were given away to the wrong people, tossed, or eaten by the staff. All of the bride and groom's time, money and efforts were wasted on the goody bags that never were distributed! Needless to say, we were too upset to stay (the bride left in tears!), and promised that our credit cards would not be charged! Or so we thought....they were! $141.10 later and no hotel stay for these charges...We HATE THIS PLACE! Oh, and good luck getting help from the manager or group sales representative - the manager's are "unavailable to speak to you" and the group sales representative doesn't care either, in fact she laughed repeatedly in my face during our telephone conversation and basically said, too bad! Do yourself a favor and STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frank888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Melville
1.4 mi away
Hilton Long Island/Huntington
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Melville
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Melville - NY Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Melville Long Island
9.6 mi away
Long Island Marriott
Long Island Marriott
#1 of 1 in Uniondale
624 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Long Island
Hyatt Regency Long Island
#1 of 4 in Hauppauge
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melville Marriott Long Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melville Marriott Long Island

Address: 1350 Walt Whitman Rd, Melville, NY 11747-3012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > Melville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Melville
Price Range: $173 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Melville Marriott Long Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 369
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melville Marriott Long Island offers sophisticated accommodations and thoughtful amenities, for business and leisure travel in the Huntington area. Our Melville hotel's location is close to several major airports, making us a perfect destinations for weddings and meetings. Near us, you'll find many things to do in Huntington and Woodbury, including attending a concert at NYCB Theatre at Westbury and visiting the Long Island Lighthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melville Marriott Long Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melville Marriott Long Island Hotel Melville
Marriott Melville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing